This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

32% success

Wild dog

53% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Buffalo

71% success

Sable antelope

61% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2022
"Great place and very friendly staff. Peter was an excellent guide, the best we had.
Loads of game also, including bird life in swamps when in canoes.

Saw all game except rhinos." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
London

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"Little Vumbura Camp is a very comfortable place to stay, the room was great and the setting was magnificent.

However we were less impressed with the game viewing as we did not see as many animals as we were expecting.

The boat trips were enjoyable but we had hoped that we would see animals by the waterside but the long grass makes this impossible." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Hereford

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2022
"The staff were very welcoming and attentive.

We were able to do different activities such as game drives and a boat trip. The guide, Sam, was very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about the Delta and its wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"This camp has changed visibly since our previous visit. Many trees have fallen across the camp and it has lost some of its feeling of intimacy.

That said, it has some very loyal staff who have remained for many years and we were well looked after by them. Not a camp known for its game drives, but our guide Sam worked tirelessly to find sightings of interest.

On one day we stayed out all day and followed a Lion pursuing a Lioness who clearly did not want anything to do with him! Poor girl was hungry and just wanted to be free to hunt. On another occasion we saw a male Lion dragging a full sized Buffalo which he and his brother had brought down a short while before.

The mokoro trip on the water was a little bit underwhelming and we suggest that the polers are given a bit more guidance on how to present life in the delta to their visitors." See all these reviews: 19n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"Our favourite camp of those visited. Great location, great game viewings and a lovely room on a quiet camp.

Guiding was excellent and the staff were welcoming and very capable.

A really good atmosphere, with the added bonus of water activities, especially mokoros." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

R&H
Guildford

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2022
"We had a great time here. Hippos munch in the river just outside the tent, and antelope roam immediately outside.

It was colder than we had expected.
We appreciated the hot water bottles on early morning drives, and at bedtime.

Staff very attentive and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr B
Canada

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2022
"The camp is on a small island reached by boat. The rooms were a good size and well designed. If you opt for the family room, it is really meant for couples with small children the second room has no privacy at all.

The balcony area of the rooms overlook a small lake and you can relax and watch the birds/hippos/elephants. Very attractive communal area, lounge with plenty of seating, an elevated library area, a fire pit seating area over water and a good curio shop. The swimming pool area is off to one side.

Food very good using local herbs and spices and introduced each day by the chefs.

Our guide Sam was a good spotter and we saw a good variety of game. Excellent birding with large number of species seen including: kingfishers, barbets, several species of eagle, woodpeckers, herons and water birds" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2022
"We returned to Little Vumbura this year and were more than rewarded. In fact if it could have been better than last time it would have been. Often returning is a disappointment, but not in this case. Best described as an island of dreams, which of course it is, for Africa lovers. The staff were fantastic and special "thank you" to them for the surprise in our room on return from our drive on our 45th wedding anniversary with the display and bottle of bubbly.

Our wooden apartment was on stilts with canvas walls and all modcons. The shower was 5 star. The structure was secured with wires. We knew that Hippos often graze underneath at night. One night the grazing was very loud and then the apartment gave jump. Odd I thought, and then there was a deep low rumble, from an elephant, which translated meant "Oh F@@k". Next morning we noted a broken wire and met the offending elephant on the way to breakfast.

Little Vumbura delivered a mega experience again with a bucket load of wildlife." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2021
"Little Vumbura will always be memorable as the place where we first saw a leopard in the wild. Our guide, “Gee”, was alerted to his presence by the distress calls of vervet monkeys. That was our first morning game drive and we went on to see lions, wild dogs, giraffe (including a youngster who had not yet lost its umbilical cord) and so much more. Peter and Gee had a successful evening fishing for tiger fish (they have very long teeth and are too bony to be good eating so it was catch-and-release only.)

The camp is on an island so we heard many hippos overnight along with lions and many birds. The night sounds of Africa are beautiful. Also, you start and end every game drive with a boat trip.

Be alert walking to your accommodations. One night our walkway was blocked by a Kudu, another morning there were elephant tracks when we returned from breakfast that weren't there when we went to breakfast." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 132
96%
132 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
110
19
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (208 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (99 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (76 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (67 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (63 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (36 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


93% (35 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (12 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
4 Rivers
No reviews yet
Sitatunga Private Island Camp

Sitatunga Island Camp

Sitatunga Private Island: in this pristine corner of the Okavango Delta, even the name is evocative.


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa