This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp
Chief's Camp

Reviews of Chief's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chief's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chief's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Luxury in the Delta"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2018
"My husband and I enjoyed an unforgettable stay at Sanctuary Chief's Camp. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a number of the staff singing a delightful song and taken around the main area of the camp, which is incredibly chic, with numerous areas to relax and soak up the views. Once finalized with the check-in process, we were shown to our magnificent bush pavilion, which oozed luxury! From the indoor and outdoor showers to the enormous porch, complete with loungers and a pool, to the extremely comfortable bed, we felt spoiled!

Our game drives with Chief, our aptly-named safari guide, were fantastic! Extremely knowledgeable, Chief was able to track down a number of animals allowing us to spot (among other game) lions (male and female), hippos, zebra, giraffes, elephants, hyena, wild African dogs (we felt incredibly lucky to come across a large pack!), and the elusive white rhino!

Back at the lodge, we enjoyed fantastic meals and superb service! The staff was beyond accommodating and incredibly warm and friendly; everyone addressed us by our names and went out of their way to ensure our comfort.

We would not hesitate to stay here again!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs U
Guildford

"Wildlife around every corner!"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2018
"Chiefs was amazing. The camp was of the highest quality in terms of everything you would need for a great wildlife experience.

Staff attentive without being overbearing, rooms and general areas of highest quality. Although this was undeniably the most luxurious camp we stayed at, it was the guides and the wildlife that set it apart. Our bucket list included the elusive Leopard and the very difficult to see (please be aware you're not very likely everyone warned) African Wild dog, Marian's absolute favourite. With our knowledgeable guide Rex, Christmas came in early and all our wishes came true. We saw dogs every day, in hunting and babysitting mode not at all bothered by our presence.

Think we spotted almost everything Chiefs Island had to offer, including a Serval hunting, except the Carmine Bee-eaters which had already moved on towards Chobe, but think we can forgive them for that. Game drives were relaxed as we stopped often to take in as much as this place could throw at us, very informative and jam packed with animals and birds.

Would thoroughly recommend and would return in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Germany

"Chief's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2018
"as described before but more than EXCELLENT.

Very friendly people (Management, Staff, Guide, Assistence, Helpers and even those always busy but unknown workers.)

[ Ed: This traveller's review of their whole trip is written under Camp Kalahari - it is:"We visited Camp Kalahari, Tau Pan Camp, Sable Alley, Chief´s Camp within 9 days during raining season. The trip as a whole was great and most impressive. Our Group consist of 3 men and 3 women from 56 to 80 years old. The air transport was excellent and even so the Chance to store additional luggage in Maun.

The sequence of different locations was a symbol for rising attraction, comfort, number and variety of animals. In Camp Kalahari we met a family of native bushmen (about 25 people, young and old) who introduced us for more than 2 hours into their way of life. Now we can make fire without matches and lighters, we can hunt with bow and arrow, we will find plants with water in their roots and so on. It was a fundamental experience and we are still deeply impressed.

Then we saw many Lions with their cubs, we saw many Leopards, Cheetahs and impressive big Elephants not only at the horizon but often in almost touching distance,

We will never forget excellent Food and Red wine and last but not least we remember the friendliness of all people. Before landing at home we started already collecting money for our next visit in Botswana.

Thanks a lot, it was a great time." ]" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
Canada

"Chief's Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2017
"Knowing what we did before arriving at Chief's camp we felt that we really didn't want it to be our favorite of the 4 camps on our trip but it probably was although it was a very close decision with Kwando Lagoon Camp. The camp itself is luxury in the middle of nowhere almost too luxurious to class as a "Safari Camp".

ALL staff at Chief's were excellent. Much more confident with their roles and client interaction than any other camp we have stayed at. Food was varied and excellent with regular check ups from the Chef & wait staff without being too crowding.

Our guide Carter was by far the best of the trip. We had a few wishes on our list and Carter delivered to a tee. His bush and animal knowledge is second to none.

We saw Hyena, Dogs, Zebra, Giraffes, Elephant, Baboons, Monkeys, Impala, Lechwe, & Warthogs, That was just in camp. On our drives we added all cats and both Black & White Rhino to the list. We wouldn't hesitate to include Chief's Camp on a return agenda." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Good game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2016
"For us, Chiefs Camp felt more like a corporate hotel than a safari camp! However this might be what some guests prefer.

The setting is beautiful and there is great game viewing. On our last day we saw leopard, cheetah and hyena all within 5 minutes! Our guide was very knowledgeable and keen to impart as much information as possible, not only about the animals and birds but also about the Okovango delta itself.

The food is good and the waiting staff are very keen to please. Dinner in the evening was always served at 8pm, and there wasn't a lot of ambience at the camp.

No information folder of any description in the rooms to explain the routines of the camp, the history, suggested gratuities, "drive" etiquette etc., and there was a TV permanently on in the main reception/sitting room. Lastly, it was difficult to establish who were the "management" at the camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms C
Ruislip

"Chiefs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"Our feedback to Chief's was that it has some very good things going for it but also some poor points.

The highlights were seeing a leopard very close to, the mokoro ride and the elephant rubbing up against the tent.

The low points were not being collected from our room for breakfast (the excuse being the guide didn't think we were awake), not being offered a cooked breakfast or tea or coffee, being delayed by another person who wanted to film the sunrise and no-one answering the radio when assistance was needed in relation to the elephant.

In hindsight we wondered whether our departure for the morning drive was being deliberately delayed to enable the woman employed by Amex to make a video of the safari in Botswana to finish her filming of the sunrise. If this is the case, it is a good example of poor customer service. Trouble is it tainted our view of not only the camp but also the guide." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
N family
Ohio

"exceeded expectations"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr &Mrs C
Ireland

"Great comfort and super game viewing."

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2009
"The hotel aspects of this camp were higher that either of the Wilderness camps. Food was more sophisticated. However, I felt the guiding was not as good.

The guide, whilst helpful, perhaps lacked the enthusiasm of the Wilderness guides. We appeared to be re-visiting a highlight time and time again. He was not forthcoming with information, yet when asked questions, one always got a reasonable response. I felt, perhaps, he was just a little lazy! The animal wild life in this camp was the most plentiful of any of the camps visited." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
93%
8 reviews of Chief's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa