This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp
Musekese Camp

Reviews of Musekese Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Musekese Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Musekese Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

94% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

9% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

69% success

Roan antelope

36% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Wildebeest

31% success

Buffalo

23% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Sitatunga

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
Hampshire

"Not our favourite overall "

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"Our main disappointment with this camp was that we specifically chose it based on the reputations of Phil and Tyrone as guides, however, apart from at a meal on the our first night when Phil was present, both were away from camp the whole time and so we did not benefit from their expertise. Ephy, our guide, was pleasant enough but not of the high standard that we have experienced elsewhere.

It was only his 2nd season in Kafue and he had come from the South Luangwa and so was not native to the park and it wildlife. We did 2 walks and both were undertaken in the same area of burnt scrub which seemed to be completely bereft of any wildlife such that we trudged fruitlessly for several hours without the regular stops to look at small plants, tracks etc, which is what normally makes this activity so interesting. Even on our game drives we saw little big game (although antelopes in quantity) and although we knew in advance to expect less than in the Luangwa this was still a little disappointing. We did enjoy the boat cruise as an alternative activity on one afternoon.

The setting of the camp was beautiful and peaceful with great views of antelope and birds at all times. We liked the smallness of the camp and indeed on one night we were the only guests in camp, and all staff were friendly and helpful. The other downside was the tsetse flies! Within the camp itself these were not a problem, however, mid morning and early afternoon game drives were affected by these insects, especially whenever the vehicle stopped. The measures put in place by the camp were reportedly reducing the level of tsetse in the area compared to elsewhere but not completely successfully yet." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr M.
London

"Musekese Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"In spite of delays at Lusaka airport acquiring visas, we were met by a chap from Tours Africa who was extremely helpful, and looked after our surgical equipment and got us through customs effortlessly (not always easy) and introduced us our very patient and friendly pilot-75 mins later we landed at Lufupa Airstrip , and were warmly welcomed by staff from Musekese-

Again, after an interesting trip in the dark up the river(with the poor pilot due to us being late) we reached Musekese and were greeted by the whole team around the camp fire, who could not have been more friendly and informative-drinks and supper were soon served and what a place! Remote, exciting, and truly wild, but reassuringly in the hands of a very competent, tolerant and approachable team.

We had a terrific guide ,knowledgeable and delightful-faultless day, 4 leopards, 2 lions etc lots of good banter with staff who could not have been more helpful, and the setting is amazing-we all loved it-v bumpy flight back due to high winds" See all these reviews: 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Carol M
Illinois

"Musekese Camp -- Well Worth a Visit"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"Musekese Camp lies pretty much off the beaten path and requires a pretty high dose of patience and perseverance to reach. it's certainly a long road trip away from Lusaka, and flying there from Livingstone can be a budget-breaker. However, I'm so very glad I made the effort, as I met some extraordinary people at Musekese and learned an immense amount about anti-poaching efforts in Kafue National Park.

Perhaps because Kafue is not yet as heavily trafficked as the South Luangwa and Lower Zambezi regions of Zambia, most guests there tend to be extremely well-travelled and serious, experienced safari-goers. Often they are "repeat" visitors who already know the ropes and one or both of Musekese Camp's owners, Phil Jeffery and Tyrone McKeith. I met Phil, an exceptionally warm and welcoming guy with a ready smile and unbounded enthusiasm for the new anti-poaching project with which he and Tyrone are involved. In fact, one of the high points of my stay at Musekese was a tour of the construction site of a new camp that will host a specially trained anti-poaching team.

My guide at Musekese was Ephy, who is the epitome of enthusiasm and a very hard worker. We spent a lot of time on the Kafue River looking for (and locating) particular birds including the African Finfoot. On land I was treated to two lengthy visits with members of the Musekese Lion pride, among them two 11-month-old cubs. No Leopards or Wild Dogs, but I did encounter my first ever Defassa Waterbuck, some Lichtenstein Hartebeests and an incredible number of Pukus.

It was fun inhabiting my rustic little tent (Acacia/No. 2) with its traditional bucket shower and solar lamps, and the only drawbacks were a shortage of storage space and, early in the morning, of light. On the other hand, my bed was very comfortable and I loved being situated at the edge of a vast gathering/drinking/feeding place for wildlife of all kinds. My favorite guest outside my tent each day at lunchtime was an inquisitive and truly engaging female Bushbuck.

Two final notes: Hats off to Musekese Camp’s effervescent manager Kolo, who does her best to make every guest – no matter how “needy” or demanding he or she may be – feel at home. And lastly, Tsetse flies do exist." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 10n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Kafue exceeded my expectations"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Despite several trips to Zambia over the years, this was my first visit to Kafue: I'd been wary of rumours of tsetse flies, and besides, what could best the Luangwa valley? I wish I hadn't waited for so long: Kafue is glorious, with a diversity of landscapes, animals and birds that make it an ideal complement to South Luangwa; as for tsetse flies, these were well controlled with traps and actually less of a problem than in the South park, which had an unusually bad outbreak this year.

Musekese, in combination with her sister bush camp Ntemwa, was the perfect base to explore what Kafue has to offer. Highlights included an early morning walk, during which a herd of elephants fed just metres away from us, and stunning evening boat trips on the Kafue river. The camp itself is gorgeous, right on a lagoon that attracts abundant wildlife, and chalets are spacious and well-appointed.

The food was always excellent - the best of my trip, and standards were high everywhere. Musekese perfectly reflects its impressive young owners, Phil and Tyrone, whose passion for Kafue and focus on conservation deserves strong support.

Kafue vastly exceeded my expectations and I have no doubt I will return." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"The camp was in a lovely location. Ephy our guide was competent. We would have preferred the safari vehicles to have a top to protect from the sun. The boat trip was very good. James led us on a guided walk which was very informative but intense.

The accommodation had a good view however it was too hot to sit out on the verandah in the afternoon as the shading was poor allowing a lot of sun to come through and also making the room very hot. The chalet itself was fine.

We were very disappointed with the food. The breakfast choice was very limited and quality was poor. For example toast was often cold and burnt, and only fruit was small pieces of browned apple with the occasional slice of banana in a small bowl with barely enough for all the guests. Lunch was provided as a buffet and of average quality. The portions of food provided at dinner should have been larger for an adult male.

the staff were friendly. The quality of service from the camp staff was inconsistent for example staff not always at bar to serve cold drinks on returning to camp after a drive, offering to serve a beer and then finding it had not been chilled, not having bucket shower ready when it had been requested." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs G
Herts

"Lovely birds but less big game "

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We were so pleased to have included Kafue and paticularly Musekese on our trip and could have stayed longer.

There was a true bush camp feel and together with great boat trips on the river it was wonderfully relaxing. Of course the game was not so prolific as in S Luangwa but it felt very remote and the birds were terrific.

James was one of the best walking guides we have had with seemingly infinite knowledge and great stories. We would really like to go back for longer next time.

The road transfer was long but expertly driven. Would recommend a night in Latitude 15 afterwards to avoid worrying about connections." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Mr +Mrs K
South Brent

"Well located bush camp and plenty of wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"This camp is very small and ideally located in a big loop in the Kafue river. The rooms are well positioned, with views over the Dambo, providing wildlife sightings at all times.

Full consideration was given to the extra needs of one of us, and very good service was provided thoughtfully and cheerfully throughout our stay.

Food was varied and beautifully cooked, served in locations to maximise the views over the dambo and of the wildlife.

The camp is a true "bush camp", being fully open to animals, so not for the faint-hearted. For 36 hours, a lion pride of lion, lioness and 3 cubs was roaming to and fro very close to the camp, providing excellent sightings and photo-opportunities. Elephants were also frequent visitors through the camp, requiring care at all times and sometimes escorting from tent to Sitenje.

The tree house hide provides excellent views all round and is a perfect place for afternoon siesta. However, it was only possible to use it on one afternoon of our 3 days there as on the first day, lions were resting beneath it and on the third, elephants were eating the tree!

Neither Phil nor Tyrone were in camp during our stay, though this was not a problem as James was an excellent guide and Colo managed the camp superbly.

The area around the camp had suffered a fire shortly before our visit, so zebras and some other herbivores were totally absent. Elephants, lions, hippos, crocodiles and birds were all plentiful. Of the latter, birds of prey, many species of kingfisher, African finfoot and African skimmers were particular highlights.

The new rooms are not all sited under tress so became very hot in the afternoon, with the verandas unusable. Otherwise, the rooms were comfortable and provided all we wanted. Bucket showers are provided when needed and water was plentiful." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

C Plowdog
Sydney

"Musekese Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2018
"My husband's favourite camp. That said our one and only reservation was the limited lighting in the chalet. A bit of a challenge at night especially on the day of arrival.

Apart from that, the location was excellent as it afforded boat safaris, walking safaris and drives. Unfortunately a recent bushfire had caused some animals to be not as prolific but even so we saw a lot of animals here and no other tourists. Again the night drives were an absolute highlight.

Staff were great including Phil (one of the owners), Kolo (the manager) and James our guide. James was knowledgeable, thorough, and good company.

We saw a number of creatures here that we had not seen before: an enormous python, a terrapin, sable and both a lion and leopard immediately following kills. Also with the lion kill we were fortunate to see the behavior of other members of the pride in fighting over the dead puku. The birdlife here is beautiful." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"Musekese Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2018
"Please see previous comment." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs M
Japan

"Peaceful and friendly"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2018
"I had a superb time here. The setting is beautiful. Every day I saw animals and birds spending peaceful time in front of my room.

Elephants are regular visitors to the camp. I was fortunate to have been guided by Tyrone, James, and Ephy. Guinding was excellent. I missed wild dogs but I saw lions, leopards, many antelopes, and many kind of birds.

Camp manager Kolo and all of the staff are super friendly. Food was very tasty and my food preference was well catered for.
I apreciate their family hospitality.

Thank you Tyrone and Musekese team for wonderfu holiday. I will definately go back." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 32
96%
32 reviews of Musekese Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (9 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


70% (2 reviews)
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


80% (2 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


100% (1 review)
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa