This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails

Reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tok Tokkie Trails and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tok Tokkie Trails.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

50% success

Giraffe

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Tok Tokkie Trails highly recommended"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2022
"We arrive at the Tok Tokkie reception after some wonderful days around BullsPort Lodge & Farmhouse. When we look around, we are surrounded by mountains in all directions. We are in the Namibrand Nature Reserve, which is located in the Namib Desert. This should be the largest desert in the world?! It´s 2000 km in length and 100 km in width, and it only receives 100 mm rain per year, although some years no rain at all. It´s also supposed to be the oldest desert in the world (however that is determined?).

The next 3 days (2 nights), we expect extreme temperatures and spectacular nature when we cover approx. 20 km on foot. We come well prepared, first thanks to a very experienced guide who has done this tour numerous times, but also thanks to high factor sunscreen, good walking boots, lots of water, and a positive attitude.

Before heading into the desert, we visit a place called “NaDEET Centre” which focus on sustainable living. The centre was awarded with the UNESCO price in 2018 for their extraordinary work teaching Namibian schoolchildren how to save the sparse resources. It´s an extraordinary place and worth a visit.

Late afternoon, we leave the Tok Tokkie reception. We have about 1,5 hour walk for our first overnight camp, the “Horseshoe Camp”. We drive to the starting point, eight persons in total. Beside my wife and I, a couple from Switzerland and two couples from France. All wonderful people. During the whole 3 days (2 nights) trip, our experienced guide S. who shows us big and small things in the desert; plants, animals, insects, tracks, etc. A bit like our tour at Etendeka Overnight Walking Trail although more sand and less stones.

The surroundings are magnificent. Red sand everywhere, with scattered trees and mountains in the distance. We line up one behind the other when we climb dunes in the heath. When we reach Horseshoe Camp, the table is set for dinner!

We are shown our “open AirB&B bedroom" in a private sand dune. We have two simple field beds with bedrolls. In addition, a bag of water serve as a sink as well as "racks" and "tables" to keep luggage above ground in consideration of snakes and scorpions.

Before dinner, we get the mandatory sundowner G&T with a view of the desert. The chef prepares our dinner, which is eaten under the starry sky to the sounds of the desert, especially geckos. We are lucky to have an unobstructed view of the starry sky and Milky Way.

S. points out the Southern Cross, Jupiter and two galaxies. This is a UNESCO "dark sky" area with no disturbing light for several hundred kilometers around.

After dinner, we crawl into shelter in our lovely bedrolls, which consist of a waterproof bivouac cover with bedding inside. You lie comfortably protected, high above the ground. “Biological errands” are done at a nearby dry dump with an unobstructed view of the desert.

It is fantastic to sleep in the open air on the back with an unobstructed view of the starry sky. In this area, there are i.e. leopards and hyenas, but luckily they keep their distance from humans (and we don't wander around at night)

The next morning, we are awakened with coffee at the bed (!) at 06.00. At 06.30, breakfast is ready. At 07.30, we venture into the desert towards a mountain pass and new adventures..." See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"We'd booked this trip maybe 18 months previously and I'd forgot that we'd be sleeping out in the open air until just before we arrived for this leg of our trip. To be honest, I was a bit nervous. However, our guide Sebastian was a great calming influence and I soon relaxed and just put my trust in him and he didn't let us down.

We did the trail in a group of 8 people (the maximum) and were fortunate that the other 6 people were great fun to be with and excellent hiking companions. Personally, I could have done without the hour or so visit to the eco indoctrination camp before the trek started, but that's probably a minority view.

The trek isn't difficult for anyone who is moderately fit or walks regularly. Sebastian made plenty of stops to highlight and explain what was going on around us. Compared to how I expected to feel, I honestly had a really good night's sleep on both of the evenings. The sleeping cots were comfortable and I guess I'd just got used to the environment from walking through it during the day.

Despite being low tech, It's all a smooth, well oiled operation and I can highly recommend it so long as you're happy to mix a little rough with the smooth." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mrs H.
Whitchurch

"Tok Tokkie Trail - superb!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"What an experience!

We had a great time walking with Nico, our guide, and two other couples.

Wonderful environment, comfy beds under the stars, excellent food and a highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

AK
USA

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2021
"We enjoyed the trail and Sebastian, the guide was outstanding.

However, this is not a luxury hike: it is a camping trip with no tent, so expect cold temperatures and blasting sand at night. The beds were not very comfortable.

On the other hand, the night sky was wonderful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Superb nights under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"The experience starts with a trip to the NADEET centre, which provides an interesting and thought-provoking view of the environmental footprint that it is possible to live on. After that, the first days walk was about 1.5 hours of easy uphill going, to a camp set-up amongst the dunes. Beautiful sun-downer view to the east, followed by a superb meal created by cook, Belinda, and general helper, Willie.

We found the camp beds and bed-rolls to be extremely comfortable and warm. We were woken at day-break with a welcome cup of tea/coffee (and offers to take photos) followed by substantial breakfast.

The second day started with a 4-5 hour walk over a hill pass (where it was nice to be walking on solid ground, not just sand) with stops to learn about the desert environment and small creatures, to finish at a desert shelter complete with social weavers, deck-chairs and lunch.

The afternoon was a 1.5 hour walk to the second camp amongst the dunes. The second evening was particularly convivial as we had got to know our companions and guide, Ricardo, better. The only down-side on our second night was the wind which had increased uncomfortably. However, it was still possible to hunker down in the bed-rolls to get to sleep. The sky was clear both nights, but due to a nearly full moon the stars were a bit obscured. It would have been better at new moon.

The final days walk was fairly short and somewhat anti-climatic, arriving back at the starting point at about 9.30.

Overall, this is a fantastic experience of the Namib desert, and certainly not to be missed if you enjoy walking and an outdoor experience." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr & Dr N
Edinburgh

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"This was an amazing experience. So well organised and well thought out. Do be aware that the afternoon walking, particularly on the second day, is very hot even in May. Ideally would have left from the midday rest shade later.

Our guide Rodrigo . Roberto was excellent as were all the staff involved.

The visit to the Nadeet conservation project was much more interesting than anticipated" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Well planned trip and facilities; thoroughly enjoyed sleeping under the stars.

Enjoyed the 'small' wildlife" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Great experience.

Could have walked longer." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

A and A
Cossington

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"A highlight of our trip to Namibia, we loved every minute.

The walk wasn't too strenuous, the scenery was stunning, the guide was caring, funny and interesting, the organisation faultless and the food was amazing (from a tiny field kitchen!). And to top it all we spent 2 nights staring at and sleeping under the stars

We went in early September, and the weather was unseasonably cold, so the evenings were very chilly - need a jacket, hat and gloves." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & P
Lavenham

"An amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"An amazing experience,! Fascinating walks, and information. Lots of wildlife!

Possibly tried to make meals too up-Market, simpler meals served more quickly would have been better as it was quite cold. ,Camp fire would have been welcome.. ,Hot water bottles in the beds was a wonderful surprise," See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (81 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (60 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (37 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (3 reviews)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa