This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp

Reviews of Musekese Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Musekese Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Musekese Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

94% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

9% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

69% success

Roan antelope

36% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Wildebeest

31% success

Buffalo

23% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Sitatunga

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P
South Wales

"Stunning lagoonside camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2022
"Beautifully situated camp. Excellent food and facilities.

Superb guiding. Wonderful river trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
L&M Canada
Dunham, QC

"Musekese Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"A wonderful bushcamp, close to Eden, indeed!

It would be bliss just to sit quietly on the main deck and watch the spectacle of Nature. Safaris, of course, were the high point. Walking, driving and boating. My husband and I loved to end the day with a boat ride on the Kafue River and enjoy the sounds and smells, the sights of hippos and crocodiles and a furtive leopard on the shore.

Manny, our guide, was an endless source of information, story and humor. We got to share some time with owners, Phil and Tyrone, both passionate about the park ecosystem and its conservation and to visit the installations of the Anti Poaching Unit.

It was a great experience and we highly recommend Musekese Camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs K.
Bottmingen

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2021
"our comments "copy-paste" from all other lodges.

the tents here were bigger + more luxury.

[ Ed: the other lodge comments included: "we had again a lot of fun with the staff ... as in all other camps very friendly stuff and excellent food." ]" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr W.
Brussels

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2021
"simply put: out of five stars, they have six.

everything is excellent: the guides, the staff, the food, the location, the rooms, the area. This is one of the three best camps I have been to in Africa.

We saw cheetahs!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Chris
sint genesius r

"Musekese Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2021
"The camp is fantastic.

Great tent. Great location. Intimate. Passionate owners. Great guiding.

Not much to add that we would return without hesitation." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2020
"Musekese was absolutely stunning ! Both with respect to people, accommodation, location and sightings. So glad, we decided to combine it with South Luangwa. The tented chalets are brand new and combine well luxury with the traditional Out-of Africa fealing.
Phil is a great host and our guide Gilbert was one of the best guides we ever had: 6 leopards in only 3 days what could you ask more ! We spotted further a large pride of lions, puku, impala, bush pigs, Lichtenstein hartebeest, sable, kudu, duiker, Defassa waterbuck, scrub hare, mongoose, warthogs, zebra, baboons, hippo, crocs, velvet monkeys, monitor lizard, and came across a huge herd of elephants for sundowner.as well as bush babies, serval and genets at night, and birds of course 😊" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Doctors
Sheffield

"Musekese Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"If you want Wi-Fi this is not the place for you. Its remote and all the better for it.
Tightly run small set up with excellent guiding.
No frills but extremely functional and comfortable
The rains had started so the game was slightly thin and dispersed but every effort was made to find what was there. Some fantastic sightings including leopard kill.
Not sure I will forget the roar of Tripod the 3 3/4 legged lion outside our tent at night." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

NH
Rickmansworth

"Musekese Camp - Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2019
"Musekese Camp has been described as Eden and it is impossible to disagree. The location on the edge of a dambo close to the Kafue river is nothing short of stunning and it probably offers a higher density of animals than the other lodges that I encountered in the Kafue.

I was fortunate to be guided by Gareth for all of my activities bar one and he continued to guide me when I moved on to my next location Ntemwa Busanga Camp which is also operated by Jeffery & McKeith Safaris. Gareth was an exceptional guide, whose knowledge and enthusiasm was limitless. I was also guided by one of the owners, Phil Jeffery, for a great drive.

The flexibility offered by Musekese Camp is fantastic, simply there is no compromise, you can go out on a game drive, a bush walk, or on to the river. The vehicles and boats are superb as are the tents which have bucket showers but power is limited to lighting. Cameras are charged at a central location, so take a spare battery or two and it's not an issue. The food and hosting are of an extremely high standard.

The wildlife in the dambo is spectacular with a resident pride of lion and a high likelihood of leopard sightings. In one incredible drive we found ourselves watching a leopard climb a tree with a pride of lions about 100 metres away. The animals were generally relaxed and there were some fantastic photographic opportunities with the leopard in the tree gangling as on a leopard can. The lions were very photogenic and it was interesting to spend time with 'tripod' seeing how he has adapted to his injury.

The availability of water in the dambo ensures that there are plenty of birds, antelope and elephants present which in turn attracts the predators. Lions calling in the dambo at night close to the camp is an overriding memory.

The opportunity to explore the banks of the Kafue river should not be missed. I was fortunate to many wonderful bird species including fin-foots, kingfishers, daters, etc and crocodiles, hippos and elephants. Sunset over the river is very special.

Musekese Camp is very special and very popular. The conservation work that they undertake is really important and I encourage an guest to engage any of the team about the topic when they stay there. The passion is boundless. I would not hesitate to recommend Musekese Camp to anyone wishing to experience Kafue." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"A charming, slightly rustic bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Offers game drives, walking and river safaris. However, because of our age and fitness we resrtricted our involvement to game drives. The game drives were restricted to a loop in the river because of fires to the south which depopulated areas beyond this. Game drives were therefore a little repetitive, although on the positive side the camp had a monopoly within this area which meant no other vehicles intruded. On the whole we saw some large herds of elephant but a limited variety of game. Some new birds to see.The staff were friendly and efficient." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Superb location on the lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"Musekese is a place where conservation is paramount. Phil and Thyrone being the owners and safari guides are highly motivated.

We had the opportunity to enjoy walks, boat trips and drives with Thyrone." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 33
96%
33 reviews of Musekese Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (10 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


70% (2 reviews)
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


80% (2 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


100% (1 review)
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa