This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P from New Jersey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2021 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2021 and 18 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was remarkably better than I had even hoped. A trip we won't soon forget.

The Covid-19 restrictions were unpleasant but once we departed Airworld we were fine.

My one concern is the cost, which makes this hard to recommend to most of my relatives though I have friends who could afford it."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2021
"While it was a bit of walk across the airport to get there, once there, all was fine.

Check-in was straightforward and the room was fine.

The restaurant on site was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2021
"Our first day in Namibia.

It is unfortunate that it isn't recommended to walk in the neighborhood at night, but the management helped us get a taxi to Joe's Beerhouse, which was a fine place for dinner.

The room, grounds and breakfast were all fine."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2021
"Outstanding place in every possible way, including ways we hadn't even thought about.

Above all the service was excellent, but we enjoyed the location, the views, the trips, and the food.

Though the telescope was out for repairs and there was no resident astronomer, I had brought my telescope and spent 2 nights sharing the sky with staff and other guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2021
"A pleasant stay in Swakopmund, with many nearby restaurants and bars. We also found a laundry to wash our clothes. And we had to repair one of our tires. Sort of a German beach town. The boat trip to Walvis Bay was wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2021
"Elephants! And another chance to look at the stars with staff and guests. The management was kind enough to allow me to use the roof floor of the lodge for a night.

Though it could get hot during the October afternoons and the wind could be somewhat strong, the rooms were comfortable.

Wonderful staff and food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2021
"While the facilities were adequate (it was particularly nice to have AC in the hot October afternoons), the real draw here is the animals, of which there were so many. Our first night we went on a after-dark drive and saw hyenas and jackels ripping apart a springbok. The next day we saw lionesses lounging under a tree after killing a zebra. But maybe the greatest feature is the watering hole which is lit so that you can watch the animals at night, including elephants, giraffes, and rhinos.

The recommendation to pay in cash was ill-advised, as there was no problem with using credit and there was also no ATM on site. Fortunately we did not run out, and we were able to get our deposit back in cash. Cash was required for petrol however."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2021
"Again great staff, food, and tours. Fantastic view of lounging male lions and even a close encounter with a herd of elephants.

We got our 2nd flat tire here after driving through Etosha the day before. The staff were kind enough to swap the tire, though as we found out later the tire was irreparable.

We also got a chance to do some star gazing with the staff and guests.

One thing we found difficult was the tent/rooms. In the afternoon heat, the fans and ventilation were not enough to compensate for the October heat and we found it difficult to rest. The water also heated up during the day so that by the afternoon there was no cold water from the taps. As we found out later, the facilities next door at Mushara Outpost seemed a bit nicer, but on the other hand there seemed to be fewer guests, so perhaps it was just as well. (It's always nice to talk with other guests.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2021
"Another extraordinary place. Great staff and food, but the trip to look for leopards was amazing.

We even were awakened by a lion roaring in the morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2021
"A pleasant last day in Windhoek and Namibia. Great staff and food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team