This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Peter LeVine from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My September 2017 Visit to Kenya and Botswana

Kenya and 1 other country between 17 Sep 2017 and 26 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was my second vacation planned with Expert Africa and was, once again, exceptional. The assistance of Richard Trillo and Rich Ball was invaluable. It is very true that you are working with true experts on Africa who listen carefully and plan an exceptional visit accordingly."

Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Excellent commercial camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Everything runs like clockwork at Machaba Camp. The guides are very good, the staff excellent, and accommodations and food first rate. Compared, however, to lodges and camps I have stayed at in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and elsewhere in West/Central Africa the camp is very commercial. The ambiance is very much like that of a very efficient, high end five star hotel. At times I felt like we were staying at a Serena Hotel or a Ritz Carlton - which undermines the sense of a being in an exotic region. This is not meant to be a criticism but rather a comment on the experience. You will not, I suspect, find many well traveled independent guests at Machaba Camp. Rather, you will find like travelers who are visiting Botswana for the first time and want an excellent introduction and overview of the Okavango Delta. For a first time visit to Botswana I recommend Machaba Camp. If, however, you want a place that is less commercial I would recommend somewhere else."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Location only justifies a stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"This is a commercial hotel which is borderline acceptable for one night in Nairobi. The front desk staff was unfriendly and the rooms are two to three stars. Whoever designed the rooms must have failed Architecture I. Bathrooms have no doors and the mirror makes anyone visible to the entire room - not a great place to stay with your adult children. I had to change our room twice to avoid being in a depressing room on the lower floor of the hotel that felt like a basement. In contrast to the unfriendly front desk/reception staff and drab rooms, the restaurant is first rate - excellent Indian food."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

"Exceptional Guides/Extraordinary Experience"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"Serian Nkorombo has a tremendous location and, as with all Serian Camps, truly exceptional guides - the best in Africa. Serian Maasai Mara is pure luxury with great food and exceptional management. We stayed at each camp for two nights. This is the second year in a row I have stayed at Serian. Last year I stayed at the Serian Camp in Tanzania. There is an extraordinary quality about all Serian Camps I have stayed at that is real but difficult to describe - the ambiance. Unlike other places I have stayed at in Africa, there is a free spirit non-commercial quality about these camps and yet the highest levels of professionalism. At Serian, you have complete freedom to do whatever you want to see and do whenever you wish. We always found interesting, independent, and well traveled individuals at Serian camps who felt the same way. I have been traveling to Africa for nearly forty years - Serian Camps are unique and exceptional offering real adventure and independence with exceptional management, guides, staff, and facilities. If you want the very best wildlife experience with complete freedom - stay at Serian!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serian

Serian

"Exceptional - The Very Best "

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"Serian Maasai Mara Camp has everything imaginable and more. We stayed at this camp in September, 2017 - our third Serian Camp. The guides are the very best - friendly, extremely well educated, knowledgeable, and accommodating. As with all Serian Camps, we had own guides and vehicle and had complete freedom to see whatever we wanted to see whenever we wanted to do so. Management is extremely generous and allows its guests to travel any distance and for as many hours as you wish each day and night. And, there is the extra bonus of staying in real luxury. This camp is magnificent - beautiful guest tents/rooms, great good, and a brilliant management team. Very importantly, the camp atmosphere is relaxed and non commercial. Not surprisingly, Serian consistently attracts independent, well traveled individuals who want a real sense of freedom and adventure. With over forty years of travel throughout Africa, Serian Camps are my favorite places to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jan 2016 trip

Tanzania between 23 Jan 2016 and 27 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Richard Trillo and the entire Expert Africa team are first rate. There is no pressure from Expert Africa to buy anything or stay anywhere.

Mr. Trillo (the author of the Rough Guide to Kenya - the best travel guide on Kenya) is concerned with matching the client's travel wishes and budget to the most appropriate accommodations and services. I highly recommend Expert Africa for exceptional service and integrity.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. Expert Africa is a model of excellence."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

"Alex Walker's Camp Is Simply The Very Best"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2016
"Alex Walker's Serengeti South Camp exceeded my very high and hopeful expectations as I had visited the Serengeti on five prior occasions. The Great Migration is an experience that I never tire of. Alex Walker is an expert's expert on the Serengeti and much of East and South Africa. He is an extremely kind, unassuming, and generous man who sets the tone and high standards for the entire experience.

His guides are first rate. There are no limitations on each guest's use of his/her car and guides. If you wish to be away from the camp for twelve hours and drive 200 miles every day, you can do so. All of the guests who stayed at the camp were, without exception, interesting, adventurous, and well traveled individuals who chose Alex Walker's camp for the same reason I did - a place where you find the best guides and are, very importantly, away from all of the camp, lodges, and tourists near Ndutu.

Alex Walker is personally responsible for making every visitor's stay special. He matches each guest/guests with the guides which he believes will be most suitable. His senior managers and staff are highly experienced experts on wildlife and masters of hospitality. It would very difficult to have an equal experience anywhere else in the Serengeti and, impossible, to have a better experience. When you leave Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti South Camp after four nights, you are leaving new and special friends who you very much hope to see again.

While I do not profess to be an expert on Africa, I have been traveling to the African continent on a regular basis since 1974. I have visited most countries on the continent, often more than once, as Africa is a magnet that keeps drawing me back. Alex Walker and his extraordinary management team and staff made my January, 2016 visit to the Great Migration the best I have ever experienced. I will return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team