This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp
Busanga Bushcamp

Reviews of Busanga Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Busanga Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Busanga Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Enjoyable stay"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Busanga Bush Camp is a small, friendly and well managed camp, with excellent guiding from Isaac.

There is certainly good game viewing on the Busanga Plains, but it is more widely spread than in some other reserves. We very much enjoyed our stay, but would probably not recommend BBC for a first time safari.

The helicopter transfer in was fun. We didn't know that, when staying for three nights or more, a complimentary balloon ride is included. Too bad we couldn't go because of the wind, but it would have been a selling point." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Leicester

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"Great staff who were consistently helpful and cheerful. Super food produced from their 'fire-pit'cooker." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2011
"Absolutely loved this camp and wished we could stay for a few more days. Our tent looked out onto a wide open plain covered with antelope. Saw two amazing large male lions on our last morning strolling out of the mist. A lovely sight.

This was the end of our one week Kafue Rivers and Plains tour with Brent Harris as our guide. It was a great trip and I highly recommend it, especially if Brent is the guide." See all these reviews: 22n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lancs

"Kapinga Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"Itinerary changed and we stayed at Busanga. We were very happy with all aspects of our stay here.

We had a problem with tsetse flies on our journey here. In fact, they were a problem on lots of drives out from Lufupa though not at Lufupa Camp. we will complete this page as though is was Busanga." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Dorset

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"With the best will in the world Solomon tried to find us game but there really was very little about. The drives were arduous (long and bumpy) with little result. Again tsetses were an issue.

Solomon was great, as was Mwanga (spelling?), and the chefs. All were welcoming to a fault and exceedingly good company.
The setting was great, looking out over the plain, just rather empty!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Busanga Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"Another beautifully sited camp also expertly run. The rooms were lovely and the staff fantastic. The food was again superb. Laura and JD made us feel very welcome by greeting us as we crossed in boats with drinks and food. Nothing was too much trouble when I was a bit unwell one night.

My husband's supper was bought to our room and we were looked after very well. The next morning we stayed in camp and enjoyed the raised deck and our own deck for watching animals on the plains.

The guided trips were lovely and the sight of hundreds of open beaked storks gathering on one of the 'islands' before taking off and turning the sky black as the sun went down is something we will always remember." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DP
NW London

"busanga bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2007
"Again very good staff and a very interesting location. We were lucky to be sharing the camp with 4 charming Germans and greatly enjoyed their company. There could however have been a problem if they had not been equally flexible as there was only one vehicle and guide for the 8 of us.

Tetse flies were also a big problem here forcing the game drives to keep away from the areas adjacent to the tree line. Supplies were also an issue here with no insect repellent available. The lions and cheetahs were the stars here and we enjoyed our stay, We were impressed by the standard of the cooking onthe basic facilities." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Nick & Kate
London

"enjoybale safari, good camp, some issues"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"The camp itself was very nice, good accommodation, good food, reasonably nice wine. The relief management team was in, and they were ok, but not great. Gogo was charming and friendly, but somewhat too laid back. Petrus was far too full of himself.
Mike was a competent, but by no means outstanding, guide. He was extremely nice.

The scenery in the park was beautiful, but the game not plentiful. Nonetheless, we saw good lion, a couple of resting cheetah, servals at night, side-striped jackal, large buffalo herd, loads of antelope, including a big herd of Roan that let us get right in the middle of them, and just missed the wild dogs coming through.

The diversity was slightly disappointing - no elephant, hyena, zebra. One weakness at this camp was that they had only one vehicle, and as many as 8 guests in it at any one time.

Our stay was badly marred at the end by one of the staff stealing some valuable rings we had left in the room on checking out. The follow up to this by Wilderness was lacking in urgency and proper attention." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Carmine bee-eater
UK

"Excellent."

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"It was smaller than Lufupa so there was more of a restricted feeling around the camp. We felt that the bedroom area in the tent was small and the mosquito net made it feel quite confined. However I did love the open shower and the fact that the lions walked through the camp at night.

I wasn't sure why Busanga was so much more expensive than Lufupa and thought that perhaps a similar graded camp to Lufupa could be available on the plains. We had been persuaded to try the plains and were so pleased we had done but it was considerably more expensive and this might deter others.

It did feel much more in the wild than Lufupa, and the view from the camp was breathtaking.

Again the manager - Petrus was an amazing host and the guide, Mike was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had an amazing last night dinner right on the plains which was so spectacular." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-19 of 19
93%
19 reviews of Busanga Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

Musekese is a small owner run tented camp, offering great guiding and a high degree of personal service in a stunning wilderness area, with modest game.


96% (27 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (7 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa