This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp

Reviews of Machaba Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Machaba Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Machaba Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

8% success

Wild dog

86% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

93% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Buffalo

77% success

Wildebeest

64% success

Sable antelope

22% success

Aardvark

9% success

Roan antelope

9% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Charlie
London

"Machaba Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2022
"A real highlight to end on.

The camp was stunning and staff were wonderful. Our room was fantastic and the evening meals a real occasion, particularly given the setting.

There was a lot of excitement being in the middle of the wildlife with animal noises throughout the night and visible on the terrace/across the river during the daytime. Breaking the day back at camp made it all a lot more manageable for children and brunch and high tea were highlights too.

The game drives we did were the best we had anywhere and we were spoilt with lions and leopards each day and cheetah the final evening. We saw cubs and lions feeding and were able to get very close to the wildlife.

The guide was wonderful and the camp staff bent over backwards to keep us and the children happy throughout. We didn't want to leave!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

MRM
Edinburgh

"Machaba Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2022
"We were made very welcome at the camp which offers a very good standard of care and attention.

Once again, the service from the camp staff was excellent.

They went out of their way to give us a surprise bush dinner and evening and a bush lunch the day before we left. An excellent touch." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr H.
By Lairg

"Machaba Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2022
"Surprise bush meals added to our experience . A relaxing ambiance.

Mike our guide spotted a python on a branch .It made a good photo.

Usual wild animals also included ,crocodile, african wild cat ,dwarf mongoose and giant eagle owl.

Plenty sighting of lions some with their cubs. Leopard with water buck dinner.

Enjoyed the mokoro journey on the river and sighting the painted reed frogs. It was a lovely contrast to the boat trip we had at lagoon camp which we also thoroughly enjoyed as well as informative the wild game walk ." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mrs K.
Nice

"laid back fun"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"we loved machaba camp. the atmosphere was relaxed and fun with great facilities and service. it was like being part of a big family. loved our tent which enabled us to see all around us and to hear the night noises with no walls in the way. camping should always be like this. food was excellent and plentiful.

our guide, moreri, was terrific and ensured we had an unforgettable experience. a wild ride to spot a leopard before it disappeared into the bush was successful and we tracked him as he strolled, unconcerned, into a brush area where he settled down for a nap. thrilling. we saw a wide variety of wildlife and learned about the area and the small village nearby.

an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr W
Essex

"Dogs & Hyena galore "

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"This camp is beautifully located on the banks of the river and spread through a wooded area. The tents are really comfortable, well equipped and cool during the daytime. The staff were wonderful and friendly and the food was excellent.

The rains came the morning we arrived which meant the game was now going to be a little sparse. We didn't see too many elephants, except a few bulls but there was still game about which meant there was still going to be predators about too. We were not disappointed with a wild dog hunt and kill on our first full day right on the river in front of the camp (we were woken from our siesta by impala running past the tent in hot pursuit by a wild dog). The dogs remained in the area for a couple of days and we enjoyed a few encounters. Lions weren't really playing ball and we had to drive into Moremi to find a couple of big males that had been spotted one afternoon. We had a couple of good leopard sightings, plus plenty of visits to the communal hyena den to see the cubs. There was good bird life on the river brought in by the insects and reptiles the rains bring out and the Hippos were really entertaining to watch from the comfort of our tent.

The shared vehicle was a bit busy with 7 guest in it during a few drives, this did mean agreeing to do what other people wanted to do which got a little tedious at times with safari newcomers who didn't understand what the rains do to plains game wanting to find Zebra and Giraffe when there were wild dogs in the area but we had to go with the flow. I would consider booking a private vehicle if I ever return." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

7 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

PancDoc
Swansea

"Great camp, disappointing crowding of animals"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2019
"Again excellent site, accommodation, food and welcome. We especially enjoyed eating dinner outside with hot embers placed under our chairs for warmth!

The guide was good but limited as he was the only one in the vehicle (other sites had guide and tracker). This meant following the crowd at times.

Outside the camp was not a private franchise. This meant large numbers of vehicles at animal sightings: 9 vehicles around a leopard, 13 vehicles watching wild dogs. This meant that, despite a large number of animal sightings, we felt that the crowding was detrimental to the animals, and this detracted from our enjoyment of seeing the animals." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
London

"Loved Machaba Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2019
"Service was excellent and great welcome from Ponche , who was managing the camp while we were there.

Big thank you as well to the excellent guide Moreme who looked after us with such care and was truly dedicated to his task and extremely well informed.

The best camp of our trip and warmth of our welcome second to none." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mrs J
uk

"Machaba Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"We had an excellent stay at Machaba, our tent was large, very comfortable with a great outlook over the river where we saw plenty of wildlife.
All the staff at the camp were friendly and efficient and one day brunch was set up for us all out in the bush which was great, and one night we had a bush bbq , everyone had gone to such a lot of trouble to make both occasions very memorable.
The game drives were very good too, our guide BD provided us with plenty of sightings of all manner of wildlife including following wild dogs at speed when they were on the move, it was amazing how he sensed which direction they were going.
The only slightly negative point regarding this camp was the number of vehicles which would be around at some of the less common sightings, this was something that we did not encounter at Lagoon or Gomoti, but inspite of this we still had a great stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mrs J.
Basingstoke

"Very welcoming "

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2018
"Wonderful tents, food, wildlife and staff.

We really enjoyed every minute we were at the camp and we were paired with guests with similar Safari experience.

This is so important and will make or break a trip." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr N
Australia

"Plenty of Game"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"A comfortable & attractive camp. The game drives certainly delivered. Multiple leopard sightings on 3 days as well as lion, hyena, mongoose, giraffe, buffalo. Plenty of elephant & hippo right near the camp. The elephants even walked through the camp a couple of times. We were woken 1 afternoon by a female foraging outside our tent. Some good birding too. Our guide Kitso had a good sense of humour and so made for fun game drives. Other guides we encountered were also good. Keep in mind this is a public reserve and there can be as many as a dozen vehicles at a game sighting. The upside of so many guides is they communicate with each other so the chance of seeing hard to find game is increased. As well as the drives, relaxing mokoro trips are available. This is nice change of pace and a lovely way to enjoy the waterways of the Okavango Delta.

Meals were tasty and offered good variety. Good selection of South African wines on offer. The lounge & dining area was nicely fitted out. Service was generally good. Perhaps some of the elephant dung mulch that we saw at a previous camp could have been put over the dirt in the outdoor area to help settle the fine dust. Nice outlook over the river - mostly with elephants or hippo in view.

Tent decor was quite minimalist which we liked. Very comfortable bed. Also enjoyed a 1st rate massage. Note - massage is in your room. There isn't a spa. This wasn't spelt out when I booked and caused a minor confusion.

We did have some issues with the internet. As we had a little work to do online throughout our African holiday I had checked the internet situation at all accomodation before booking. I understood that Machaba had WiFi in the public area. This sounded like we would have no issues getting a short job done & then return to enjoying our holiday. The reality was a little different. The outdoor Wifi hot spot is away from the lounge, near to the camp office. No problem except that we discovered the connectivity was very poor. We really appreciate that the camp manager Richard went the extra mile to ensure we could deliver a job to a client. He allowed us to work in their office at a time when internet was performing better. So drama averted. The take away from this is, if you do need reliable internet, check exactly what is meant by Wifi. We understand Machaba is getting a new service soon which could change things completely.

We certainly enjoyed our 3 nights at Machaba Camp - especially the abundant game." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 32
92%
32 reviews of Machaba Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
5
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (52 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (33 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


90% (31 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (26 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (19 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (11 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


90% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


83% (6 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


97% (6 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


84% (5 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


100% (1 review)
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


80% (1 review)
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa