This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

251 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 251
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"A good place to stop over between the different phases of our trip.

Accommodating hosts, who let us have breakfast early so we could get to our seal kayaking trip in time.

Convenient location to walk into Swakopmund with ease." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr and Mrs J
Ludlow

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"The owners of the guest house were very charming and it was good for a one night stay.

We were directed to a restaurant on the beach ( was it called The Tug? ) It was brilliant! They were fully booked, squeezed us in and before we had our main course they moved us to a table in the window, over the sea! So memorable!

The journey from Desert Homestead to Swakopmund was so good. I can’t think of an appropriate word to describe our feelings. We just loved the changing scenery!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Family P
Spain

"Atlantic Sicht apartment "

4 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2022
"Our family booked a four night stay at Atlantic Sicht apartment mid trip, to give us a chance to rest, explore Swakopmund and do the laundry! With hindsight it was a night too long in my opinion, although we did leave rested and with clean clothes ;-)

The apartment is in a fantastic location, with stunning views over the ocean especially as the sun sets. The middle of town is a short walk away but the apartment was mostly quiet, with private parking, great wifi and all you need for a comfortable stay. However it could definitely do with some updating, and wasn't as clean as we would have liked.

The check in process from Cornerstone guesthouse was friendly and helpful, and on the 2 occasions we ate breakfast there, the food was good and the service friendly, if distant. We definitely felt that we had made the right choice to stay at the apartment, rather than the guesthouse, which didn't feel was appropriate for a family with youngish children.

Swakopmund was the only place I visited in Namibia which I personally didn't particularly like, but the rest of the family thoroughly enjoyed a few days in town, especially their dinner at The Tug and a visit to the local snake park." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Good
T&M
Queensland

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2022
"Cornerstone is a fine short stay option. Convenient to the beach and downtown Swakopmund. Breakfast was good. Off street parking provided which is a must for this area.

We were located furthest from the main house so wifi was a little unreliable. It may be more reliable closer to reception.

The room was lovely, however the bathroom could've used a power point for a hair dryer." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr and Mrs O.
Indiana

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"Cornerstone Guesthouse was an excellent place to stay in Swakopmund.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful (arranging dinner reservations, directing us to interesting sights, giving recommendations for traveling to our next destination). The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The grounds were beautifully kept. The location was perfect: so close to the water and restaurants/shops.

Our breakfasts were lovely (best breakfasts we had in Namibia!)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
York

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2022
"A well presented, clean and comfortable B&B, ideally located within easy walking distance of the sea front and the town centre.

We stayed for just two nights, having a full day to relax and wander around the town.

A visit to the Swakopmund Museum was really worth while, providing insight into both indigenous cultures and colonial history.

Could have done with a second full day to take one of the excursions into the surrounding area." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms B
Arizona

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"We stayed in the apartment. It is big and roomy with lots of space for two couples. We would have preferred staying at the smaller B&B for the ambience and location of the smaller B&B.

We only interacted with staff at breakfast and they were very nice. It is a convenient place to stay in the area for exploration of the dunes, coast and desert." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
HM
New Hampshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2022
"Simple, clean guest house.

The owners are delightful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2022
"Very well appointed- spotlessly clean. A good stopover." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr and Mrs G
London

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2022
"A lovely, simple guesthouse which stands out because of the exceptional service from the owners.

They anticipated everything we needed and were extremely on top of organising tours." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 251
94%
251 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
184
61
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (56 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa