This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge


24°46’46.9"S 15°53’19.1"E

Reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

67% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Giraffe

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"A fabulous lodge, wonderful staff, amazing views and delicious food.

The hot air balloon ride that was included in our package was a trip of a lifetime. The guiding was great.

Only sadness is that the upcoming major upgrade will probably price it out of our range, but delighted that we got a chance to stay there now. The massage we took was also top-class.

Thank you all! (Also saw our first ever aardwolf - awesome!)" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Wow - five stars in every respect!"

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is absolutely outstanding in every way and we're already planning a return visit as we loved it so much.

The service is exceptional and we felt very well looked after by all the staff, headed by Grant. The staff-to-guest ratio means that there is always someone on hand to answer any questions and we felt that the staff had a genuine interest in making our stay a thoroughly memorable one. There were so many 'nice touches' including drinks on return from activities, staff waving us off when we left, little notes in the room. The view from the bathroom is stunning as is the design of the lodge as a whole.

Our 'butler' was Kristof who served all of our meals and who had just the right balance between efficiency and informality. He always seemed to pre-empt our needs and each night we were given a different location to dine including in the wine cellar and by the pool. The food was exceptional. Our guide was Bonniface (Bonni) and he made every activity an individual, relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable experience. He went out of his way to point out different wildlife, both large and small, and was a pleasure to be with.

One of our main reasons for selecting Sossusvlei Desert Lodge was to take part in the astronomy/observatory. This didn't disappoint, mainly due to Paul, the resident astronomer, and his outstanding knowledge of the night sky, telescopes and astro-photography. Views of the Milky Way, planets and moons were stunning and Paul went out of his way to make sure that this part of our stay was really special.

In short, a real treat. We didn't want to leave." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Samantha
London

"Spectacular setting!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2018
"The lodge was about to close for refurbishment when we arrived. Rooms were fantastic, though could see they were a bit tired eg scuffs and chips to stair edges and cloudy shower screens - not that this affected our enjoyment in any way.

Setting is amazing, guide was fantastic and took us on lots of brilliant excursions which we left to him to decide. The landscape is stunning and we saw lots of antelope and some rhino, but the scenery is definitely the main draw plus climbing the Big Daddy sand dune and running down into Dead Vlei. Food lovely, staff very accommodating, eg organising early dinners for our 7 year old.

We loved the observatory although the bright moon slightly curtailed what we could see.

Highly recommend." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"I had a huge smile on my face hours after arriving here. It's such a gorgeous property with gorgeous views.

The rooms are amazing & we esp loved the skylight above the bed where we could see the stars overhead.

We stayed 3 nights & did the Bike Daddy hike, rode ATVs & hike to the caves to see 700 year old bushman drawings. Also loved the observatory where we saw planets & star clusters. Guide Obbie, butler Hilma, managers Clinton & Sarah & everyone else made our stay special." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sanur, Bali

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2018
"Fantastic place, the location and the isolation is what i was looking for. I'm definitely happy to have chosen this over Little Kulala, which i was also considering. I did pass Little Kulala on one of the excursions as a reference point and i definitely preferred the setting at Sossusvlei desert lodge. The service here was phenomenal. They literally went above and beyond for us. There was a surprise every day waiting which overwhelmed us and really should the quality of the company, our sunset and dinner experiences differed every day and it was just amazing. The team was always warm, genuine and welcoming. Our butler Anna was superb, a big shout out to her. The food was great, especially the deserts at dinner. The only thing i can constructively criticize is the room and our assigned guide. The room is nicely decorated but there are aspects that are outdated and a little warn out. There is a safety hazard on the 3 little steps that connect the living room to the sleeping area. My wife actually fell in the middle of the night because the step sizes and distances. Fortunately she wasn't badly injured. As for the guide, he wasn't bad by any means, but in comparison to the other guides we had on the trip we connected a little less and was a little less engaging for us. Speaking of excursions i would have preferred going on less mainstream activities where we would be amongst a lot of tourists or alternatively started earlier before the migration. I would have been happy to climb up another less 'famous' dune alone, near by, and then gone to 'Dead Vlei' separately after the morning rush has thinned out. I would have captured the ambience a little more, it would have definitely felt more exclusive and it would have been more relaxing. As we were climbing 'Big daddy' dune we constantly felt rushed going up the ridge as there was a line up of people behind us, leaving us barely any time to take it all in, let alone feeling that we would inconvenience people if we wanted to stop and take a photo. The dune was impressive and just gorgeous, but i would have rather been walking on a ridge alone or in a smaller group. AndBeyond should explore an alternative, since our guide never gave us one. On that note though, our morning picnic after the dune experience was fantastic. We definitely felt that 3 nights was a perfect. 2 nights would have been to short and 4 nights would have been too long as we would have run out of excursions to do." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottawa

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"This is a beautiful lodge located in a beautiful location. There is not much wildlife but you can see oryx, springbok and jackal walking in front of your room by the huge windows at the back of the bungalow. The night sky is magnificent and the astronomer was keen to help you with the telescope.

Unfortunately, our guide was not as good as the ones we had at other lodges. We were a bit disappointed that we were not allowed to climb the Big Daddy dune. The duration and the location of the activities were not following the information we were given prior to departure for these activities." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs F & S
Oregon

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Be warned that if you are asked to share a safari truck on the trip to the dunes, ensure that you all want to do the same activities. It can be a very long wait if others have climbed the dune and you haven't." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Ms S
BL

"A great getwaway in the desert!"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2017
"The location is spectacular and we much enjoyed the activities (in particular the sundowner in the dunes, the trip to Sossusvlei, and the hot air balloon flight!).

We will have wonderful memories!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Superb luxury venue and service to match"

4 nights Arrived 10 May 2017
"We loved every minute of our time here. The staff were always super-attentive and helpful. The food was always excellent and we could eat at any time we wished within reason. The rooms were well laid out and luxurious, in some areas however it was starting to look just tiny little bit tired around the reception lounge sofas and rugs. We left feedback to this effect. Nevertheless it was a fabulous venue and experience. A surprising amount of game seen on our drives, even though it was a desert location. Wonderful place to see!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 36
99%
36 reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa