This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa

Reviews of Xakanaxa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xakanaxa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"Our annual visit to Africa 4th leg"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2018
"Again staff were excellent along with food and accommodation. Game viewing not as good as at other lodges but still saw Honey Badgers, wild dog and white rhino. We were fortunate to see the pack of 22 wild dogs go on a hunt. We lost sight of them for about 4 minutes. In that time they brought down an Impala and had eaten it except for the last few bones by the time we caught up with them. One Impala obviously was not enough to feed a pack this large so as soon as they had finished they went off on another hunt..
A nice change was that our transfer to the next lodge was by boat instead of by plane. Quite fun dodging the hippos..
Now time to leave Botswana with temperatures in the high 20' to low 30's and get back to Heathrow where it was minus 1" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2015
"Sister camp to Moremi - 10 minutes drive. Situated on the banks of the lagoon with far reaching views of the savannah. Comfortable lodge. Same area used as Moremi for game drives and water trip. As with all D&DS camps, same friendly and welcoming attitude of staff. While there it was Mary's Birthday which I had previously mentioned to our guide and so at dinner a huge cake was presented with all the staff singing Happy Birthday - a real treat - much appreciated!

D&DS will be refurbishing some of the chalets and have mentioned 3 items for consideration -
1) the space between the chalets is on the small side and there are existing tall wooden side screens but they don' extend far enough; from your own veranda you can see the decks of your neighbours which is not the case of other camps so the screening needs to be extended.
2) The shower/washing/toilet area has very poor lighting (a small bank of LED's) which is badly positioned (above the entrance door) and totally obscured when the door is closed!
3) Also unlike other camps there is no tea making facility." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Alderley Edge

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2015
"Excellent birdwatching opportunities, none of big 5 seen.

Accommodation very comfortable and food good. On the last evening we were treated to a private table and had a musical introduction to the meal and a celebration cake. That was a lovely gesture.

We would have rated the camp average to good had it not been for the following:

Our guide Ken drove over a log on the path and it flew up and hit me on the forehead. It bled profusely and thanks to the advice of a fellow Italian guest ice was applied and after cleaning the wound with Betadine liquid the guide put a bandage on it. When we returned to the camp the management team had little idea of how to proceed. The wound had stopped bleeding and they applied some Betadine cream to some gauze which they assured me would prevent the dressing sticking and bandaged it again. The only plasters that were available were finger sized strips which were too small.

In the late afternoon we went back to remove the bandage. The gauze had stuck to the wound and in removing it it bled again. The Italian guest came to help and had a colloidal silver spray which he expertly used to stop the bleeding. Being concerned as it was a head injury we would have liked some medical advice from a trained person but the camp seemed unable/unwilling to provide this.

That evening Bruce contacted Expert Africa by email as we could not contact our insurers for lack of phone signal. Then the next day the camp management were in touch with a doctor who asked them to measure my blood pressure. They were unfamiliar with the equipment and only got a reading with the help of another of the Italian guests! The staff should be better trained in first aid and should have access to better resources." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
MillwoodNY

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Another fine lodge, and different which is of course why we are moving around.

Our guide Baams was particularly delightful. We learned about his work to overcome and invasive weed in the water. In these large, sparsely populated areas, the skill of the guide is paramount in your experience.

The "tent" is in fact quite comfortable. There are baboons wandering in the camp which is great fun." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Ontario

"Xakanaxa Camp-Arrived by Boat"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"We arrived from Kwara by water transfer, which was a unique experience. The setting was inviting and our room comfortable.

Our guide, Water, was an experienced hand. As we were in a Reserve, he had no tracker. On our first drive he heard an impala give a warning cry and followed that up by finding a lion in the grass. Amazing.

On a boating trip, we were with four very serious photographers. We found ourselves in the way. We don't think they expected joiners. We were also part of their group the following morning. We did cramp their style. I think allowances could be made. Our Guide did the best he could.

Other than that glitch, we did enjoy our experience at Xakanaxa Camp and left with fond memories." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Atlanta

"Xakanaxa Camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"We loved Xakanaxa although we could never properly pronounce it. The location is beautiful and the facilities are amazing. Lettie manages it all with a natural grace and style that made us feel right at home.

We loved the addition of water activities on top of the game drives, and particularly found the visit to the roosting spot of the herons and cormorants to be fascinating. Only the marabou storks were nesting since it was early in the year but it was still great to see all the birds flying in for the night.

Our guide Water was amazing. We came upon a group of trucks that had seen two lions go into the tall grass but hadn't seen them come out. While the other trucks were driving around to the other side of the grassy area Water turned off our truck and just listened. He heard the lions in the grass and backed up the truck and...there they were!! I never heard a thing." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Belgium

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2013
"great location and views. Excellent games drives and guide" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs N &Mr S
Australia

"Xakanaxa review"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2013
"There is one thing I would like to bring to your attention and to understand. There was a leopard sighting on our last day. At least 3 and possibly 4 vehicles arrived on the scene. I felt uncomfortable because at one point the animal was boxed in by vehicles on three sides with only one side open and I felt the animal was stressed. I would have thought that frightened and cornered animals are more likely to attack and I wondered what the official view would be on the situation I have described.

We were very happy with the way our driver handled a large aggressive male elephant blocking our path on the road back to Maun. When the animal came right up to our vehicle the driver turned off the engine. We waited in silence for a few minutes and when he turned it back on again the elephant showed signs of backing off slightly the driver then drove towards him and the elephant then turned around and ran off. Scarey but the driver seemed to know how to handle the situation." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs N &Mr S
Australia

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2013
"I loved the furniture and lighting (gas lamps and candles) which blended in with the natural surroundings.

The food was excellent and plentiful, staff friendly and I loved the communal dinner in the evenings with interesting conversation with people from all over the world.

We were also delighted with the amount of wildlife we encountered." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Virginia, USA

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2013
"Xakanaxa is lovely lodge with beautifully landscaped grounds located on a waterway in the Delta.

However, I felt the staff was not as friendly as in the other camps I stayed in. My first guide Ollie was not very informative. Luckily, I was put with another guide named Water on the second day, as the other four people I was with decided not to go out the next day on a game drive. The food was great.

All in all I would not return to this camp if I ever come back." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 31
90%
31 reviews of Xakanaxa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
11
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa