This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp

Reviews of Musekese Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Musekese Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Musekese Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

95% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

63% success

Sable antelope

40% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Buffalo

20% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Sitatunga

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Musekese guests only!"

5 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2022
"The whole of Musekese camp overlooks a lagoon off the Kafue river. At the end of the dry season when we visited there were just a few puddles though there was plenty of wildlife action particularly birds, antelopes and elephants. Unlike many arrivals we drove there from our previous camp KaingU with quite a substantial part of the journey in the national park. Again we transfer by boat across the river to get to the camp. The Kafue here is very wide and completely different in nature to further south, where it is much more rocky.

The room is large and a deck has a great outlook onto the lagoon area. Bushbuck patrol the grounds. Food was very good with dinner communal but lunch usually at separate tables. Owner Tyrone hosted a couple of meals and talked about Musekese's conservation efforts and the founding of an anti-poaching unit.

The game viewing here was more sparse than later in our trip at South Luangwa and Lower Zambezi but the big advantage at Musekese is that you don't see any vehicles from other camps.

Over our five-night stay our guide is James (the first!) who was excellent: extremely knowledgeable and didn't always have to be asked before supplying information. We see large families of elephants and a briefly a small pack of wild dogs. Lots of lions including a lioness hunting one of the many newly-born impala and two brothers, one of which had been rescued from a snare.

A big male leopard is seen more than once! The evening boat trip on the river didn't yield much and the morning walk was slightly curtailed because it was so hot! On the final morning drive we go to Kamasot, which is a vast open plain with long thatching reed grass: we see reedbucks, zebra, oribi, common duiker and finally hartebeest and sable. A great end to our stay here." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr B
Kent

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"The camp is located in a remote area overlooking a lovely lagoon which is full of various antelopes and birds. The atmosphere is relaxed and is neither too basic or upmarket.

The guiding was good and we saw a lot of lions and leopards plus a pack of wild dogs. The boat trip on Kafue river was very relaxing, we didn't see any other boats or people, just hippos and birds.

The food was good and healthy although I would have liked a bit more of it such as a dessert at lunch." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Musekese Camp faces a lagoon which is rich with Puku, Waterbuck and one resident Elephant. We were surprised that both the lagoon and the game drives did not yield either more wildlife diversity and density. However, the area is rich in bird diversity which we both enjoyed.

Our guide, James Duncan-Anderson who is a private guide and safari specialist (under contract to Musekese) was highly knowledgeable in every aspect of wildlife, birds, flora and fauna." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Mrs P
South Wales

"Stunning lagoonside camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2022
"Beautifully situated camp. Excellent food and facilities.

Superb guiding. Wonderful river trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
L&M Canada
Dunham, QC

"Musekese Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"A wonderful bushcamp, close to Eden, indeed!

It would be bliss just to sit quietly on the main deck and watch the spectacle of Nature. Safaris, of course, were the high point. Walking, driving and boating. My husband and I loved to end the day with a boat ride on the Kafue River and enjoy the sounds and smells, the sights of hippos and crocodiles and a furtive leopard on the shore.

Manny, our guide, was an endless source of information, story and humor. We got to share some time with owners, Phil and Tyrone, both passionate about the park ecosystem and its conservation and to visit the installations of the Anti Poaching Unit.

It was a great experience and we highly recommend Musekese Camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs K.
Bottmingen

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2021
"our comments "copy-paste" from all other lodges.

the tents here were bigger + more luxury.

[ Ed: the other lodge comments included: "we had again a lot of fun with the staff ... as in all other camps very friendly stuff and excellent food." ]" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr W.
Brussels

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2021
"simply put: out of five stars, they have six.

everything is excellent: the guides, the staff, the food, the location, the rooms, the area. This is one of the three best camps I have been to in Africa.

We saw cheetahs!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Chris
sint genesius r

"Musekese Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2021
"The camp is fantastic.

Great tent. Great location. Intimate. Passionate owners. Great guiding.

Not much to add that we would return without hesitation." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2020
"Musekese was absolutely stunning ! Both with respect to people, accommodation, location and sightings. So glad, we decided to combine it with South Luangwa. The tented chalets are brand new and combine well luxury with the traditional Out-of Africa fealing.
Phil is a great host and our guide Gilbert was one of the best guides we ever had: 6 leopards in only 3 days what could you ask more ! We spotted further a large pride of lions, puku, impala, bush pigs, Lichtenstein hartebeest, sable, kudu, duiker, Defassa waterbuck, scrub hare, mongoose, warthogs, zebra, baboons, hippo, crocs, velvet monkeys, monitor lizard, and came across a huge herd of elephants for sundowner.as well as bush babies, serval and genets at night, and birds of course 😊" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Doctors
Sheffield

"Musekese Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"If you want Wi-Fi this is not the place for you. Its remote and all the better for it.
Tightly run small set up with excellent guiding.
No frills but extremely functional and comfortable
The rains had started so the game was slightly thin and dispersed but every effort was made to find what was there. Some fantastic sightings including leopard kill.
Not sure I will forget the roar of Tripod the 3 3/4 legged lion outside our tent at night." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 36
96%
36 reviews of Musekese Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


98% (11 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


94% (10 reviews)
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


80% (3 reviews)
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


70% (2 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


100% (1 review)
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Opened in mid 2021, Chisa Busanga Camp is a beautifully designed, small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa