This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 21-30 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Pavel
Eleebana

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"A must for anyone interested in wildlife conservation. Special emphasis on cats (lion, cheetah).

Very informative and interesting guiding on activities. Attractive accommodation. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Family K
Florida

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2019
"It was beautiful. The Cheetah were more domesticated and cages and didn't really anticipate that. It was interesting to learn more about what they are trying to do to help the cats. We had an amazing sighting of a leopard and watched it try to hunt for a long time--although we were totally cheating with the tracking we still enjoyed it. The food was the best here. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr D.
Southampton

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2019
"We were upgraded which was a great treat and lovely way to finish our holiday.

The guide was good, but perhaps trying too hard to achieve a leopard sighting. We did achieve this with the help of another guide.

Food was a bit disappointing in the evening." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Leopard

1 sighting

Ludocie
Sheen

"Wonderful. "

1 night Arrived 29 May 2019
"We liked the big airy barn of a main building and the vibrant atmosphere.

Sadly only had one night, our last one in Namibia and recommend at least two because it teems with wildlife right in front of you.

The only drive we did was fantastic as the guide worked very hard to successfully locate and then watch a leopard.

Rooms are great and ideal for the end of the trip. " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2019
"Our view: overall 9/10.
we were in room V9, which had a good view of the bush but with limited wildlife. The room was very good - big, modern, quiet, well appointed with a minimalist feel - probably due to the polished concrete floors throughout. Everything worked well. Good WiFi in room (and main reception area). No air conditioning in the room but ceiling fans were quiet and effective. Small criticism; the towels were poor -too thin to do the job properly, and we put that on the feedback form when we were checking out.

Main reception was an enormous converted hangar (ex farm building) with modern and a slightly ‘university’ feel due the large open plan. It also had a very nice pool and sunbathing area.

Food was very good, fixed menu but no choice of main meal, which is a bit disappointing. Very friendly staff.

A massive reserve and we did one 'evening drive' to see leopards, and we were successful!
" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R & Mrs S
Southsea

"Okonjima Bush Camp was our favourite Lodge "

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"As the Okonjima ‘Plains Camp’ was closed, we were upgraded to the ‘Bush Camp’ on arrival for our 3 nights stay.

From being greeted by ‘Ben’ at the Game Reserve’ entrance to the accommodation, staff, food and game drives, everything about this lodge was excellent, to a very high standard, and a charming place to be. We would definitely recommend this lodge and return if in Namibia again.

We visited the ‘Plains Camp’ which was very sad pleasant but not on the same level nor class as the ‘Bush Camp’...Pay the extra, it’s worth it" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ts
Gloucestershire

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2019
"We absolutely loved Okonjima Plains Camp. We were slightly worried after arriving that we'd never be able to beat our wildlife-viewing experience here!!

We couldn't believe how many species we'd seen within only 24 hours. Everything was so close and the guided trips were excellent. We did leopard and cheetah tracking and also went on a night drive. All were excellent in different ways.

When we had a little down-time, we did some of the walking trails which we really enjoyed. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Cool place"

1 night Arrived 5 Jan 2019
"Very cool accommodation...excellent food and service..." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Leopard

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2018
"The corrugated steel buildings reminded us of an industrial estate, but facilities inside were O.K.

Breakfast service was without system and appalling, but food was good. No air con.

The use of radio collars to locate game could be considered questionable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms T.
London

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"We loved it here. We were very excited to see leopard on our very first drive.

Our standard room was large, private and stylish with amazing views of the bush from the window. We saw a lot of animals just from our window. Food and service were excellent and the 'barn' - the reception/restaurant building is very pleasant.

We enjoyed being able to walk around the estate. It was great to support the Africat foundation." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa