This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp

Reviews of Musekese Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Musekese Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Musekese Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

95% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

63% success

Sable antelope

40% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Buffalo

20% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Sitatunga

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-36 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
UK

"Musekese Camp - wonderful project"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"As ecologists, we loved the ethos of this place and the professionalism of Tyrone and Phil who are really creating a fantastic new camp in the Kafue park. They are passionate about conservation and Zambian wildlife, and it shows in the wildlife sympathetic manner in which they run the camp.

We had a superb time here, and saw some fantastic game. We loved the variety of drives, walks and river trips on offer. Having a mum & baby elephant literally outside our cabin on the last morning was a highlight....followed by seeing a sleeping leopard at about 20metres away from us on a walk was truly astonishing, and there are plenty of lions in the area too.

The food was really excellent - the best of all the camps we stayed at. It was healthy and interesting, without being excessive. What a shame we could only stay 2 nights....we would have loved to stay longer.

The cabins are new and well proportioned. They offer unrestricted views over a lush open area attractive to lots of game (puku, warthogs, elephant, cranes, etc.) in front providing lots of entertainment in down-time between activities. The lack of screens or lattice window guards (used by some) may be disconcerting to some light-sleepers but it doesn't take long to feel completely immersed in the bush. For now, at least, there were no sign of monkeys or other wildlife being interested in raiding cabins. The unrestricted reviews definitely add to the experience.

As Tyrone & Phil are considering the possibility of extending the season at Musekese, they acknowledge they would then need consider mosquito screens in addition to the night-time mosquito nets provided. When we were there, mosquitoes were no major issue, and Tyrone & Phil are also experimenting with tsetse traps. Based on our experience at Musekese versus other parts of Kafue, these seem to be having some apparent success. All things considered, not least Tyrone & Phil's enthusiasm and passion, we would return to this camp in an instant." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Cornwall

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2016
"Surprised at the rustic open sided ‘chalet’ accommodation, as the Expert Africa web site shows tents. However, we were reasonably comfortable, although on reflection we would have slept better in twin beds as the standard double was not ideal in the heat. The guiding by Phil and Alec was excellent - being on a private concession meant the benefit of no other vehicles but of course fewer eyes looking for game meant that perhaps we didn’t see as much as we had at other camps but what we did see was rewarding, particlularly the mother lion with 4 cubs in camp . River trips were refreshing in the afternoon heat and we were rewarded with lots of African Darters, Skimmers and a Finfoot!

We had fears regarding tsetse flies but fortunately the eradication programme meant numbers had been dramatically reduced. Transfer to Lusaka far too long by road, 6 hours (we were expecting 4 hours), certainly not the recommended transfer method." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Chiswick

"Musekese Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"See previous entry. [Ed: See below]" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Brilliant camp!"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"Description of the accommodation in the brochure and website is completely wrong and out of date. In addition, we met a number of people, during our trip, who had been to Musekese and all of them had seen lots of different game, rather than "not much more than antelope" mentioned on your website. We had several close encounters with lions when walking, saw them frequently around the camp, and were separated from our sundowners for over half an hour by a pride of lions.

There is more to do than at most other camps (driving, walking and the river) and because there are 3 guides to a maximum of 8 guests, you are guaranteed almost personal service - and you would never have to walk with more than 4 people.

The food was delicious and healthy - and not too much!

The guiding was excellent and Phil and Tyrone do everything to make your stay sensational. They were also very keen to hear and take on board feedback.We will definitely make a return trip - with no tsetses the stay would have been perfect!

Tsetse flies were present and just about bearable but the 5 hour transfer in an open vehicle to Busanga Bush Camp through a tsetse ridden forest was very unpleasant." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"This camp is in an excellent location with a wonderful outlook over an animal rich wetland (including lions and elephants). The proximity to the Kafue River and the opportunity to take daily game-viewing boat trip was a real plus as is the lack of other camps nearby which means that you get a real wilderness feeling. Phil and Tyrone were excellent guides who have detailed scientific knowledge as well as a great knowledge of the bush which we very much appreciated. They are charming, young and energetic and nothing was too much trouble.

They are very keen to give their guests a high quality experience and they achieve this very effectively. The game viewing was excellent including large numbers of lions and a herd of elephants crossing the Kafue River. It is also a very good place to walk. The food was very good as overseen by Jamie who was also very well informed about the bush and extremely helpful.

The only reason we have marked the rooms and facilities as good rather than excellent is that this is a comfortable camp rather than a luxurious one. Personally we prefer the former approach because it makes for a more authentic safari experience while still giving you plenty of comfort." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Horsmonden

"Musekese was great"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2016
"The location of the new Musekese would be difficult to beat, overlooking the drying lagoon. I could sit and watch hordes of antelope and birds, including wattled and crowned cranes, from the veranda of my room.

Lions come to visit on a regular basis and I had some of the best lion sightings in more than 25 years of visiting Africa. Tyrone and Phil run the place as only true enthusiasts could. The food and service was great.

I tried fishing, which was great, and even the final drive to Lusaka was made complete with a herd of Sable antelope - thanks Alec." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-36 of 36
96%
36 reviews of Musekese Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


98% (11 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


94% (10 reviews)
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


80% (3 reviews)
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


70% (2 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


100% (1 review)
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa