This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2020
"A lovely camp, surrounded by water offering both water activities and dry-land drives.

We went on mokoro and boat trips and several drives. Again the bird life was prolific and in breeding plumage. The mokoro guide and the boat guide made special effort to position the boats for photographs. The drives produced splendid wild dog sightings with three hunts- all non productive but the last resulting in the pack rough and tumbling like playful pet dogs for some ten minutes or so.

We also saw several groups of elephant bathing and playing in the water and a pride of lion whose cubs were also rough and tumbling for a quarter of an hour. The camp is beautifully situated and the staff all friendly and attentive" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

EvolvingPatient
UK

"Little Vumbura is hot!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2019
"Highly recommend Little Vumbura for great wildlife, guiding and general relaxation." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr D.
Libertyville

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"After all the dry landscapes at our previous three camps, this was a welcome change. The camp is set on an island, a 3-minute boat trip away. The setting and scenery at this camp was outstanding. It was an exhilarating experience driving thru water, sometimes with the water covering the floor of the jeep. The food and service were excellent. Rooms included a charging station (no Usb ports though) and wi-fi. My only complaint with our room was a lack of privacy from any of the other guests walking to their rooms.

One big surprise which we had not anticipated was the consequence of the camp being on an island. We could only leave the camp during daylight hours, so the early morning game drives started later than other camps, and we had to back at camp by sunset. Although we had sundowner drinks on offer, they were very hurried affairs on account of the time constraint.

The afternoon of our arrival we opted for the makoro trip as there was space available. Apparently due to the exceptional dry conditions this was the only camp offering makoro trips. They were usually fully booked due to guests coming in from other camps. A guide went ahead of our 3 canoes to ensure there were no hippos in the water. The makoro and a different boat trip are both scheduled at the same time as the evening game drive. Not sure why they cannot offer these earlier and still have an afternoon game drive.

We did experience a number of issues at this camp. No water bottle was provided until we asked for them. On the makoro trip, we stopped at an island for sundowner drinks. Despite being asked for our choice, it was not available for both us and another guest. Our afternoon game drive the second day was adversely impacted by having to pick up new arrivals coming from the airstrip in another vehicle. In addition to the detour, the guide spent a considerable amount of time repeating his talk while stopped. Had this been explained to us, we might have opted for the boat trip instead. Although this was understandable, we expected a similar game drive for our last morning with a drop-off at the airstrip. However, this was not offered to us and they still woke us at 6am! We (and another guest) were not informed of our options for a late morning breakfast.

During our whole stay, not once were we escorted to our room and back after dark. Admittedly we were close to the main lodge in the nearest room. There was little overall camaraderie at this camp. Only on one night did we have one communal dinner table. Otherwise the different parties were seated at separate tables for breakfast and dinner. Inexplicably the only jeep without a roof is assigned to airstrip pickups and returns at the hottest time of the day for the 45-minute plus journey." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Being the northernmost of the camps we visited in the Okavango Delta, and situated on a real island, this had the most water.

It was beautiful in every way." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs R.
London

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2019
"All the camps, not just Little Vumbura, need to provide a way of communicating between the rooms/ tents and the main camp; My wife was stuck in her room for about four hours because the staff forgot to go and collect her and she had no way of getting in touch with them to remind them to come and collect her. (There was a lion about.) Someone else was stuck for about six hours! There is also no way of telling people not to leave their rooms. What is to be done if there is a lion on the path? Presumably no one can walk down to the rooms to give a warning.

Similarly all the camps should improve the quality of their wine. I suspect it is more a question of choosing better, rather than needing to spend much or any more.

