This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Greg's group from Regina

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Great Agenda - Terrific Experience !

Namibia between 5 Oct 2019 and 23 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We totally enjoyed the trip overall. This was a terrific agenda, thank you to Tracy at Expert Africa for all her hard work and our many changes.

Johann, our private guide, was absolutely super. We could not have asked for a better person to manage our way and maximize our stay in Namibia. Highlights were numerous, and we would not have missed any. Outstanding for all of us was our stay at Huab under Canvas, Driving the Dunes at Sandwich Harbour, Sossusvlei & Deadvlei and Kolmannskuppe.

Elephant and Rhino tracking were once in a lifetime experiences, and we appreciate all the efforts involved to allow us those opportunities. We would highly recommend the trip, and both the care & service provided by Tracy before we got there, and by Johann once we were in country."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Naankuse Lodge

"Naankuse Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the villa very nice. Overall the stay was good. We would comment on a couple of things.

1. The air conditioning on one room was not working, and although it was brought to Mgmt's attention it was not repaired. They did come and see if they could get it working, but couldn't and said it required a visit from a professional. That we certainly can understand, things happen. It would have been fantastic if they had provided a fan, to get the air moving so sleep would have been easier.

2. The restaurant staff were observed measuring in great detail the amount of liquor in each bottle every morning. In discussion they seemed to agree it was something they were required to do by Management. From our perspective it sent a message the staff was not trusted by management, and was a negative to the relationship between employer and employee. Our experience was all positive with the staff.

3. We found the carnivore's tour, and cheetah experience were ok, as photographers we were expecting to have an opportunity to photograph the animals close up, and were behind a fence, or the animals had collars. It was an ok experience, but not one we would do again, or recommend."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"We had a comfortable stay, the rooms were very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We did the Leopard tracking, and enjoyed it as a sundowner tour. The tracking itself was interesting, and we managed to find a leopard. As photographers it was just ok. The tracking collar took away from the photos, but we did enjoy the drive, and a beautiful sunset."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

"Super experience, great staff and location! "

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"We all enjoyed out stay here, from coffee delivery to ice cream, and a refreshing dip in the pool.

What a fun and friendly bunch, we loved the meal introductions in two languages, and found the staff extremely helpful and enjoyed meeting them all. The filled our showers without delay, and were great with the dietary restrictions of one of our group. We got a tour of the kitchen and are impressed with the camp. Comfortable beds, and well appointed tents.

** one suggestion would be in addition to the unexpected ice cream treats, a dairy free option, like popsicles or frozen fruit sticks would have been welcome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Tented Camp

"Malansrus Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"We overnighted here and didn't spend a lot of time.

We found the check in easy, tents clean and showers fine. The dinner was average, with overcooked chicken, but we enjoyed the meal overall, and indulged in a glass of wine. A nice touch and much appreciated.

Breakfast was quick and good."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Just what we needed. "

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Our rooms were clean & comfortable, we appreciated the fact they did laundry at a reasonable price and all took advantage of that.

We spent two nights here, and enjoyed the breakfast and friendly staff. We were away on activities during the days, and enjoyed dinners out."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

"Dead Valley Lodge - Thank You !"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Our accommodations were changed to Dead Valley Lodge, and we are SO thankful. A rainstorm, and a sandstorm, and constant wind made us appreciate beyond words that we were not in the campsite. We enjoyed the Lodge, and altho they were plagued by difficult and growing pains related to the sand in plugs, and wind and sand invading dinner service, they did well to accommodate us. The chef and wait staff were friendly and very helpful, the Manager was great, and we enjoyed our stay. Perfect location to head to the Dunes and to Deadvlei and we took advantage as much as we could.

A couple of observations for improvement. A breakfast box for our non dairy guest was without the yogurt , but then had cheese on the sandwich. Our daily water supply was hit & miss, and although there were two of us in the room, we got the same water as the guests who were singles. We were unable to get hot water in our shower, but survived with luke warm, thankful not to be in the campground.

Any requests we made were felt with promptly and overall we appreciated the Lodge very much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Great Location!! "

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Our stay here was fine, and we enjoyed the view and fresh air from our oceanside room.

The twin beds were small, short for my 6'4 husband, but comfortable. Both breakfast and dinner in the hotel were good, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We explored the area and had two fantastic visits to Kolmannskuppe.

The perfect location for our agenda."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"The Rock... wow ! "

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"We stayed away from the main area in unique and quaint chalets.

The dark sky was perfect for night photography, and we took advantage of the location for some terrific milky way photographs. Our chalet was comfortable although quite warm. Dinner and breakfast were buffet but with lots of options, and adequate. We found the reception staff not particularly friendly on checkout, but overall enjoyed the stay.

A tub of ice, and a couple of free waters in the room would have been a great plus, as would a thinner sheet - the heavy comforter was too much given the already warm temp in the room."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Quivertree Forest Restcamp

"Great experience, friendly staff. "

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"We enjoyed our stay here. This is a unique spot, and we took advantage walking into the Quiver Tree forest to do night photography.

We also participated in the cheetah feeding and walked with the cheetah in the morning. As photographers this was a great opportunity to see the animals up close, and get some great photographs. We also walked to spend time at sunset with the quiver trees, and the hosts delayed dinner to allow us time. We found the hosts friendly, helpful, and welcoming and the camp an interesting and eclectic place.

A home cooked Breakfast and dinner were served family style, and were fresh & hot."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Great Staff!! Thank you! "

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"This is a beautiful place. Our rooms were unique, attractive, comfortable and well laid out. We enjoyed the friendly staff, and took a sundowner drive for wildlife viewing and a beautiful sunset location. Dinner and breakfast were very good, and the wait staff did well with our individual particular selections.

** We had vehicle issues on our way to the airport and the Mgment send a vehicle and driver to rescue us - enabling us to get to the airport without missing our flights. A Huge thank you to Chaimberlain, and to the Management at Red Dunes - we very much appreciate the extra efforts provided to us, and will highly recommend the lodge for such great customer service!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team