This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp

Reviews of Busanga Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Busanga Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Busanga Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"An island of bush in the grassy plains."

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"Long drives were required over the extensive plains to see game. No walking safaris were available, but balloon trips possible is somewhat expensive. dissappointing not to see Cheeta or Sable antelope. Some areas were troubled by Tsetse flies! Wonderful viewing on the Papyrus marshes but this was some way from the camp. The game viewing over the grassy plains were seriously reduced by prolonged drought." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2019
"Staff were very helpful and the food was the best we had on the holiday" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in Mozambique; 1n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Camp was in a beautiful setting looking out across the Busanga plains.

Staff were very attentive and friendly. Food was extremely good and plentiful. The kitchen was very obliging when small requests were made.

Our guide Aaron was very good. The balloon trip was fantastic." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

7 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs G
Leics

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"This is another small camp but with a few more amenities i.e. running hot water and electricity. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and we felt very spoilt on the day we had the camp to ourselves. The meals were very good and the little extra touches, such as different places to eat the evening meal, were much appreciated - particularly enjoyed the last night on the viewing platform which really felt out in the bush. We also liked the hot water bottles in the blankets on the morning game drives.

The camp's location looking over the plain was excellent with large herds of lechwe and puku always present - and even 2 roan antelope one day- and there was a lovely pair of bushbuck under the tree by our tent (a tree which attracted a suprisinging variety of birds during the day).

We saw plenty of lion including one group with cubs and saw another pride firmly planted under the other vehicle from our camp appreciating a bit of shade. On our last morning four lion had taken up residence near the camps fire-pit and when disturbed by the staff getting breakfast ready slowly moved across the plain in front of our tent at about 6am - all observed from the comfort of our bed!

There were three of us travelling together and we had a vehicle and guide to ourselves for the 3 days including the transfer up from Musekese. The transfer was the only time the tetse flies were really troublesome - you just had to drive faster than they flew. At Busanga they were not a serious problem except by the airfield in the daytime.

I had arranged this trip to try and see some of the large antelope and was delighted to see 2 large herds of roan and one of sable - both seen in the evening when the light was great. The eland will have to wait for the next trip.

The balloon ride with Eric was a real highlight of the whole trip. The animals are very well habituated to the balloon now allowing some amazing low level game viewing and ascending up over the trees shows what a huge area the Busanga Plains is - quite hard to imagine it covered with water. It was beautiful to see the lechwe emerging through the low lying mist back lit by the rising sun and then fly over a hyena protecting a kill from a flock of vultures.

This is a very different area to any other we have visited on our trips to Zambia and made a real contrast to our other camp in Kafue (Musekese). The activities are mainly game drives and often require travelling some distance to see the more interesting game but there are plenty of species to see (elephant, buffalo, wildebeest, zebra, hartebeest, oribi, honey badger and lots of different birds including Fuelleborn's and rosy-throated longclaws.)" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Cornwall

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"Welcomed by masses of tsetse flies on the airstrip but once away from there the tsetse were not too much of an issue. The camp was in a great setting and the tents were spot on. As the only guests for 2 of our 3 nights (and they had been empty for the preceding 4 nights) we were a little overwhelmed by the attention at times but the staff were unfailingly friendly and the service was excellent with thoughtful touches and excellent food. Having had reservations regarding the balloon trip, we are now converts to what was a magical experience which enabled us to see cheetah both from the air and then by vehicle. Good bird sightings." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Great Camp but emphasis not on guiding"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Difficult to rate the camp. It was much too "corporate" for our tastes.

The camp itself was excellent and could not be faulted, with excellent accommodation and food and very friendly and attentive staff. The only downside, as far as we are concerned, is that you eat separately rather than together and we enjoy the social aspect - however, we did meet some German guests there who said they preferred to eat alone.

The camp is the same size as Musekese but has 1 guide, compared with Musekese's 3 and the only option is rather tedious game drives. There are a lot of animals on the plains but not much variety and the guides main interest was to show us lions. (We did see, before the guide, a clawless otter and a monitor lizard devouring eggs from a nest it had dug up).

The balloon ride was excellent - much better than a flight I had over the Masai Mara many years ago - because it flew very low.

The ride to the airstrip, through a tsetse area was very unpleasant and it was difficult to get into the plane without being accompanied by a swarm of flies!" See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs P
Cheshire

"Great lodge"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"Superb location, very friendly staff, good food and facilities
Game drives were superb with a very knowledgeable guide
Balloon ride was special and was the icing on the cake!
Camp manager was very flexible and managed to change our onward flight enabling us to fit in another game drive" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms D
Ireland

"Beautiful Busanga Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2015
"A wonderful place to start a holiday in Zambia & disconnect from everything: it is truly beautiful and peaceful.

The standards of the rooms are excellent with the extremely comfortable beds! Food is delicious. Immaculate attention to details & excellent coffee brought to your room every morning. The Staff is lovely: Ondyne was most helpful in liaising with other people to successfully retrieve my lost luggage from Lusaka. Pyben is ideal in his role.

The game drive routes may seem a bit repetitive but we had excellent lions sightings (including an adorable cub) and a picture perfect leopard "hanging" in a tree! The hot air balloon trip was amazing with Erik, a very skilled and entertaining pilot ." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
Cumbria

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"A lovely camp on the plains. Unknown to us before we arrived, due to spending 3 nights there a free balloon safari was included. This was a wonderful way of seeing the animals and the plains.

Initially we were informed that no walking safaris were available. However the information stated otherwise and it was all sorted out very satisfactorily." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Victoria

"Excellent camp"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"Well organised camp and great staff. You would expect this for the price.

The included balloon flight was a do-not-miss activity" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 19
93%
19 reviews of Busanga Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

Musekese is a small owner run tented camp, offering great guiding and a high degree of personal service in a stunning wilderness area, with modest game.


96% (28 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (7 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa