This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

138 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

74% success

Cheetah

28% success

Wild dog

54% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

96% success

Hippo

93% success

Wildebeest

74% success

Buffalo

73% success

Sable antelope

70% success

Spotted Hyena

21% success

Sitatunga

9% success

Pangolin

4% success

Roan antelope

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 138
Duration
Arrival date
LB
Toronto

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2023
"Beautiful setting and accommodation, very friendly staff, had a very personal/family feel. Loved the island setting with the water transfer to the safari vehicle. Very personalized safari experience . . . sat for long period of time (as we wanted) observing an elephant family (amazing experience), able to follow 2 lionessess and cubs as they closed in on an antelope just to name a few of our incredible experiences.
Food was very good and sensible portions." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2023
"The extent of the water in the delta was less that previoiusly, this adversely affected the amount of game we experienced.

Despite this the game team were able to make our drives enjoyable and rewarding. We saw 3 "kills" in one day; dogs, lion and leopard!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Jan & Nina
Düsseldorf

"Magical"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"The camp is embedded into a small island which makes this a magical place.

From this location both wet and dry parts of the delta can be explored, which also means that any game drive in a dry part involves a 40 minutes transfer by boat and vehicle. We have been guided by an experienced professional guide who also offered short walks.

Staff is very kind and very helpful and puts an effort into making the stay an experience for you. Food and drinks are good, and there is a variety of dishes offered at every meal - breakfast even features Italian cappuccino! Tents are large and well equipped.

There is wifi in the tent but not in the communal areas." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

B & H
Uckfield

"A comfortable but slightly jaded camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2023
"We came here in 2018 but felt that it looked a bit jaded and the food and service overall was not quite as good. It had not been upgraded as far as we could see yet it's daily rate was nearly as much as that of Chitabe. Plus, they suggested tips of $20 per person for the guide, and for the general staff, which was the same as that suggested by Duma Tau and Chitabe, whereas Expert Africa are still suggesting $10 per person.

The 'Boma evening' (every Monday), where all the guests sat in a semi-circle, while the complete camp staff performed traditional dancing and singing, was very enjoyable; ending with a buffet-style dinner on a long table and under the stars.

We enjoyed the mokoru trip on the adjacent lagoon and the sundowner was held on an island where we all ended up in our mokoru's, Then a speedy return to the camp before the sun finally disappeared below the horizon.

The guide was good but there seemed to be a lot less to see than previously - subject to normal movement/migration, etc., of course. We did, however, see a very large herd of Buffalo (1500-2000) which seemed endless and look a long time to pass us by. We also saw a good herd (15-20) of Sable Antelope, several Lions, Elephant, Giraffe, Zebra, Waterbuck, 3 or 4 Ground Hornbill, and the proverbial 'Leopard in a tree'." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs A.
Henley

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2023
"This camp is on an island, which was a nice experience as each day you had a 5 minutes boat trip to land to start your game drives. The room was lovely and probably the best of our trip having lots of light and sitting area to watch the animals.

The food was excellent and a nice touch putting a selection of wine on a table so you could decide which one you wanted with your meal.

Was nice also having dinner on your own table rather than having to make conversation with other guests.

The trip on a Mokoro is worth while, it made a nice change to being in a safari truck, would recommend (fibre glass boat, not wood). Remember bug spray!

Saw lots of animals, but the guide even though was very knowledgeable, he was useless at spotting the animals, we spotted more than him!

Would recommend as the scenery was a different" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

G & C
Ann Arbor

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2023
"The Little Vumbura camp was amazing.

The chalet was huge with a variety of animals we could see right outside the veranda. The other buildings were also very nice, including the lovely open dining area with intimate tables for our party.

Benjamin, our tracker, and our guide were both very knowledgeable and helpful in finding different species for us to view. They kept track of the animals we had seen so they could focus on getting us to ones we hadn't seen yet. However, the guide was still a bit more focused on carnivores killing and eating, even after we asked them to spend more time looking for other species.

It was so thoughtful when the staff held a surprise celebration for my daughter's 13th birthday, singing and presenting our party with a vegan cake - delicious!

We also had a surprise lunch served on the veranda which was a charming and special treat. The food was also stylishly presented.

We enjoyed hearing about the five villages and their agreement to develop this camp, as well seeing a demonstration of basket weaving and other craft making. We were impressed by the concentration on animal preservation and eco sustainability.

There were no insects bothering us in this dry season in Botswana." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
London

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2022
"Great place and very friendly staff. Peter was an excellent guide, the best we had.
Loads of game also, including bird life in swamps when in canoes.

Saw all game except rhinos." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"Little Vumbura Camp is a very comfortable place to stay, the room was great and the setting was magnificent.

However we were less impressed with the game viewing as we did not see as many animals as we were expecting.

The boat trips were enjoyable but we had hoped that we would see animals by the waterside but the long grass makes this impossible." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Hereford

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2022
"The staff were very welcoming and attentive.

We were able to do different activities such as game drives and a boat trip. The guide, Sam, was very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about the Delta and its wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 138
96%
138 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
115
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (220 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (100 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (86 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (78 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (78 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (69 reviews)
Shinde Footsteps

Shinde Footsteps

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


96% (23 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


95% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery, Pom Pom offers idyllic mokoro trips in season, great birdwatching, and increasingly good big-game sightings, especially leopards.


95% (15 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (10 reviews)
Mma Dinare

Mma Dinare

Beautifully located in a private concession overlooking the Gomoti River, the traditional Mma Dinare is very well-priced for the Okavango Delta.


98% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


87% (6 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Rra Dinare

Rra Dinare

Located in a private concession in the southern reaches of the Okavango Delta, overlooking the Gomoti River, Rra Dinare is a traditional-style, well-priced camp.


90% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
4 Rivers

4 Rivers

4 Rivers is a new camp in a previously in accessible area of the excellent Kwara concession.


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Duke’s Camp

Duke’s Camp

On a remote island within a vast private concession, the eclectic Duke’s Camp is nestled among mature trees overlooking wildlife-rich plains of the Okavango.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp

Kiri Camp is the latest Okavango offering from the excellent team behind Machaba. In an exciting new location in the heart of the Delta we cannot wait to visit this new camp.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Karangoma

Karangoma

New for 2024, Karangoma is a classic, tented camp offering walking, canoeing and game drives, in partnership with the local Bukakwe San clan.


No reviews yet
Atzaro Okavango

Atzaro Okavango

With a high level of tasteful luxury promised at Atzaro, we think it will be best suited to travellers seeking a touch of pampering alongside their safari.


No reviews yet
Mokolwane

Mokolwane

Deep in the heart of the Okavango, Mokolwane promises adventure in a largely untouched area.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
North Island Okavango

North Island

Deep in quintessentially 'Okavango' territory, between deep-water and dry-land habitats, promises to be a great combination from a team who know all about the best in the Okavango.


No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Tucked away in a pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, the exclusive Sitatunga Private Island is a water-based camp offering boating, mokoro trips and fishing.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa