This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails

Reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tok Tokkie Trails and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tok Tokkie Trails.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
J&J
Plockton

"Superb nights under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"The experience starts with a trip to the NADEET centre, which provides an interesting and thought-provoking view of the environmental footprint that it is possible to live on. After that, the first days walk was about 1.5 hours of easy uphill going, to a camp set-up amongst the dunes. Beautiful sun-downer view to the east, followed by a superb meal created by cook, Belinda, and general helper, Willie.

We found the camp beds and bed-rolls to be extremely comfortable and warm. We were woken at day-break with a welcome cup of tea/coffee (and offers to take photos) followed by substantial breakfast.

The second day started with a 4-5 hour walk over a hill pass (where it was nice to be walking on solid ground, not just sand) with stops to learn about the desert environment and small creatures, to finish at a desert shelter complete with social weavers, deck-chairs and lunch.

The afternoon was a 1.5 hour walk to the second camp amongst the dunes. The second evening was particularly convivial as we had got to know our companions and guide, Ricardo, better. The only down-side on our second night was the wind which had increased uncomfortably. However, it was still possible to hunker down in the bed-rolls to get to sleep. The sky was clear both nights, but due to a nearly full moon the stars were a bit obscured. It would have been better at new moon.

The final days walk was fairly short and somewhat anti-climatic, arriving back at the starting point at about 9.30.

Overall, this is a fantastic experience of the Namib desert, and certainly not to be missed if you enjoy walking and an outdoor experience." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"This was an amazing experience. So well organised and well thought out. Do be aware that the afternoon walking, particularly on the second day, is very hot even in May. Ideally would have left from the midday rest shade later.

Our guide Rodrigo . Roberto was excellent as were all the staff involved.

The visit to the Nadeet conservation project was much more interesting than anticipated" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Well planned trip and facilities; thoroughly enjoyed sleeping under the stars.

Enjoyed the 'small' wildlife" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Great experience.

Could have walked longer." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

A and A
Cossington

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"A highlight of our trip to Namibia, we loved every minute.

The walk wasn't too strenuous, the scenery was stunning, the guide was caring, funny and interesting, the organisation faultless and the food was amazing (from a tiny field kitchen!). And to top it all we spent 2 nights staring at and sleeping under the stars

We went in early September, and the weather was unseasonably cold, so the evenings were very chilly - need a jacket, hat and gloves." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & P
Lavenham

"An amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"An amazing experience,! Fascinating walks, and information. Lots of wildlife!

Possibly tried to make meals too up-Market, simpler meals served more quickly would have been better as it was quite cold. ,Camp fire would have been welcome.. ,Hot water bottles in the beds was a wonderful surprise," See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E
Nyon

"This is a once-in-lifetime experience"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Tok Tokkie Trails is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, you will remember this trip for the rest of your life. Our guide, Sebastian, was great, he took care of everybody, making sure the speed of the walk was suitable for all the participants, showed us the fauna and flora of the desert.

We all loved sleeping under the stars on our stretcher bed, also loved the bucket shower, I one day had my shower in front of an oryx!

One suggestion would be to have some hot breakfast in the morning, we went there end of August, second night was chilly, hot breakfast could have helped to warm up." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Best glamping"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"We loved the walking, sleeping under the stars, the guiding, star gazing and the "suite".

Our group was excellent company (only 5 people).

Only minus was the food, it was fine, but we expected may be more." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"Must do excursion"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"Tok Tokkie is a wonderful way to start one's Namibian experience. It is a quided walk, starting around 330 pm, after lunch on Day 1, walking a full day on Day 2, and arriving back in the Tok Tokkie HQ around 9 am on Day 3. The walking itself is very easy, with small distances and no particular elevation losses or gains. During our walk the maximum day time temperature was in the late 20s celsius so not troubling.

What makes the experience so enjoyable and special is the guide (Sebastian was our guide) and the wonderful camps, where one sleeps under a blaze of stars (following Sebastian's very informative star-gazing talk), the first time when the Milky Way really was milky, in very comfortable camp beds, complete with very welcome hot water bottles. Food is plentiful and excellent, served by very welcoming staff. The long drop loos (complete with signalling devices to indicate vacancy or otherwise) and hot bucket showers, both open to the African plains but secluded from one's fellow guests, were a tremendous "Out of Africa" experience.

It does get cold at night and there was one breakfast where there was a distinct run on the hot porridge, but one rapidly warms up and are relieved that the long lunch break on Day 2 is under canvas. We were woken one night by a nearby oryx grazing and everyone was very excited on the second night by the mournful call of a passing hyena. Tok Tokkie was a high point of a holiday complete with highpoints!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Exeter

"Luxury under African skies at Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2017
"A unique experience made even more memorable by Sebastiaan our wonderful & knowledgeable guide.

Everything from beetles to Betelgeuse ! NaDeet also well worth the visit." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 34
99%
34 reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa