This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 31-40 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"We took a night game drive as well as morning drive. Both were great. Saw cheetah as well as leopard.

We were delightfully surprised with a bottle of champagne at dinner, to celebrate our 20th anniversary.
Thank you Maruska for forwarding that information to Okonjima.

We did not have time to go to the cat education center." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Good experience"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"A little more impersonal than some of the other places we stayed at, but comfortable and welcoming nonetheless.

Went leopard tracking in a vehicle with great success. Also went cheetah tracking on foot with equal success. The trip to the AfriCat Foundation is worth doing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"Great activities especially the tracking " See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Egham

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"We stayed here at the end of our journey so spent less time on activities than we might have done if it had been the start. The rooms are very well appointed and although we stayed in what is termed a Standard room it is perfectly adequate and I couldn't really see that there was that much difference compared to a more expensive View room. Meals at the main lodge were very good and the service there was excellent. It is a different experience to some of the smaller lodges we visited and you have to be prepared for a slightly more formula driven experience. However the two tours we undertook were good and we got to see leopard and a cheetah using their tracking process. In each case our tour group was quite small, but some groups were up to 12 in number. It may come as a surprise to some that there are only 4 cheetahs in the whole of the main reserve bearing in mind their advertising, but they are clearly doing more work to encourage an improved habitat for them. Overall a good place to start or end your journey and close enough to Windhoek to leave comfortably in the morning to catch an early afternoon flight." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr A
Somerset

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"A VERY WELL RUN CAMP

THE GAME DRIVERS WERE VERY SPECIAL" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Northampton

"good lodge and informative"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"a good place to end the holiday. Tracking of animals enabled us to see a leopard kill." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

M B &C
S Cheshire

"Okonjima cat safari"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"We went with some apprehension after reading other reviews but we found Okinjima and its staff very warm and engaging. We arrived in time for lunch and were able to arrange salad and sandwiches rather than the set 2 course lunch - which after our generous breakfast at the previous accommodation was just as well. The leopard tracking was well orgainsed and we were able to see 2, one hiding under a bush but another very happy to pose for cameras in the twilight. On our return to camp we also came across a cheetah (which the guide no doubt had the experience to locate without radio tracking). Pleasant sundowners.

We found the accommodation in a standard room fine with amazing views over the savannah, clean and comfortable. Meals were good and service was personable - I didn't recognize comments from others about impersonal service despite the turnover of guests" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

C & D
Woking/Brighton

"Very well run camp, great shop & activities"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"We stayed at Okonjima on our last night in Namibia and are very glad we didn't miss it off the itinerary! It's a fantastically well run camp, a lovely welcome by the reception staff in the enormously airy and beautifully decorated main camp building. Lots of photos on the walls and pictures of big cats everywhere! The rooms are huge, with an open view of the reserve and lots of warthog and guinea fowl passing by.

We opted for the leopard sunset drive and weren't disappointed - brilliant to see a leopard snoozing in a river bed - and read about all the research work they are doing too.

We were treated to a special bush supper in the tiny boma just near the restaurant - a lovely surprise, and delicious! ..and our trip wouldn't have been complete without a little look in the shop, lots of lovely things to take home!
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

B family
Weybridge

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"This is a fab place and we wish we had had longer than one night. Rooms are massive and with stunning views, food was excellent and the guide on the game drive was probably the best we had.

For the first time ever we saw leopard...twice! and some cheetah. We went on a night drive and saw aardvark and porcupine.

They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary and as it was our last night it made it very special." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Okonjima review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"I am not really sure about the ethos of this place. It really is a zoo and a somewhat contrived experience.

After having been in places where the skill of the guide(s) in finding wildlife was important, seeing animals with radio transmitters on them, was underwhelming.
I would not consider returning to this Camp, which is in contrast to others we visited.
" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 31-40 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa