This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs N from Hampshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Our 7th visit to Zambia

Zambia between 16 Jun 2019 and 28 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Any trip to Zambia is always going to be amazing and, despite being a little disappointed with our game viewing experience at Kafue, overall we still had another amazing time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

On the info provided with the itinerary it might be useful to add a few details about the procedures at the relevant airports. For example, at Lusaka you need to understand that check in only happens after you have gone through the baggage check.

Also that you need to retain your check in stubs (and not stuff them into the airplane seat pocket as I often do!) as these were asked for both by Emirates and Proflight."

Tafika

Tafika

"A lovely time"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"The guiding provided by Stephen Banda was excellent, both on walks and game drives and some of the best we have ever experienced on trips to South Luangwa. We did track lions on foot one morning and, after several hours criss crossing the grassland, we did come face to face with a lioness who eyeballed us balefully from only 30 feet away!

We were given the Honeymoon Tent for our 6 night stay and so had twin showers and wash basins, which we appreciated, plus being furthest away from the main centre of the camp, we did not have other guests walking by, which seemed a slight issue for some of the other tents. We did feel the furnishings were a little below the standard of other camps we have stayed at., e.g small bath towels rather than more ample sized bath sheets, which seemed a little mean. We were surprised that no one was ever present to greet us with hot or cold towels after walks and drives - something every other camp seems to do as standard. We were given a lovely surprise bottle of bubbly for our last night's Sundowner! Jen and Nick made us feel particularly welcome and were very accommodating of my need for assistance getting in and out of vehicles and canoes.

The food was really excellent and an alternative to fish was provided for me without any reminder thanks to Expert Africa for passing on my preferences."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Not our favourite overall "

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"Our main disappointment with this camp was that we specifically chose it based on the reputations of Phil and Tyrone as guides, however, apart from at a meal on the our first night when Phil was present, both were away from camp the whole time and so we did not benefit from their expertise. Ephy, our guide, was pleasant enough but not of the high standard that we have experienced elsewhere.

It was only his 2nd season in Kafue and he had come from the South Luangwa and so was not native to the park and it wildlife. We did 2 walks and both were undertaken in the same area of burnt scrub which seemed to be completely bereft of any wildlife such that we trudged fruitlessly for several hours without the regular stops to look at small plants, tracks etc, which is what normally makes this activity so interesting. Even on our game drives we saw little big game (although antelopes in quantity) and although we knew in advance to expect less than in the Luangwa this was still a little disappointing. We did enjoy the boat cruise as an alternative activity on one afternoon.

The setting of the camp was beautiful and peaceful with great views of antelope and birds at all times. We liked the smallness of the camp and indeed on one night we were the only guests in camp, and all staff were friendly and helpful. The other downside was the tsetse flies! Within the camp itself these were not a problem, however, mid morning and early afternoon game drives were affected by these insects, especially whenever the vehicle stopped. The measures put in place by the camp were reportedly reducing the level of tsetse in the area compared to elsewhere but not completely successfully yet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jun 2017 trip

Zambia between 25 Jun 2017 and 6 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our 9th safari and 4th trip to Zambia and we enjoyed it just as much as always. The juxtaposition of staying in luxurious accommodation and eating superb food alongside the feeling of being 'away from it all' in the remote African bush never fails to captivate us!

Although the amount of game we saw was rather less than in the South Luangwa national park, being able to do canoe, river and fishing activities as well as walking in the bush and enjoying day and night game drives made a pleasant change.

The level of guiding was, as always in Zambia, very high and enhanced our overall experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:"

Amanzi

Amanzi

"Luxury accomodation"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"Very spacious and well equipped rooms e.g. huge floor space in the large living plus sleeping and dressing room areas and equipped with a fridge, hair drier, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, tea and coffee making equipment BUT this led to more of a luxury hotel feeling, rather than traditional bush camp. A very spacious veranda with comfy chairs plus 2 rope swing seats.

Meals, including breakfast, were served at individual tables - so no campfire porridge before early morning activities, which again was less traditional than we are used to. There was always a menu card offered during the day from which to choose (out of 2 or 3) content of the evening meal. Coffee was even made using a Nespresso machine from a choice of capsules - lovely, but again felt more 'hotel' than bush camp. Overall the quality and quantity of the food was very good.

The central seating area was pleasant and comfy but it only had 4 reference books covering reptiles, fish, birds and snakes - but none on mammals, which seemed strange for a safari camp!

Evening game drives did not include provision of a spotter, which we feel is a significant ommission - although to be fair our excellent guide Lawrence, who was with us over all 4 days there, still managed to both drive and spot good wildlife. We did frequently come across other vehicles from Anabezi on our game drives, which when a leopard was found sometimes meant 4+ vehicles surrounding it.

We did 2 morning walks and the guiding was excellent, however, we're told on one day that we couldn't walk as a scout could not be provided as there was a shortage within the national park. There was no such problem reported at Old Mondoro where a scout lived onsite and was always available. Our feeling is that the larger sister camp Anabezi nearby may have been given priority in access to a scout!

The manager Solomon was excellent and very attentive. Other staff also very pleasant and friendly, speaking good English.

Being able to do a canoe trip and also 2 fishing trips was good and added variety during our stay.

The above comments indicate that we found Amanzi was not quite in the same style as the traditional Robin Pope and Norman Carr camps in the Luangwa that we have stayed at before but we still very much enjoyed our stay and saw a good range of game.

Some people eg first timers might actually prefer this style of camp, which was still very intimate with only 4 units, and with its very high level of equipment, style of rooms and so we certainly do not offer the comments above as any criticism, howevrr, it would be worth Expert Africa bearing them in mind when suggesting camps to clients."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Great stay at a traditional luxury bush camp"

5 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Our room was not particularly spacious and maybe looking a little 'tired' in its furnishings but generally it was on a par with ones we have stayed in within the South Luangwa and still luxurious considering its location in the bush. The spacious and well equipped veranda overlooked a lagoon rather than the river and provided a constant panorama of wildlife. Elephants walked past daily within touching distance (although obviously we stepped well back for safety reasons!) The provision of an exterior stone bath as well as a shower seemed superfluous initially - until we returned from an evening game drive on our last night to find it lit by candles and filled with hot water and bubbles as part of a surprise 45th wedding anniversary celebration provided by the camp! A truly magical and thoughtful experience which made us feel very pampered.

Meals were eaten communally, including a traditional breakfast and pre-evening drinks around the campfire. There was a degree of inflexibility over meal times such that freshening up after activities was sometimes very rushed. Meals were of a very high standard, even by 'normal luxury camp standards. On our last night a table was set up on our veranda and the meal served privately as part of the surprise anniversary celebration.

We were able to do 4 morning walks with the same guide (James) who was excellent and instructional as well as having a good sense of humour. Evening game drives were provided using a number of different guides but always with a spotter and using red headlights to avoid upsetting the wildlife, which seemed like a good improvement. Game viewing was very good, including watching a leopard stalk and pounce (unsuccessfully) on a warthog! There was never any problem in providing a scout to accompany us and the guide on walks, as had been the case at Amanzi, and neither were we crowded into vehicles with other guests. Being further away from any other camp meant we only met another vehicle once over our 5 day stay, which made it feel more remote.

The canoe trip down the Discovery Channel was excellent, with a high adrenalin level due to the proximity of hippos! We also did a river cruise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Every bit as a good as we hoped for

Zambia between 10 Jun 2015 and 21 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Covered in detail"

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Leopards galore"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"Leopards seen every day, including one killing a baboon which then also did a mini charge at our vehicle!

A pack of 14 Wild dogs as well as hyenas and much else. Great food and hospitality. Excellent guiding from Kiki."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Great game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2015
"Saw lions from Tena Tena as well hyenas and of course elephants and giraffe as well as a terrapin the size of a large dinner plate (spotted by Tim not the guide). First class guiding by Chillumba and Nyamhi.

The camp was very busy, full for most of our stay, and most of the other guests were pleasant company. However, we took exception to one couple who took all their meals at a separate table from the other guests. This sort of behaviour is odd and we think the camps should be discouraged from accommodating such requests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Peaceful and relaxing camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2015
"This has the best location on a bend of the river where elephant crossed each day and we saw a leopard cross the lagoon near the camp on our last day.

A quieter and more relaxed atmosphere with fewer guests. Great game drives with Chillumba, who transferred with us from Tena Tena and we saw lions mating and a porcupine (our first after 9 safaris) as well as leopard, elephant, giraffe and the rest.

Our hostess at Nsefu and Tena Tena was Carolina who gave us excellent service and was excellent company."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team