This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T from Salt Lake City

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Botswana/Zambia 2019

Botswana and 1 other country between 19 Jun 2019 and 4 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent!"

Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Two Nights in June at Sable Alley"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Saw large groups of elephants, hippos, and zebras. One cantakerous elephant blocked our return to our tent one afternoon for about five minutes until a very tall staff member "explained" to him that he needed to go back into the bush.

Saw a leopard mother and daughter working on a "stashed" impala for two days. Saw a lone sable whilst having lunch in the camp and a sable family of three arrived concurrent with us at the airstrip as we were leaving Sable Alley."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Two Nights at Gomoti Plains in June"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Part of the camp's consignment is beautiful open grassland with large groups of various antelope species and zebras. Late one afternoon, we tracked a rhino for several miles but couldn't find him/her.

The camp put on an enjoyable outdoor music and dance program, and a wonderful dinner one evening about 3 km from the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

"3 Nights at Duba Explorers Camp in Late June"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"An excellent location with a wide variety of sightings.

It felt that the furnishing of the tents was a bit "overboard" attempting to recreate the setting of a camp in Africa many years ago.

Wonderful staff and guide (Matt).

Able to get good photos of malachite kingfishers near camp via mokoro.

Encountered the tail of a leopard, a sleeping cheetah at 40 meters, and large groups of impala and zebra on a walking safari.

Absolutely classic sighting of a leopard on a dead tree branch en route to depart at the air strip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"One Night at Avani Victoria Falls"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Excellent location to access the falls.

Late arrival and early morning departure so we weren't able to do some of the available activities at the hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Three Nights a Mwaleshi in Late June"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"A very "real" and remote bush camp with an excellent guide (Alex).

We were a group of six. We didn't learn until we arrived at the Mfuwe Airport that we would need to split up into groups of three to fly to the camp in the camp's one airplane. We arrived at Mfuwe just before noon and the second group of three didn't get to the camp until about 4:30 p.m. To access the camp, we waded across the shallow Mwaleshi River which was not difficult.

Saw huge groups of hippos at the confluence of the Mwaleshi and Luangwa Rivers. On a driving safari, we found a pride of lions on the edge of the Mwaleshi River. Most were on the far bank but two females were on our side of the river, and they casually rejoined the rest of the pride by walking across the fairly shallow river. A memorable sighting.

Tafika was very helpful in facilitating our transfer from Mwaleshi to Mwamba via Tafika."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Three Nights at Mwamba in Early July"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Abundant wildlife. Excellent location. Excellent guides.

A stunning sighting of herds of eland, wildebeest, and zebra together and a large breeding herd of roan antelope.

A bush camp that is taken down at the beginning of the rainy season and rebuilt in May of the following year!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

June 2016 trip to Zambia and Botswana

Zambia and 1 other country between 7 Jun 2016 and 21 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip included stays at five different camps, each in slightly different areas. All of the camps were very good.

Almost every game drive resulted in at least one truly memorable event. Most guides were excellent - even remarkable.

We and the three couples that traveled with us loved the entire experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Maruska is very capable and pleasant to work with.

The water in the Selinda Spillway was late in arriving this year, so we were slightly disappointed in that fact, but that is not in the control of EA or Selinda Explorers Camp. We loved our stay at Selinda!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Tafika

Tafika

"Three nights in June at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Our guides were Isaac and Steve. Both were very good. The night before we arrived, the Tafika staff looked at our ages (provided to them by Expert Africa) and, because most of us are in our 70's, we were dubbed the "Madala Group" with "Madala" meaning elderly. That was fine with us.

Highlights of game viewing include a female leopard with a cub and a dead impala in a tree, a rookery of about five large trees filled with yellow-billed storks and their chicks with hungry marabou storks at the base of the tree waiting for scraps dropped by the chicks and a martial eagle attempting to have a chick for lunch, and a huge herd of cape buffalo. We biked with John Coppinger to the nearby Mkasanga School which is partially supported by the Tafika Fund. The children danced and sang for us and a youth choir from the Covenant Church sang and danced for us. Saw many puku antelope.

Seldom encountered vehicles from other camps on game drives.

There were often small frogs, some spiders, a small lizard or two, and some armored crickets (all harmless) in the guest units. They were not a problem for us but some might flinch a bit at such creatures.

We liked the fact that Tafika is a relatively small camp and we very much enjoyed going to Tafika's bush camps across the river - a short boat ride and a walk of about five hours but that could have been shortened if necessary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Crocodile Bush Camp [I didn't stay @ Chikoko]"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"Crocodile Bush Camp.

We had two wonderful nights at CCB. We walked about five hours to get to the camp with an armed and congenial Zambian park ranger in the lead. En route, we walked thru a huge herd of cape buffalo, some zebras, elephants, wart hogs, hippos, birds, giraffes, etc. Many of the rainy season lagoons were dry and absolutely covered with dried mud footprints of elephants and hippos. That made walking a bit challenging but survivable. A pair of walking poles (or two suitable tree branches) would have helped.

The food and accommodations were excellent. Pukus, wart hogs, and elephants right in front of the camp. On one afternoon game walk, we encountered at very close range a pack of wild dogs in hot pursuit of an impala. That was a memorable experience as was the bark of the two of the dogs whose chase we had ruined. On a morning game walk, we saw one eland and a kudu family. That was the only eland of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Amanzi

Amanzi

"Three nights at Amanzi in June"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The guest units are huge and beautifully furnished - the nicest units of the five camps at which we stayed. The camp overlooks a channel of the Zambezi River populated with more than a few hippos and crocodiles, and often crossed by a parade of elephants.

On game drives (eight guests per vehicle) we saw many kudu and water bucks, and a sleeping male lion. Two afternoon/evening game "drives" were by boat. We saw goliath herons and the beautiful, diminutive, hard-to-photograph malachite kingfisher. Game sightings were not as frequent as at the other camps we visited.

Food was excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Three nights in June at Selinda Explorers"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"Our guides were Piet and Victor. Both were superb! Game drives were in vehicles with four guests per vehicle.

Highlights were: (1) a pack of wild dogs playing together, hunting (without success), and then laying down to rest, (2) a herd of roan antelope, (3) ostriches, (4) a gigantic pride (200+) elephants moving north at sunset, (5) two lion prides, (6) red lechwe, (7) wildebeests, and (8) a "charge" by four elephants led by a notorious, cantankerous elephant with an injured ear. The charge was avoided by Piet's adept driving skills.

The staff was happy, hard working and professional.

The food and guest units were excellent (except the inside of the guest units are not well lit at night as was surely the case in true explorer camps)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Three nights at Little Vumbura in June"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2016
"Access to this camp is by vehicle and a five minute boat ride. Game drives are four guests per vehicle and four guests per boat. Our guides were Nas and Sam. They were both very good and worked hard to create great sightings and experiences.

The most memorable sighting was of a herd of large, beautiful sable antelope.

We had two exciting and informative trips by boat going at fairly high speed through narrow channels between reeds and papyrus along the banks.

The staff was excellent, happy and professional. The food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team