We had a wonderful time. Excellent guide. Two splendid boat trips. Radios only had limited, quiet, use. (See comments on radios below.) Great food and service." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
New York

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"This camp has a wonderful and different type of location being set on a tiny island accessible only by small boats. It is a very small and friendly camp and we found the staff to be extremely warm, friendly and capable. We particularly enjoyed on Botswana Independence Day the celebration and special meal the whole staff participated in and through it gave us more insight and connection with the country.
The rooms and facilities were very comfortable and relaxing. Perhaps in comparison to our other camp at Sable Alley the rooms were not as stylishly designed but still were of a very good standard.
As a small camp (6 tents) it has a preference for community eating at a long table. This might be worth mentioning in the camp's description so people know what to expect.
The variety of wildlife here was spectacular. Maybe not in great quantity because of the amount of water around the area but the quality was exceptional. The guide we were assigned was very good and had incredible tracking abilities. We will never forget how he managed to finally find a leopard that he spent over and hour trying to track and we still couldn't see it even when he had pointed it out in the distance to us!
The water location also gives Little Vumbura the ability to offer some variety to the daily schedule. instead of just going out on safari drives twice a day we enjoyed going out for one afternoon on a Mokoro and on another taking a small boat further into the Okavango Delta. For this reason Little Vumbua was a perfect second camp since it had such a different feel and location to Sable Alley." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs MW
W London

"Perfect start at Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"As an introduction to the Delta, this was a brilliant camp.

We saw wild dogs, cheetah and cubs, leopard, lionesses and cubs all within 2 days along with an abundance of game and birds. We had a great mix of water and land activities.

Camp is comfortable and relaxed.

Very good guide, easy to be with, knowledgeable and adaptable." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

B & H
Uckfield

"The best camp overall in 11-day safari "

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"A very well designed and run camp throughout with a separate dining area, bar and lounge area; also a fire-pit on a raised platform of sand in a raised decking extending out into the reeds. Very well designed and comfortable accommodation with continuous hot water and battery charging-point in the room.
Everything was kept really tidy and the service from the staff was exceptional - remembering our names and providing really good and friendly service during our 3-day stay.
The land-cruisers were open-topped which we were initially concerned about because we try to avoid the sun but all turned out well (apparently the tops are put on during the hottest months). We even enjoyed the mokoro trip through the rushes and the boat ride although these took place during the late-afternoon when it was less hot and included a sundowner as well.
Our guide (Emang) was very efficient and gave us a lot of information during our drives where we saw a very varied selection of animals including Cheetah, Leopard, Lion and Elephants (crossing the water in a group) as well as Lechwe in good numbers and a herd of Buffalo in number about 400.
Little Vumbura provided a memorable ending to our 11-day safari." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"This camp was the star of our previous trip and it didn't disappoint on this repeat visit - would go there again" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr B & Ms O
IOW

"wonderful watery location at LIttle Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Little Vumbura is a beautiful camp right in the heart of the delta and surrounded by water, so it has a very special ambiance being on an island. The rooms are delightful and very comfortable. It was extremely cold at night and in the mornings when we were there (June) so the little touches like hot water bottles were appreciated. On one particularly cold morning they even gave us hot water bottles for our laps on the game drive!

The water levels were quite high when we visited which meant that the bridges and tracks were under water, often by up to 3 foot. I had no idea that jeeps could still operate in water that deep, so it was quite an experience moving around on the game drives. Because of the water levels it did take some time to get around with very bumpy rides at times. We had a great guide in Lettie who was lovely company and very knowledgeable. We had some of our most memorable wildlife experiences at this camp because we spent time with the animals rather than racing on to the next "sighting". We stayed for a long time with a beautiful elephant herd where one of the youngsters came right up to the jeep and checked us out with her trunk and another morning tracking a lioness the guides were concerned about who was seen with blood on her legs who had become separated from her cubs, so you felt involved with the lives of the animals. We learnt a lot from Lettie about how the guides track the animals which was very interesting.

The food at Little Vumbura was excellent, very tasty with several choices.

We had a very enjoyable mokoro trip, very peaceful floating amongst the water lilies, sighting tiny frogs.

We had a very memorable time here and would love to return to this beautiful well run intimate camp. Don't underestimate how cold it can get if you visit in winter. I wish I had brought gloves, a woolly hat and warmer jacket." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa