This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serian
Serian
Serian

Reviews of Serian

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serian and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serian.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Ms. N
Montana

"George and Francis - Maasai Friends"

5 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2019
"Frances and George were my day long guides at Serian and were full of energy and enthusiasm. They could spot all sorts of animals and birds with clarity. They took their time in correctly identifying the birds and pointed out the tiny details among similar birds. They both shared their bird books with me and discussed the details with me. The two guides shared their family life and were interested in learning about mine. We took breaks during our day long trips to eat and practice yoga. They were so enthusiastic and participated with graciousness. What a fun time we all had. Francis and George and I shared laughter all day long and became good partners in our quest to locate the animals I wished to see. They were respectful of the animals in keeping their distances. The guides and I stayed out from 6:30am until 9:30pm: as you can see, they had unparreled energy and enthusiasm for their love of the land and the animals. We tracked different animals in order to witness kills and chases. We heard lions roaring right next to the car: and cats eating their kills.
George would write down the birds for me in my booklet, while I wrote down the dates and the areas in my bird book. They would stop the car to listen to the crickets and the frogs in the dark of the evenings. They stopped the car to watch the fireflies flit about in the evenings. These guides took the time to enjoy the quietness and the beauty of the environment and made sure that I had time to experience it myself. I am so grateful that I had these two guides sharing their love of their country with me. What a treat. I shall return again: I know because this was already my second time in one year. Thank you everyone at Serian." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

7 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Orpington

"Excellent safari at Serian Camp"

6 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"We spent 6 nights at the Serian Original camp. We started with an excellent game drive from the Mara North airstrip to the camp, seeing Cheetah on the way to lunch and our wonderful tent, which was close to the Mara river, with constant views and sounds of hippos. For the remainder of our stay our very experienced guide, Steve, was able to take us to the four corners of the Mara North Conservancy, ensuring we saw a wide variety of animals and many different birds. We had good views of lion, leopard and / or cheetah on most drives.

Our key reason for chosing the Serian camp was the private guide and vehicle, which as keen birdwatchers means we can stop to identify the small brown birds too. This also gives complete freedom about when and how long you spend on the game drives. We also spent a morning walking on the other side of the river in the camp's vehicle free area.

All staff were very helpful. The food was very good and varied. We usually ate breakfast on our morning drive, returning in time for lunch, with a couple of hours to relax before tea and cake, sundowners on our evening drive and back for dinner. Our tent was very spacious, with an adjacent bathroom." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms F & co
Sacramento

"Wonderful home in the bush"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2018
"Serian was as comfortable and homey as any camp could possibly be. Our hosts, including their baby daughter Charlotte, were delightful; the staff friendly and attentive (and very willing to share thoughts on Kenya's political and social situation); our guide, Judy, and driver excellent; the food scrumptious; and the animal viewing outstanding.

Our tent overlooked the Mara River, with a dozen or so hippo lolling in the water so we could watch them while having coffee on the porch. We had hoped to get a glimpse of the Great Migration but it had not yet started in earnest; we did see the herds of wildebeest gathering in the savanna prior to their fording the river.

And, we saw plenty of other animals, often with time to actually stop and observe their behavior: elephant, buffalo, several types of antelope (including topi, eland, waterbuck and dik-dik), giraffe, lions, hyenas, jackals, mongoose, and, of course, many, many wildebeest, zebras, giraffes and hippos.

Serian was a wonderful experience for all of us, including our 14-year old grandson and his dad who enjoyed an exciting overnight in the tree house, complete with a delivery of home-made pizza! That was just one example of the kind of wonderful hospitality and personal attention we found at Serian." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Peter LeVine
USA

"Exceptional - The Very Best "

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"Serian Maasai Mara Camp has everything imaginable and more. We stayed at this camp in September, 2017 - our third Serian Camp. The guides are the very best - friendly, extremely well educated, knowledgeable, and accommodating. As with all Serian Camps, we had own guides and vehicle and had complete freedom to see whatever we wanted to see whenever we wanted to do so. Management is extremely generous and allows its guests to travel any distance and for as many hours as you wish each day and night. And, there is the extra bonus of staying in real luxury. This camp is magnificent - beautiful guest tents/rooms, great good, and a brilliant management team. Very importantly, the camp atmosphere is relaxed and non commercial. Not surprisingly, Serian consistently attracts independent, well traveled individuals who want a real sense of freedom and adventure. With over forty years of travel throughout Africa, Serian Camps are my favorite places to stay. " See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Serian review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Driving up to Serian from Nkorombo you pass quite a few Maasai villages and cattle, but we found the wildlife in this area to be at least as good as at Nkorombo. The only difference is that there are no river crossings in Mara North, but on the other side there are far fewer other vehicles as well.

One of the great things at Serian is that when you transfer between their camps you take your guide with you. This allowed us to really get to know Shadrack and Mark quite well, and they also knew very well what we were interested in by the time we reached this camp.

The camp itself has a great atmosphere. We really got the feeling that the staff enjoy working there and have a passion for wildlife. While we were there a baby elephant got trapped by the river and separated from it's mother. The staff went out of it's way to save this elephant and eventually made arrangements to have it transferred to David Shedricks (this was after many attempts to locate the mother)." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Mara North Conservancy"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"Very good game viewing plus the freedom to fish/walk/go off road to follow game,

Only a few vehicles on each sighting which was particularly good for Leopard/Lion. We also had in James an expert guide who knew how the animals would behave.The Masai staff were particularly good." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Great time at Serian"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"The camp is very beautifully situated next to the river. The area directly next to the camp is a bit bushy/rocky and was usually not the area were we found our best sightings (we did see lion and leopard close to camp however).

Driving 15-20 minutes from camp we usually entered an area were anything could happen in terms of sightings. Many lions, a cheeta with cubs that hunted regularly (we saw 2 kills, another couple that was there for 4 nights also managed to see 4 kills) and lots of other exciting stuff. A night drive in this area produced an aardvark.

The standard of guiding (both here and at Nkorombo - same guides) was very high and comparable to the best guiding we've experienced in Zambia and Botswana." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Huntington

"Serian review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"After spending our first two nights in the Mara at Serian Nkorombo we moved to Serian Main for three nights. Our guide Francis and spotter Ciparo from Serian Nkorombo stayed with us which was a good thing because it really gave us a chance to get to know both of them in greater detail than our other drivers and spotters since we spent more time with them.

Serian Main sits farther up the Mara River than Serian Nkorombo and was hosted by Sophie who seemed to have a handle on everything.

Our game viewing was exceptional, the tent camp fully functional and the staff professional. Food service was good throughout." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Serian in the concessions"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Great facilities, surprisingly luxurious and large tent/room. We tied this with Nkorombo to have two differnt areas, here you can go off road and have night drives. We enjoyed a great night drive and even saw an Aardwolf for the first time." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bath

"Serian, Original"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"We stayed here 1 night. The tent was spacious and comfortable. We had read on previous reviews that the bathroom is outside the main tent. This is the case and a loo break during the night can be a bit un-nerving.

The camp management were friendly and helpful. We changed guide because he was a novice and spoke poor English. It is worth making sure that you are happy with the guide because they are assigned to you for your whole stay even if you move camp.

Our second guide was one of the few female Masai guides in Kenya. The guides were flexible and happy to do full day drives as well as walking safaris. However, I am not sure that they lived up to the expectation created by the Alex Walker web site. We were expecting a higher quality of guide and experience and it turned out to be good but not great.
One of the big plus points is the private vehicle." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 10
98%
10 reviews of Serian by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa