This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa

Reviews of Xakanaxa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xakanaxa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D
Maryland

"Xakanaxa Camp experience"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2013
"This experience was moderately good. Our guide was not at the same level as the guides we had in other locations. I was a bit disappointed that we did not get to see the same number and variety of animals that we saw in other places. However, we did see lions and a leopard, which we had not seen previously, so that was really wonderful. Our guide was not the one to locate these animals, but was able to take us to see them when other guides located them. We did quite a lot of driving with limited observation of much beyond elephants. He also did not every try to identify any of the birds we were seeing.

The camp itself was very luxurious. It was larger than any of the other places we stayed with more guests and staff. With that many people it was difficult to develop relationships. The camp staff might have been able to help by introducing the visitors to each other. In addition, I did not know what most of the staff did. We were not introduced to most of the them.

It was very exciting to see all the baboons that ranged the camp, including the one that came into our bathroom and played with and stole one of the towels. We also had other animals come through the camp including a hippo hiding in the bushes one evening. And we could hear the hippos and other animals during the night, which was very exciting.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr H
Wickham

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"This lodge was more upmarket than the other lodges I visited. Although the manager was very friendly and helpful I did not think the other staff were. It was a larger lodge than the others and my overall impression that it was not as friendly.

A criticism I have about all the game drives is that you are always with different people in the land cruiser - this occurs because some guests leave in the morning for their next camp and new people arrive in time for the afternoon drive. If in the morning you may have seen a pride of lions and there are new guests in the afternoon the the likelihood is that you will be taken back to see the lions again rather than being taken to see a different part of the reserve. It would be better if guests with exactly the same length of stay be kept together so that their experiences are the same and best use of time is made in seeing the maximum amount of the reserve." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Our third and final camp. Initial impressions were of a slightly more luxurious camp, with perhaps not the most varied animal experience on offer. The fact that the camp is in a reservation rather than a concession may influence this.

The food in Xakanaxa was the best we had experienced though. Fantastic.

Not so much big game on offer, but fantastic bird life, amphibians and some small mammals - and we saw the infamous pangolin. Very special." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
California

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2012
"Xakanaxa experience was a mixed bag. First of all, just getting us there was very disorganized. Then getting to the camp, it was further disorganized. They say they were never informed of my diet restrictions, but they did do a good job of making sure they I was able to have food that was not only appropiate, but also quite good. This is an independent camp, but seems to be putting programs together with Kwando Camps.

The manager is new, but is trying very hard to create a nice environment and friendly environment." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms A
Nashville

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2011
"This camp had the best food buy a long shot. The location on the river was beautiful and I loved the boat transfer. The sunsets were amazing here. Our tent was very comfortable and the "turbo" room fan was awesome.

The staff at this camp was our least favorite. EVERYONE seemed very tired and bored. We prefer upbeat and outgoing personalities and the staff here was the exact opposite. We did not care for our safari guide at all. My recommendation would obviously be for staff changes." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Seychelles; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chorley

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2011
"The camp was full, so we didn't get the opportunity to speak to the staff.

With being located in a National Park the game drives were restricted, so we were thankful that we had experienced camps located in the private concessions.

They were more organised than the other camps, which meant that we didn't really feel part of the camp. But it was a very good camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hampshire

"A high quslity camp in Moremi reserve"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2011
"Overall we enjoyed our stay in Xaxanaka where the facilies were to a high standard.We had an unfortunate start as our guide was not there to meet us at the airstrip. However, the Mackair pilot waited with us to ensure we were safe. The Manager Lettie was very apologetic, and went out of her way to make sure that everything was smooth from then on.

The rooms were excallant and the staff made us very comfortable. The food and the overall experience was good. There is a downside to being on a reserve as there are restrictions on viewing and we often saw a number of other vehicles. However all of the guides in the Moremi reserve shared their sightings, for the benefit of all. In Xaxanaka, the vehicles just have a guide and no tracker, so you are dependant on their skills and ability to do several things at once!

Our main guide was Olly, who was competant and did enable us to see a leopard. However we felt he relied on other guides' sightings a bit too much. One afternoon we went out with Water, which was a better experience with his obvious tracking skills." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
MW&JS
UK

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2011
"We loved the setting and atmosphere of Xakanaxa ,almost completely nestled among trees .The tents were very comfortable with wonderful new linen and soft duvets that kept out the cold and ample storage space and very nice veranda.
The communal areas and facilties were delightful and i think the best of all the camps we visited
Ollie our guide was knowledgeable once coaxed and certainly knew his birds.
Lettie the manager was welcoming and gracious and we enjoyed conversations with her round the fire about Botswana culture and tradition
Highlights included
-having the guide to ourselves the first day-we could really spend time on birds
-wild dog sightings on our first drive
-splashing through deep water in the amazing vehicles
-lions finishing off a kill
-the delta scenery is magical
-the incredibly amazing abundance of game and birds on one particular one morning drive
-sitting round the camp fire and hearing an elephant crash through the bush and pass quietly by as we held our breath
-the boat transfer to Kwara our next destination
-fleece lined ponchos to keep us warm
The range of activities is fewer in the reserve (no night drives /walks) but what we did see was great" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
Canada

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2011
"We really enjoyes our experience at Xakanaxa.

Tour guide, Baams went out of his way to provide us with a good game experience.

The food and service was very good." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
London

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2011
"For me this camp was too big and felt more like a hotel than a safari camp so the atmosphere was different somehow. My guide was not so good as at the other camps at pointing things out, and my second night I was late being collected for dinner because I had been forgotten. But staff were friendly and it was easy to make individual arrangements for example on my last morning I was able to fix up a boat trip, which was usually an afternoon activity.

The boat trip from Kwara Camp was a great way to arrive and the cabin was lovely - lit by candle light at night. There are two swimming pools here - one relativley big. There is also a very good shop! There was less game here but again I saw new varieties and cheetah for the first time.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 31
90%
31 reviews of Xakanaxa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
11
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa