This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp

Reviews of Mwaleshi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

51 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwaleshi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwaleshi Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

30% success

Wild dog

18% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Zebra

69% success

Spotted Hyena

58% success

Black Rhino

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 51
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B.
Cambridge

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2022
"Mwaleshi was marvellous, just what we had hoped. A “bush “ camp in a remote wilderness setting, perfectly tranquil apart from the din of lions roaring, elephants trumpeting, hyenas howling and birdsong. Our guide Brent was superb, sharing fascinating information about the wildlife and environment.

We loved our walks. The close encounters with animals feel so very much more real than when sitting in a safari truck. The walking was quite manageable for our group of only moderately active people in their late sixties.
The camp was charmingly rustic but also very comfortable with amazing food and friendly helpful staff.

We agree with many of your previous travellers that a walking safari might not be the right thing for a first time visitor to Africa. One cannot expect clear views of huge numbers of animals. But this is compensated by the feeling of intimacy of the animal encounters. Priceless!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs K.
Westbury

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Lovely camp - in a very remote location but easily accessible by Remote Africa flight and 30-40 minute road trip. Nice mix of walking and driving, our host Ernst flexed to our needs (there were only us 2 plus one other guest in camp so we felt we had it to ourselves). Lovely location by the Mwaleshi River. Superb service, we had a look in the kitchen, the food was incredible given the facilities the chefs have. The staff such as Special and Kennedy were excellent. Thanks to Kennedy for support when walking across the river! The scouts who accompanied us were great. Shout-out for Emmanuel, obviously very experienced and felt very safe even when we were 20 yards from a large buffalo herd! Also very knowledgeable on the tracks! Less roads in this area, hence mainly a walking camp, but the couple of drives we did including night driving were very nice and we spotted a young female leopard crossing the road one night. Notably in Rhino conservation area so there is a chance of a sighting, we didn't but we saw lots of poo and tracks!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Excellent guiding and hosting.

Great location and a relaxed but efficient camp. Good game viewing in a remote location.

All staff were really helpful and if the accommodation was more basic than our other camps it was very comfortable with a fantastic view of the river and passing elephants. It was wonderful to cool off in the river on occasions!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S
London

"Unique safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Mwaleshi's walking safaris offer a truly unique and magical safari experience. The camp is just the right side of rustic - authentic and comfortable bush living in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Mwaleshi river. An afternoon dip in the river with a glass of wine is an absolute must!

The guides and camp staff are exceptional - some of the most friendly and knowledgeable we've met anywhere on our travels. It's obvious how much they truly care about their guests. Chef James turns out delicious lunches and dinners (fresh salads, grilled meats, chicken satays), exactly the kind of thing you fancy after several hours of bush walks. We moved on to another camp afterwards and wished we could have had Chef James with us!

If you're up for an adventure on foot and interested in experiencing a totally different kind of safari, we highly recommend Mwaleshi. You'll get closer to the animals than you think -- and that's a pretty incredible feeling!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mrs S.
Zürich

"Mlaweshi - safari at it’s best "

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"It‘s a privilege to be allowed to spend a time in this beautiful and remote place. Brent and Heather went out of their way to accommodate all our wishes (even the unspoken ones). We were driven to different places by car and walked from there to have various sightings. The explanations of Brent were mindful and very deep. The setting on the river, the sun downer places chosen with much diligence and on the drive back to Camp a Chameleon picked from a bush - we can’t choose what we liked most." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Mwaleshi review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"We had the great privilege of having Mwaleshi to ourselves for the duration of our stay and we loved everything about it.

The setting on the river, the sheer remoteness, and as with Chikoko, the sense of total immersion in the bush was beyond special and something which will stay with us for a very long time. It was a real delight to get to know both our lovely host Heather and our guide Stephen, with whom we had great thrill of seeing lions on foot." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Rivercrossing on foot location: great!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2019
"just as we knew and expected: perfect!

Location on the Mwaleshi river with entertaining wildlife. Happy to meet Heather and Steven again.

Marvellous food, first class service." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2019
"We much enjoyed Mwaleshi.

We have marked all the "aspects" as excellent (here and for Takwela) - some might consider that this is too generous BUT given the location of these camps and the fact that one is in the bush, we feel that it is well justified.

If others arrive expecting swimming pools etc then they will be disappointed!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

D & S
NZ

"Riverside retreat"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2019
"Mwaleshi has the distinction of being able/required to walk across the river to the camp, though they were expecting a truck to be able to cross soon. It was pleasant to be able to access the river as well as overlook it, as that section lacked the normal wildlife that prevents such behaviour.

Again we enjoyed the walking safaris, seeing kudu, warthog, impala, puku, buffalo, Cookson's wildebeest, numerous birds and keeping out of the way of elephants we'd watched crossing the river. We saw some rhino dung near the camp, but it wasn't fresh.

We particularly enjoyed a couple of occasions of sitting quietly at waterholes, just watching the normal interactions of mongooses, impala, squirrels, hippos and various birds." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Mrs F.
Dallas

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"We could not have asked for more convivial camps! We stayed at Tafika, Chikkoko, Crocodile and Mawleshi camps, and all camps were very comfortable with a friendly, welcoming, and efficient staff.
Our guide, Steven, was awesome!
Truly an experience to be repeated!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 51
98%
51 reviews of Mwaleshi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp is a new property currently under construction in Zambia's North Luangwa National Park.


100% (8 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa