This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

363 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 42 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

79% success

Wild dog

17% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

61% success

Brown Hyena

59% success

White Rhino

21% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 1-10 of 363
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A.
MA, USA

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"Absolutely loved this place! First night we had the View room and saw a bunch of animals close to the lodge. My husband looked out at 3 am and saw a giraffe right outside the window.

Then we did a last moment splurge for a one night stay in a beautiful Okonjima Villa in the wilderness. No real fences, no barriers... We were the only guests and, other than a hostess, chef, and a caretaker, we were far away from civilization. There are no lions on the reserve, but plenty of leopards, so not allowed outside after dark. Staff was already nearby to attend to anything we needed. Loved every moment there...

For tours, we did a leopard tracking with a guide a came across a big male leopard right after a kill.

We also did a rhino tracking on foot with the guide and 2 rangers. They tracked 4 male white rhinos which we were able to observe for about 30 min.

Both guided tours were incredible experience and we felt safe at all times." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

chris
France

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"The accommodation at Okonjima was amazing. The "view rooms" were enormous and luxurious.

The staff were great, the food excellent and the leopard tracking really great. Our guide was Denis who took us to a leopard who had just killed a Baboon. Then on our return he took us to a female leopard.

The visit to the Africat foundation was educational and insightful on the conflict with farmers and wild predators.

We enjoyed watching the two Lions, which although captive/rescued were in such close proximity.

We regret not staying longer at Okonjima." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2020
"Reception was polite, everything explained clearly

Room had amazing views across the bush, lots of animals walking by.

The afternoon drive was excellent, guide was knowledgeable, went beyond basic information. Was skilled at positioning car for photos - the Leopard sighting was a good one - he was able to provide a viewing experience without making us feel we were intruding upon or upsetting the animal.

Guide offered to take photos of us and when we asked him about insects, he was able to point out some cool critters immediately that we had just not seen (very cool, as the little guys often get overlooked)

Dinner was a high standard, good drinks service/variety

Breakfast was great, wide range of food/drink - one of the waiters was very personable (young fella, can't remember name :(

On way out of Okonjima we saw a Dung beatle rolling its ball across the dirt road- a manager had stopped in front of us and we watched the little critter dig a hole - the manager was really knowledgeable and gave good advice about roads

The whole vibe at the lodge was positive. We would have liked to stay another night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2019
"Love this place! Large but the staff make you feel like it is a smaller lodge.

Great guides to help track and locate leopards." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2019
"Having visited Okonjima/Africat at the outset, and also several times during it's early years, it was quite a shock to find that it had increased to such a vast size and lost it's original character. It was a far cry from 'tea on the lawn' and dinner around a fire pit.

However, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the standard rooms very spacious and comfortable, and excellent food. With just a 2 night stay and an early start the day we left, there was not enough time to do all the activities, although I think that coming from the abundant wildlife in Etosha then it was not necessary for us to do the game drives, The leopard tracking and the night drive were worth doing. And after doubting that we would want to continue to support Africat after all these years the visit to the Africat Foundation convinced us that it was still a very worthwhile cause." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr K.
Egham

"Brilliant safari experience"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2019
"This lodge is very very good - superbly located in the middle of its own reserve. The main dining area is vast and architecturally impressive.

The food was terrific, the overall service excellent, and the activities very exciting. We enjoyed our afternoon radio tracking a leopard. The accommodation is just unbelievable - we had panoramic windows out onto the plains, with jackals and springbok pottering past our veranda, and warthogs attempting to steal our breakfast." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Motel with leopards"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"We only visited here as we could not go directly to our next destination.

Everything is on a grand scale; the rooms are huge, the dining room is huge, the distance between is huge - we had to drive between them.

The camp itself is in a central area within the reserve. The central area has some wildlife but nothing considered dangerous. It was nice to lie in bed with a view of animals from the picture window at the foot of the bed.

We went on a leopard viewing trip and did see a leopard. But, viewing a collared leopard in an enclosed reserve felt more like visiting a zoo." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
BC Canada

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"We were lucky to be upgraded from a Standard Room to a View Room which was very large and impressive, excellent en suite as well.
The meals were excellent; we had one dinner on the outside deck and one in the dining room. Our final meal was a superb packed breakfast which we picked up at 6am as we headed for Windhoek airport.
It must be disappointing for the Africat folks to have to put their cheetah program on hold." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Leopards spotted!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"Great room overlooking the plain.

Enjoyed both the drives we did although sponsorship for was rammed down your throats a bit too much but can put up with that to then see the cheetahs.

The morning leopard tracking drive was fantastic in that we saw both a male and female leopard." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Greg's group
Regina

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"We had a comfortable stay, the rooms were very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We did the Leopard tracking, and enjoyed it as a sundowner tour. The tracking itself was interesting, and we managed to find a leopard. As photographers it was just ok. The tracking collar took away from the photos, but we did enjoy the drive, and a beautiful sunset." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 363
95%
363 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
292
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa