This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 41-50 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Ms G
Merton

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2018
"The activities here were incredible in particular tracking a cheetah on foot and also some great close up leopard sightings (from the truck !). Our guide, Peter, was very clear and knowledgeable. Our stay here was another tour highlight." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"Super game drives"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2018
"Accommodation was pleasant, but game drives and food make this place great.

Both drives were wonderful and highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Samantha
London

"Theme park"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2018
"We really didn't like it. The rooms were very spacious, although a bit tired. Food was so so. The reserve is a large rehoming area for big cats that were at threat from farmers or facing problems. There is also a lot of research done on the reserve into animal behaviour etc which it would have been interesting to have been offered the opportunity to hear more about. The focus though was almost exclusively on tracking the big cats (the hyena tracking we asked to do failed and was just turned into cheetah tracking). If you are going to Etosha then far better to see the cats there in a more natural environment. However, the set up was strange in that you and another family or two are allocated a shared guide so have to agree activities you want to do, eg cheetah search, visit to the cat rehabilitation centre. Much better to list the activities on a board for people to choose and then match families up that way.

Then the drives are always focused on finding one of the cat types. This means you zoom around with a driver waving an aerial that beeps if it locates the tracking device that animal type is fitted with. On every drive we did, this was totally unproductive for almost two hours at which point the driver phoned a friend who had found something and off we went to congregate in a big group. It felt very inefficient and, moreover (i) resulted in us speeding past a pangolin only my husband spotted and which he had some difficulty persuading the driver to reverse for, and (ii) when you did find the leopard or whatever it was it had a big tracking collar on which wasn't a great look.

The rehabilitation centre was interesting and you got to see the newly arrived cheetahs in a smaller outside space (without collars!) up close. The work the Africat foundation is doing in finding ways of getting farmers to live alongside big cats seemed far more worthwhile and interesting and I get the impression that this camp probably funds a lot of better work. The other family we shared a guide with asked when their children would get to cuddle baby cheetahs (!) which rather summed up for us the Disneyfied feel of this place." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs T
Reading

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2018
"Loved this place but sadly had very little time here, that was determined by our schedule but I wouldn't send people here for less than 2 nights.

I know it was due to availability but would go to bush camp next time as apparently less kids.

Service was a little lackadaisical but they are in to different market with a lot more people being processed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

CathyO
Glasgow

"do not miss it"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2018
"A truly wonderful experience but way too short. We would have loved to stay another night or 2.

Seeing leopard and cheetah was magical." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr M
Wakefield

"Too short a stay !"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2018
"Despite only being one night this was one of my favourite places. We could stay only one night due to difficulties with our return flights. However, it was well worth it.

On arrival we wee upgraded to a View room which was massive and very well appointed. Indeed the view was excellent and we could watch loads of wildlife from our terrace.

The visit to the on site AfriCat Foundation Conservation Centre was a highlight.

Highly recommend overall." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Maidstone

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2018
"Major plus at beginning of our tour as 'notched up' leopard, cheetah, rhino for a start. Accommodation in View Room superb and ambience welcoming and efficient.

Restaurant meals very good and overall public area decor very clever and informative too. Our game drive activity topped it all as we were the only two with our driver/guide (Matthew) who was determined to locate the leopard, which he did and was the only one that afternoon to achieve that. We were out for probably a good hour beyond the norm and squeaked back in time for dinner, amazing.

This Camp now boasts a large pool in a landscaped area not mentioned in your itinerary. Also the photo in the itinerary does not do justice to this location." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sri Lanka

"Outstanding Game Drive at Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2018
"We loved the leopard-tracking drive. Daniel was an excellent guide and we had a great sighting of a leopard, plus three separate rhino sightings (including 7 of their 10 rhinos) and lots of other game.

I had been worried that the tracking might make the drive seem artificial but it actually added to the experience. We reached a point where Daniel said Shera's cub was only about five metres away despite there being no sign - and then suddenly there it was staring straight at us. We also woke in the morning to find a family of warthogs sleeping on the verandah of our room, which was lovely.

The rooms were great, as was the food - especially some memorably good omelettes at breakfast.

We would definitely recommend Okonjima as a great stop for anyone visiting Namibia, as well as a convenient location to break up the long journey from Etosha or Damaraland to Windhoek." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Wallington
UK

"Great game drives and room."

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"We found everybody extremely helpful for a commercial operation like this. They were also very good in forwarding a bikini my wife had left behind.
Standard room had fantastic view of the bush.

I'm sure you know all about the place - but a special mention of our guide on the game drives - Daniel. Great knowledge and friendly." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Queensland

"Not very personal, ok for a stop"

1 night Arrived 26 Mar 2018
"I didn't end up doing anything here as there was alot of rain plus I couldn't get into my car with a flat remote battery. Reception was the most impersonal compared to other lodges. They were often too busy. The phone from my room didn't work so couldn't contact reception for anything.

Had to walk several minutes to get to reception from my room. The view rooms do not have any views in particular but are at the edge of the forest so good for seeing wildlife. The rooms were modern and spacious, but has too much of a concrete look and feel to them.

The road going in is not good, and when there is heavy rain, you cannot cross the river to get in or out forba few hours." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa