This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp

Reviews of Mwaleshi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwaleshi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwaleshi Camp.
Lion

76% success

Leopard

33% success

Wild dog

20% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Buffalo

88% success

Zebra

79% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Black Rhino

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr. P
NL

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2024
"What a wonderful camp and an incredible experience !! Certainly will go back.

This is a true bush camp in a real and unspoiled wild place.

It is designed for walking safaris and we did terrific guided walks of up to 6 hours seeing elephants, lion, buffalo, wild dogs, crocs, hippos and many other animals.

You can also do limited game drives including evening drives.

The quality of guiding is outstanding ( Moffat !!) and i learnt a tremendous amount about the bush.

Probably the best experience i have ever had while on safari." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr. C
New Forest

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2023
"The best walking camp in North park!

It had improved since my last visit some 25 years ago but I do not think it can be beat." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Calgary

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2023
"I love Mwaleshi. If I could go back to only one camp in Zambia, it would be here. Rustic, authentic, yet pampered and well-taken care of. The rooms have beautiful views. You are welcome to sit right in the Mwaleshi river out front, because it is too shallow for crocs. But......there actually are some tiny crocs about, who could get at your toes. (so amazing)

Change of guides here for me to Moffat. And he was as fantastic as Stephen. Our walks were a bit more arduous here. The heat, and terrain were tough. Rehydrating salts were on offer at breaks (and were absolutely necessary). We generally did walking in the morning. But, if we needed to, we could use the vehicle to shorten our afternoon walk, and have a bit of a mix (which we did). It was a very nice combination. Serious walk in the am, and easier time in the afternoon heat.

The rains started while we were here. Not to a major degree......but the plastics were brought out "just in case". The camp was closing the day after we left - for the season. And it was amazing to see all the work that goes into this.

I made special connections with my fellow travellers here, and am grateful for that. Again, safari has a way, especially with communal dining, to facilitate meeting like-minded folks from around the world.

This is......in short...... a very special camp. One I'll be back to, for likely an extended time." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms P
London

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2023
"I've lost count of how many times I've been to Mwaleshi, and it remains one of my favourite places in Africa.

The walking safari there is second to none, with Brent once again providing excellent guiding, while the camp itself - with its staggering sunrises over the Mwaleshi - remains the my ideal for getting away from it all.

This time, hyena sightings were a particular highlight." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

David
Doha

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2023
"Same as earlier report" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

MAH
St Albans

"Mwaleshi Camp small and remote"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2023
"We walked along the river from Takwela to Mwaleshi camp with Moffat guiding our group. It took a little longer as there were plenty of elephants around but we felt very safe.

The camp seemed a little disorganised at first but that soon settled down. We took advantage to be able to walk /stand in the river at camp to cool off. We loved the fact that the reed chalets had hot water showers only on a night time and in the morning a hot water jug was put by our wash basin.

On our first night we heard a lion kill close to camp which presented us with a great sighting the next day.

All the staff were helpful and friendly. Similar reed chalets which were very clean." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

David
Doha

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"The highlight of the trip. Small camp on the Mwaleshi river, very well-managed.

Great food and bar.

Superb guiding from Brent." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2022
"Mwaleshi was our favourite camp. It is small and a walking only camp.

We walked to it from Takwela which was a great experience. Our guide at this camp, Brent, was extremely knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks in the bush and among the animals.

Walking up on a leopard was a highlight.

We were very well looked after in the camp and it was very peaceful." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

B family
Switzerland

"Mwaleshi our Highlight"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"It was mervellous, everything from the walks with the experienced guide and scout, the friendly and helpful staff, the best food and just a magical place.

I would stay longer next time!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2022
"If we were forced to choose only one of the Remote Africa camps to visit, it would have to be Mwaleshi (not that we would ever want to have to make such a choice, as we like them all so much!).

Mwaleshi is simple, rustic, tiny and completely magical. Its location right on the river bank and its feeling of immersion in the bush, not to mention the food, are part of its charm but best of all was the guiding. We were lucky enough this time to have Brent, who we missed on our previous visit, as our guide, and his knowledge, thoughtfulness and ability to explain were true gifts.

A particular highlight was the morning we spent on foot tracking and eventually finding elusive lions, and we were especially impressed by the mutual understanding and collaboration between Brent, Kennedy (himself a superb guide in the making) and David (our National Park Scout) as the whole enthralling process unfolded." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 61
99%
61 reviews of Mwaleshi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

Remote, wild and very small, Takwela Camp offers excellent guiding on both walking safaris and game drives in Zambia's North Luangwa National Park.


99% (17 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa