This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs N from Edinburgh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My May 2019 trip

Namibia between 16 May 2019 and 28 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another excellent, flawlessly organised, Expert Africa trip - special thanks to Sabina for her excellent advice and spending time to help us tailor exactly what suited us best."

Feedback response

This traveller has published a very lovely article on the photography of his trip - find it here: Desert Travels in Namibia with the Nikon Z7.

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2019
"Particularly impressed by the genuinely friendly but professional service and by the quality of food in the seafood restaurant.

We stayed 3 nights which on reflection was too long. Swakopmund itself does not quite feel like Africa but we knew that before we went. Recommend the fat bike tour into the desert.

One small point was that my wife didn’t like the wild birds flying around inside the restaurant ....."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our second visit to Erongo.

Beautiful tented lodges in a spectacular setting, and excellent guided walks. vegetarian food was not as good as last time (different manager then who personally looked up ideas on the internet for us!). Parts of the meals were for a vegetarian quite repetitive variations on tomato sauce.

However as a destination we would still highly recommend Erongo"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2019
"This is a good quality guest house in a quite residential area. Attractive outside areas.

We ate in the next door Olive Exclusive which has lovely terrace. Didn’t respond to our email about an item of lost property ...."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"We slightly preferred the Dunes Camp to the Dunes Lodge (they have a particularly good all woman team), but both are excellent.

The setting is amazing, and the food is excellent (including vegetarian)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"This was an amazing experience. So well organised and well thought out. Do be aware that the afternoon walking, particularly on the second day, is very hot even in May. Ideally would have left from the midday rest shade later.

Our guide Rodrigo . Roberto was excellent as were all the staff involved.

The visit to the Nadeet conservation project was much more interesting than anticipated"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2019
"Although we (slightly) preferred the Dunes Camp this was an excellent lodge too.

Amazing elevated setting with lovely public areas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2019
"We only stayed one night but were very glad we did. Delightful hostess Bettina. Attractive quirky design. Nice pool.

Lots of marked hiking trails - if you want you can also cross over into the neighbouring farm. Interesting hide for night time animal viewing.

Vegetarian food was a bit disappointing but think for some reason there had been a mix up and they were not expecting a vegetarian so probably not typical."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

amazing Namibia

Namibia between 23 Oct 2014 and 30 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"we loved Namibia and every single aspect of the trip went like clockwork. Its a very special country with amazing organisation coupled with a true sense of isolation"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Lovely overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"Good overnight stop in attractive part of Windhoek - easy access to centre but quiet location. Friendly & helpful staff.

Excellent dinner at adjacent "boutique" sister lodge.

Really good massage"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Stunning location and lovely staff!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"Beautiful rooms with stunning views, lovely staff, excellent service and very good food (and flexible for vegetarian). The managers Emerita and Paola were fantastic

The excursion to Sossusvlei was well worth the drive and the dawn ballon trip was amazing. As an extra we hiked up a nearby hill with the resident astronomer to a group of quiver trees.

We stayed 3 nights - could have done with another just to carry on soaking up the views and atmosphere. We had high expectations both of the lodge and the desert - if anything our expectations were exceeded.

We flew in from Windhoek - efficient, quick and very scenic..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great walking base, lovely staff"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"We chose Erongo for the hiking opportunities. These were very good - excellent guides and scenery. After early morning hikes we enjoyed lazing around the large comfortable lounge area. Food was very good and they were very accommodating for vegetarians (looking up recipes on the internet to discuss with us!).

Management were fantastic and lovely people . Their staff were truly delightful and the atmosphere was very special because of that .

Easy access for self drive - fast quiet tarmac from Windhoek then 10 k gravel road (leave your car at entrance if you have a 2 wheel drive and let them drive you up to the lodge). Onoruru pleasant town a short trip away."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team