This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi
Amanzi

Reviews of Amanzi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Amanzi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Amanzi Review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"A relatively new camp with rooms offering a wonderful view.
Their policy aim is to give each party their own vehicle and it felt that the whole stay was being made into a personalised safari experience.
This even extended to the catering where you could choose beforehand your meal and even select ingredients for the cooking of your dish. Food quality was excellent - some of the best we have experienced in recent years.
Service and attention to your needs was high class.
If there is a slight downside it is in the fact that they are at one end of the traversing area so that the viewing activities mostly need to travel in one direction or have to go further to change the environment." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Dorking

"Small peaceful camp with lovely riverside sit"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Very spacious comfortable tents. Delightful shaded outdoor area with swing seats.

Atttentive manager and staff with delicious food and choice.

Guiding of a very high standard by Mweela who was very well informed." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JK
Surrey

"Amanzi review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This is a pretty exclusive lodge and offers both land and river safaris, just what we wanted.

Excellent guide (Mwila) and great night time drives." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Hampshire

"Luxury accomodation"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"Very spacious and well equipped rooms e.g. huge floor space in the large living plus sleeping and dressing room areas and equipped with a fridge, hair drier, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, tea and coffee making equipment BUT this led to more of a luxury hotel feeling, rather than traditional bush camp. A very spacious veranda with comfy chairs plus 2 rope swing seats.

Meals, including breakfast, were served at individual tables - so no campfire porridge before early morning activities, which again was less traditional than we are used to. There was always a menu card offered during the day from which to choose (out of 2 or 3) content of the evening meal. Coffee was even made using a Nespresso machine from a choice of capsules - lovely, but again felt more 'hotel' than bush camp. Overall the quality and quantity of the food was very good.

The central seating area was pleasant and comfy but it only had 4 reference books covering reptiles, fish, birds and snakes - but none on mammals, which seemed strange for a safari camp!

Evening game drives did not include provision of a spotter, which we feel is a significant ommission - although to be fair our excellent guide Lawrence, who was with us over all 4 days there, still managed to both drive and spot good wildlife. We did frequently come across other vehicles from Anabezi on our game drives, which when a leopard was found sometimes meant 4+ vehicles surrounding it.

We did 2 morning walks and the guiding was excellent, however, we're told on one day that we couldn't walk as a scout could not be provided as there was a shortage within the national park. There was no such problem reported at Old Mondoro where a scout lived onsite and was always available. Our feeling is that the larger sister camp Anabezi nearby may have been given priority in access to a scout!

The manager Solomon was excellent and very attentive. Other staff also very pleasant and friendly, speaking good English.

Being able to do a canoe trip and also 2 fishing trips was good and added variety during our stay.

The above comments indicate that we found Amanzi was not quite in the same style as the traditional Robin Pope and Norman Carr camps in the Luangwa that we have stayed at before but we still very much enjoyed our stay and saw a good range of game.

Some people eg first timers might actually prefer this style of camp, which was still very intimate with only 4 units, and with its very high level of equipment, style of rooms and so we certainly do not offer the comments above as any criticism, howevrr, it would be worth Expert Africa bearing them in mind when suggesting camps to clients." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Cornwall

"Amanzi review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2016
"A wonderful end to a long but very enjoyable safari in Zambia. This was luxurious indeed, initial thoughts being that it may be a little OTT for a safari camp, but we were proved wrong from the outset. The setting was beautiful. We were made to feel at home by Soli and our guide, Patrick, and were looked after with discreet, professional service for our 3 night stay with 1st class accommodation and excellent food. This was our second visit to the Lower Zambezi and we were not disappointed – the elephants were incredible. It was lovely having the options of both river and vehicle outings, especially given the high temperatures." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Prides Crossing

"Amanzi"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"Great location, facilities, service and guiding!" See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Amanzi review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"A good newish camp and with only a few rooms which was very nice. We were the only people staying there for 2 of our 4 nights stay which was a very nice treat. Excellent location on the banks of the Zambezi and very nice rooms. Good staff looking after us and a guide for the activities, walking, game drives and on a boat on the river (we didn't try canoeing or fishing). Saw a good amount of game and some good sightings, all very good. Looked a better choice than their large, and more luxury camp, the Anabezi which was only 2/3 km up river.

Very good meals and actually a choice of 2 dishes for starter/main/dessert which had to be selected over afternoon tea, very nice.

A very good stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Three nights at Amanzi in June"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The guest units are huge and beautifully furnished - the nicest units of the five camps at which we stayed. The camp overlooks a channel of the Zambezi River populated with more than a few hippos and crocodiles, and often crossed by a parade of elephants.

On game drives (eight guests per vehicle) we saw many kudu and water bucks, and a sleeping male lion. Two afternoon/evening game "drives" were by boat. We saw goliath herons and the beautiful, diminutive, hard-to-photograph malachite kingfisher. Game sightings were not as frequent as at the other camps we visited.

Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Utah

"Restful stay at Amanzi"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The rooms and facilities were terrific.

We didn't see as many animals as other camps but Robert did his best.

The water cruise was very nice." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L & Mr A
London

"Amanzi review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"We had an amazing relaxing time with the camp to ourselves, the staff looked after us wonderfully without being intrusive a fabulous place to finish our holiday" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
96%
10 reviews of Amanzi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa