This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S & Mr W from Dyfed

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My May 2014 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 25 May 2014 and 6 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful trip--even better than our first visit 2 years ago. Many thanks to Nick Hobbs for interpreting our needs and producing a superbly balanced itinerary.

CHITABE camp was truly exceptional and will live long in our memories.

We will start saving for our next trip."

Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"This was our first camp of the trip and we enjoyed it immensely. It is unique in our experience. This is not a camp for those who want to have maximum game viewings. However for small mammals and birds and the biggest navy blue sky with a million stars it is superb.

We stayed for 2 nights and felt that this length of stay was perfect. We went on all the game drives and also on the 'bushman' walk which was excellent. In summary a fabulous first stop and one we would thoroughly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"The location is wonderful--based on an island with lots of water based activities. We enjoyed the'speedboat' at 6.00am to get to the safari vehicles. The guides were excellent and the game viewings good.

The accommodation was good and well maintained.

Our only concern about this camp was that the food was moderate and often there was not enough of it. This is our second visit to Botswana and this was our 5th camp and we have never experienced this before."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"This camp is just FANTASTIC. Everything was perfect and it is the best camp of the 6 we had by this point visited over 2 trips.

Nothing was too much trouble and every staff member went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We hope to visit again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"A wonderful way to end our trip. A most relaxing and comfortable environment.

The visit to Victoria Falls was memorable and the day spent on the Zambezi was wonderful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My May 2012 trip

Botswana between 28 May 2012 and 7 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"The more we reflect on it, the better it was. We cannot speak highly enough of the trip and are busy saving for a return. Expert Africa has been great all through the process. Nick Hobbs has been patient and informative, and recommended an excellent first trip to us. We'll probably get better cameras for the next trip, and perhaps consider some different experiences - specific fishing or bird watching elements, and perhaps a trip to Livingstone. Obviously a very good model of trip has been developed, with early starts, some quite time in the afternoon, regular food and drink etc.

We enjoyed the people we met - both guests and Botswana people. A fantastic country.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If it was not so expensive, we would be going back sooner rather than later - but we appreciate the need for the costs to be as they are. Perhaps there is a loyalty scheme for returning customers?"

Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"A Wonderful Start"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"Excellent accommodation and good all round experience as a first stop in Botswana. Particularly enjoyed the bird and animal life there, which was all very accessible. Camp Manager, Charles, was our guide for one day, and he was particularly good.

Very much enjoyed the daily schedule of safari life - up early in the morning, regular good food and drinks, sometimes a quiet hour or two mid-day, and another trip out in late afternoon & evening.

We enjoyed the mix of company, both other guests and staff. We felt the safari experience was enhanced greatly by talking to local people about life in Botswana, and they seemed keen to hear about the UK too. Would advise visitors to enjoy absolutely everything on offer - not just big animals. Bird-life is fantastic, and at right time of year, no doubt insects, flowers and trees would be interesting too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2012
"Kwara offered a broader range of experience with a chance to fish, travel in mokoro, take a short walk etc. as well as to drive out mornings and afternoons/evenings. Accommodation is not as good as some other camps, but still perfectly adequate.

Our guide and spotter - Bait & Mopane were both very knowledgeable, patient and committed. Again, we enjoyed both bird and animal experiences enormously."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Our third and final camp. Initial impressions were of a slightly more luxurious camp, with perhaps not the most varied animal experience on offer. The fact that the camp is in a reservation rather than a concession may influence this.

The food in Xakanaxa was the best we had experienced though. Fantastic.

Not so much big game on offer, but fantastic bird life, amphibians and some small mammals - and we saw the infamous pangolin. Very special."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team