This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse


22°40’56.0"S 14°31’36.9"E

Reviews of Swakopmund G'house

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Swakopmund G'house and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Greg's group
Regina

"Just what we needed. "

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Our rooms were clean & comfortable, we appreciated the fact they did laundry at a reasonable price and all took advantage of that.

We spent two nights here, and enjoyed the breakfast and friendly staff. We were away on activities during the days, and enjoyed dinners out. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Pretty basic accommodation with a small room. Not much to say about it otherwise. It was clean" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Swakopmund was our least favourite place in Namibia, but that is not due to Swakopmund Guesthouse. The guesthouse is perfectly adequate, but perhaps a little sterile and characterless.

We had two nights in Swapokmund and felt that was one too many.

Whilst here, we organised a Pelican Point Kayaking trip for these travellers. They commented:

Get your fingers nibbled by baby seals
A real highlight of the trip. Jeanne who runs these kayaking trips with her husband has been doing it for years and has perfected it. Everything you might need is provided and you are guaranteed to see seals close up - baby seals will even come up and nibble your fingers if you want them to - which I did! If you are lucky you may see dolphins too. Jeanne takes photos of you in your two-man kayak and emails them to you that evening. The drive out to the launch point goes past bays full of pink flamingos.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Newport

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"A very comfortable stay close to the heart of the town." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs D
Esher

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"Be good if people well aware that much colder here. Thank you for pre booking kayaking trip. This was well organised and fun despite the fact we hadn't done this before we managed well. Do be aware that you might need to take sea sickness tablets as I felt a bit off towards end of trp.

Hotel helpful and booked evening meals at the Jetty and Kukis. The latte was rather surreal to find typical Herman beer cellar in the middle of Africa." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Clean and functional - helpful staff happy to serve us muffins and coffee ahead of the official breakfast time as we needed to get to Walvis Bay early for kayaking.

Restaurants seem to book up early in Swakop - think about booking a day ahead of your arrival if possible. The Tug was very good but fully booked on our first night and we could only get a very early table elsewhere.

Pelican Point Kayaking
This was one of the highlights of the trip. Jeanne is very relaxed and competent leader - it is not strenuous and much better than the alternative launch trips. It was quite cold but Jeanne had all the right gear available for this.

Worth noting the seal pups are at their most playful between June and September (according to Jeanne) - the best time of the year for this activity.

We also saw large groups of flamingoes and half a dozen jackals on the way to Pelican Point." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr S
Manningtree

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2014
"Very well appointed and close to centre and good fish restaurants. Breakfast good." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Holland

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Our rooms weer separated from the main lodge. That was a slight minous. They were however good en quiet." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Ms S
Abingdon

"A pleasant stay"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"A good stopover in Swakopmund. The guest house was comfortable, clean and the breakfast was of a good standard.

The welcome was not as friendly as many we had received during our trip but overall we were very happy." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A, Ms S& family
UK

"Swakopmund Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"An excellent guesthouse with very friendly staff who took time to make sure we had a great experience, we have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay. We had a two bedroom apartment which also had self catering facilities. Based within 5 minutes walk of the sea front Swakopmund Guest house is ideally placed to explore the town. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was excellent.

Angela at Expert Africa had recommended the kayaking activity next to the seal colony so we had booked it as part of the holiday itinary. We met Jeanne and Bernard from Eco Marine Kayak Tours in Walvis Bay and initially we were taken on a fascinating 45 minute drive to the starting point, Bernard is extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and the area, he kept all of us captivated during the drive, taking time to answer any questions.

The kayaking was one of the highlights of the holiday, surrounded by inquisitive sea lions (Bernard mentioned sea lions have ears, seals do not) we were actively encouraged to interact with the sea lions who come up to the kayake and play with the paddles. Jeanne took videos of the experience and emailed them without any additional charge, this has meant that we have some great videos to keep. The tour is thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 20
82%
20 reviews of Swakopmund G'house by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
12
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa