This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

375 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 52 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

98% success

Wild dog

17% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

77% success

Eland

63% success

Brown Hyena

56% success

Sable antelope

40% success

White Rhino

29% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

12% success

Pangolin

6% success

Showing 1-10 of 375
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G.
Wantage

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Another cracking camp, and a room with a view - simple but again with a panorama of bush and grassland to look out on and well designed and spaced out. In retrospect we could have stayed here three nights instead of two as the drive to the airport is perfectly do-able in an afternoon for an evening flight. This is the only camp where we took advantage of the activities due to the limitations on self-driving in the main reserve (although we did one of the self-guided walks) - we went out twice with our guide John M who was very knowledgeable and great to talk to.

As with the Etosha camps, not listed but seen were springbok, greater kudu, and banded mongoose, and Okonjima is the first place we actually saw warthog. We also saw red hartebeest.

Wild dog are listed below but are not present in the reserve, as neither are lion and cheetah (although individuals may be present at the Africat centre). We saw spring hare on a night drive, and the close-up views of a leopard on the late afternoon leopard-tracking was stupendous, especially as the animal ignored us and carried on hunting." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Richard & Caroline
GB

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"The View rooms are superb. Views out over the savanna so you can just lie in/on the bed and watch the wildlife as it passes. This is in the inner reserve (where the lodge and research stations are), so that is limited to antelope, warthog, jackal etc.

Drives into the outer reserve with the knowledgeable trackers/guides are fun and often result in the sighting of leopard and the night drives give a different perspective of the environment.

Cheetah are seen but these are held in large enclosures within the inner reserve as they are rescued animals that cannot be released into the wild." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2022
"Amazing reserve with excellent facilities and game drive and activity opportunities.

We had a view room, which was lovely and provided the perfect end to the holiday when we had our own audience with giraffe, kudo and springbok." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"We really enjoyed the setting of Okonjima Plains Camp and the rooms had a lovely view overlooking the plains where we could spot antelopes and warthogs and the sunset was lovely. We were also very impressed with the food.

The activities were disappointing. We did leopard tracking but our guide did not seem very knowledgable. We spent ages trying to find a leopard in thorny thickets and then he gave up quickly trying to find the second leopard.

We then visited the cheetahs and the Africat building where we found out they are no longer rescuing cheetahs from farms to rehabilitate them and return them to the wild as the project had failed and all the cheetahs in the reserve had been killed by the leopard and brown hyenas." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Family P
Sheffield

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2022
"brilliant location for Leopard and white rhino. The most amazing rooms with big picture windows onto the plain outside. Great water hole just outside the main building with regular animal visitors. Peter was an amazing guide - so knowledgable and interesting." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Family P
Spain

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"Okonjima gave us a perfectly situated first stop on our 3 week self drive: an easy few hours drive from Windhoek and yet moments after we'd entered the main gate the kids had already spotted their first antelope, giraffe and zebra.

Just as Expert Africa had advised, to begin with the size of the Barn and the style of the check-in felt a little impersonal, but as soon as we got to our rooms and found a family of warthogs sunbathing on our terrace we started to love the place. Our interconnecting View rooms were enormous, with those fabulous huge windows providing cinematic access to the wonderful open vistas around the lodge, and the ever changing wildlife grazing just outside. With winter temperatures colder than usual we found the rooms very chilly at night and in the morning, but the thick blankets and hot water bottles meant we were never cold in bed.

The food at Okonjima was as delicious as we'd been told it can be, with extra efforts being made to provide simpler meals for the younger kids when requested. But as others have said it was the opportunity to get close to the wildlife which stood out, plus the chance for the kids to visit and learn about the work of the Africat Foundation. We found this an invaluable introduction to the issues of conservation, community and tourism which were a constant during our trip.

Thanks to the time taken by our guides here to educate and explain, our kids started the trip in just the way we wanted: engaged and learning as well as enjoying. Our game drive guide Felix deserves a special mention: awesome off-roading skills and total dedication meant an unforgettable afternoon spent with 2 leopards, plus a very special drive home under the stars. Okonjima was voted by our 12 year old as the place he would most like to return to in Namibia." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs O.
Indiana

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2022
"Okonjima Plains Camp was a fun and comfortable stop on our vacation.

The rooms were comfortable. The food was very good. Our family especially appreciated the effort of our guide to help us spot animals and teach us about the wildlife.

We felt very fortunate to see an aardvark on our night excursion and to see 3 leopards on our tracking excursion." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Drs M & R
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2022
"Well one of us was only tempted by this lodge as he got to see a pangolin!

I was not so dismissive of the rescue Africat project and did a very good tour. This was by far the best accommodation and food and slickest operation we had booked.

Even the less upmarket room was stellar and we paid a lot I suspect. Worth every penny - thoroughly enjoyed." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Okonjima Plains Camp "

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2022
"Okonjima is a wonderful place and Plains Camp is lovely. We were in a ‘standard room’ which was spacious and very well furnished. We had an issue with running water a few times during our stay which was a pain though it was resolved relatively quickly each time. There was a lovely view from the room and a variety of animals strolled by from time to time.

The main area is spacious, airy and comfortable but the service was not the best we had during our time in Namibia. Some staff (not all by any means) seemed a little jaded by the number of different people they see coming through their doors - many people stay only one to two nights so there is a high throughput of guests. Check-in was perfunctory. It was sometimes difficult to find things - such as where they set out the pre-early morning drive snacks or even breakfast and it didn’t seem to occur to some staff members that new guests might need some guidance.

Breakfasts here were spectacular - amazing choice and all items were stunning (the omelette particularly). Unfortunately, the same couldn’t be said of the other meals on our first two days which were fine, but no better than that. There was a significant improvement on our third day, though we don’t know why that was the case.

What brings most people to Okonjima, though, is the opportunity to see wildlife up close and it really delivered on that account. We were very lucky to have Denny as our guide, such a lovely, informative, friendly person. It was a pleasure and an honour to get to spend time with him. We had four drives with him during which we had a spectacular rhino sighting and two leopard (one male, one female). Our fourth “drive” to the Africat Foundation was ok - no fault of Denny’s that it wasn’t better, he made the most of it - but you are, effectively, looking at cheetah in (albeit large) enclosures. There is good reason they are not released into the park but it was not a spectacular experience, maybe we were just unfortunate. The information about the early years of Okonjima were interesting enough.

The opportunity to see animals that are really difficult to see normally as well as seeing how conservation can be done well (cheetah aside - no fault of the reserve though) makes this a worthwhile place to stay, but it was not our favourite of this trip. That said, our rhino and leopard sightings were absolutely fantastic." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C.
Dubai

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2022
"Okonjima does not disappoint, stunning location and wildlife, we saw loads just driving to the inner gate from the outer gate.

The rooms are beautiful and the staff are really friendly.

The game driver who took us for our Leopard tracking, then took us to the information centre and cheetah the next day followed by a night drive which was fabulous and ending in a morning game drive. He was full of information and had a real passion for the foundation. It is good to know that some of the money spent goes to help the foundation in the future. Things cost a little more here but the sightings are wonderful and nothing is rushed.

It also has a wonderful gift shop." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 375
95%
375 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
303
60
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (229 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering luxury, privacy, flexibility and fantastic wildlife-watching opportunities.


100% (14 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite is an exclusive, luxurious two-bedroom retreat with a private guide and chef, offering some great photo opportunities when tracking predators.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa