This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Dartmouth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Zam Zim and RSA 2019

Zambia and 2 other countries between 25 Aug 2019 and 12 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Good
"Overall we enjoyed our holiday, especially the "off piste" section we organised in the Cape before returning via JNB.

Less game and far less variety than we expected. Dissappointed to find night drives not allowed in Zimbabwe. Expert Africa should provide more details of the flight operators for the bush flights and there needs to be tighter communication when informing guests and checking their documents and itineraries."

Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"A charming, slightly rustic bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Offers game drives, walking and river safaris. However, because of our age and fitness we resrtricted our involvement to game drives. The game drives were restricted to a loop in the river because of fires to the south which depopulated areas beyond this. Game drives were therefore a little repetitive, although on the positive side the camp had a monopoly within this area which meant no other vehicles intruded. On the whole we saw some large herds of elephant but a limited variety of game. Some new birds to see.The staff were friendly and efficient."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"An island of bush in the grassy plains."

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"Long drives were required over the extensive plains to see game. No walking safaris were available, but balloon trips possible is somewhat expensive. dissappointing not to see Cheeta or Sable antelope. Some areas were troubled by Tsetse flies! Wonderful viewing on the Papyrus marshes but this was some way from the camp. The game viewing over the grassy plains were seriously reduced by prolonged drought."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

"A very new, large camp for the luxury market"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"This large camp is strung along a long section of the Zambezi. We were l.ucky to fin it early and missed the large number of guests possible in the 12 huts and 2 large luxury communal lodges. Probably more luxurious that we would prefer (wine cellar, piozza oven adn several bars and lounge areas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA

"Comfortable overnight accommodation"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"A secure and pleasant garden area in an industrial part of the city close to the airport. Facilioties adequate but food options limited."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

First trip to Zambia

Zambia between 22 Aug 2018 and 3 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our 3rd trip with Expert Africa and as with the trips to Tanzania and Botswana the organisation was faultless and the advice on timing and choice of camp excellent."

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"Pleasantly surprised to find that access to the NP was as easy as if the camp were inside the park.

Knowing this might have altered the number of nights we chose here. Camp was very comfortable and the staff pleasant and helpful. Well sighted with excellent accommodation.

Relief to find that excellent mosquito nets were everywhere in our Zambia trip.

nteresting for us to see new sub-species of Zebra and Giraffe."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Better sited and more game that anything else in South Luangwa NP ( including comments from other tourists we met).

The best guides in the trip so far!

Saw lions from all 3 prides in the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Best sited camp in whole trip. Most comfortable and loads of game in the camp.

In one hour we saw a troop of baboons, a small herd of elephant, bush buck, water buck, impala, warthogs and hippo from our verandha!

Most enjoyable canoe trip. Not at all strenuous and very relaxing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Almost like a traditional bush camp but with comfort.

Very few visitors from other camps seen on drives.

Our first experience with a walking safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

We experienced far more than expected.

Tanzania and 1 other country between 28 Aug 2014 and 7 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything organised by Expert Africa went smoothly but for the chaos of Arusha airport! The internal flights were "unpredicatable" in timing and carrier. Some had unexpected stops to pick up other passengers. This did not matter too much.

Unfortunately the flight from Seronera to kilamanjaro entailed a change of planes in Arusha. Our voucher did not tell us this, nor mentioned the carrier and no one seemed to know when the onward flight was expected to leave. As usual in Africa, all worked out well but worrying time wondering if we and our luggage would be reunited and arrive in Kilamanjaro on the same flight!

Nairobi airport is a disaster and I would suggest you warn future clients (even people like us who fixed this aspect of their travel themselves) to avoid Nairobi."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"We only went there to sleep for a few hours"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"Very close to the airport, even with the appalling traffic in Nairobi we had only 15 mins to travel. reassuringly secure and adequate facilities for our limited needs."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Basic but good value and excellent position"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"We were told that it was basic and indeed it was. However, we found the staff helpful and efficient, the location was superb and overall we found it excellent value for money."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Olakira

Olakira

"Excellent"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"The game drives were fasntastic and we saw far more than our expectations, especially crossings of the Mara river and cat life."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Less exciting than Olikira"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"We arrived after a deluge had swamped the camp and understandably staff were a little down-hearted and dis-spirited. They soon picked up with Angel's leadership and overall we were happy with our stay there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

A great time to visit Botswana

Botswana between 17 Oct 2010 and 27 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had no previous experience of Botswana and Expert Africa spent considerable time advising us on a suitable selection and variety of camps. We were delighted with the variation of experience in the dry area around Chitabe, the delta at Kwetsani and the Linyanti swamps at Dumatau.

Before our trip we poorly understood that rains in Botswana were out of sync with the floods coming from Angola several months later.

The dry season was a great time to see the game, concentrated around the remaining floods in the delta and in Linyanti swamps.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Everything was superb and we will recommend Botswana and Expert Africa to all or friends. We plan to return next year."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Safari Club SA

"First experience in Botswana"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"We had no previous experience of Botswana and Expert Africa spent considerable time advising us on a suitable selection and variety of camps. We were delighted with the variation of experience in the dry area around Chitabe, the delta at Kwetsani and the Linyanti swamps at Dumatau."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Marvellous game at Chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"A relaxed, small and friendly camp with excellent game.

We saw 8 leopard incl cubs, on the ground and in the trees with their kill, 8 lion incl cubs, a cheatah and loads of elephant, kudu etc and a llarge herd of Buffalo"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

"Early concerns unfounded at Kwetsani"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"The drive from the airstrip at Jao to Kwetsani camp suggested a dry and game-free experience. Very different from the reality once we got to the delta.

Fantastic boating experience to see birds in their profusion and early each morning on our way to the game drivers on Handa Island. What a way to wake up!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau Camp

"Amazing tracker ar Dumatau"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"Dissapointing that the lion pride has been decimated in recent years (only 3 left) but the amazing tracking by our guide found leopards and wild dogs galore. Fantastic offroad dashes through the bush in pursuit of both leopards and following the dogs on their hunts.

Troublesome elphants in camp disrupted the water supply briefly but gave some great eye-to-eye encounters!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team