This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp

Reviews of Mwaleshi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwaleshi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwaleshi Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

80% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Black Rhino

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A lovely camp by the peaceful Mwaleshi River"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We loved the serenity of Mwaleshi Camp and it's appropriate yet very comfortable facilities.

The cook Brightwell created magnificent food from his bush kitchen.

The walking was good but we felt the heat was a bit oppressive after about 9.30." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr CB
USA

"Paradise!"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"Everything about Mwaleshi was wonderful. We had camp to ourselves, and were made very welcome.

This was definitely the highlight of our trip.

If anything, I wish we'd stayed here at the end, because it was hard to compare everything else to Mwaleshi's remoteness, service and comfort." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr J.
Shrewsbury

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"Our favourite place"

5 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"This camp really brings home that one is in North Luangwa park and much more remote.

It is wonderful for walking and tracking and the guiding was FANTASTIC" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Doesn't get better than this"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"It was my third visit to Mwaleshi in as many years, and it only reinforced what I felt a year ago: that North Luangwa is one of my favourite places in the world.

Stunning scenery, fantastic sightings (especially lion and buffalo), top guiding by Brent Harris and a superb, friendly camp in one of the remotest places in Africa means that, in my book at least, it doesn't get much better than this.

I recognise it is not for everyone, however: guests should be aware that game is more dispersed than in the South, for example, and I would recommend a reasonable level of fitness to get the most out of the experience. One thing's for sure: I'll be back." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Wonderful location"

6 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"It's difficult to write this review, because it was supposed to be the high point of our trip and it ended up being slightly disappointing - perhaps because our expectations had been so high. Despite this, we did enjoy our time there.

The camp is perfect. Lovely location, good accommodation, excellent food and brilliant guiding. The ability to have a splash in the Mwaleshi river after a morning walk is a big bonus.

However, we have been spoiled on our previous trips in that all our game walks have been alone or with two other people and, unfortunately for us, the camp was full for the whole 6 days we were there and so our walks were with 4 other people, which we did not enjoy. I found being at the back of a group of 6 deeply frustrating because you knew that if the guide saw something interesting, it would be long gone before you had a chance to see it and you weren't able to ask questions till the group stopped. Fortunately (for us), one couple were getting tired of walking and missed a couple of walks and so we were able to have 2 good walks when there were only 4 of us.

This problem only arises at walking camps where walking is the only activity. For example, at Tafika, if 6 people wanted to walk we could have chosen to drive and at Musekese, with 3 guides to 8 people (and 3 activities) it is unlikely ever to happen.

Other people may be happy to walk in a group of 6 (and I understand there are sometimes 8 at other camps) but I would not go to a walking camp again unless I could guarantee walking for 4 or less - either by having a private guide or paying for 2 rooms. (Tafika guarantees a maximum of 4 per vehicle but I think a maximum of 4 is just as important for walking).

I discussed this with John when we returned to Tafika and explained that it is not a criticism of Mwaleshi, it is simply our preference, now, having been so spoilt on previous walks." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"remote and please keep it so"

5 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"We have been here 7 times and love its remoteness. River dried up opp camp which was a shame as it is normally very pretty and we like crossing it with shoes off. Flowing upstream 2K so we used truck to get there some times, which we would not normally do.

But worth it as lots of lion, buffalo and elephant activity. We were alone for all 5 days which meant we had Brent Harris as a personal guide. He is deeply experienced across the world so fascinating to talk with. His approach to guiding is different from others - he is more interested in how the bush works as an integrated whole and less on listing every tree, bush, animal we see. This is a deeper approach and conservation came the main topic which we liked. So we tracked lions often and close, spent time just watching, took care with elephants (once after swiftest move to behind a tree and lots of shouting), and loved every moment.

Note that a couple from Australia had so much luggage the plane could not take 4 of us and the top-up food supply to Mwaleshi.

They should have been told by their agent, or were just stupid!

We hear the Rhino Sanctuary, with 32 now, will extend in 2016 to include Mwaleshi." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Bedford

"a diamond in the rough"

7 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"This is certainly different, we absolutely loved it, but maybe not everybody's taste, the game is much sparser and you need to work for it (it is a walking camp and the last hours of the morning get hotter by the day as you approach October). The pack of hyenas trying to steal the kill from 3 lionesses will stay in our memory for ever.... and it was during the morning tea break, what a treat!!!

The camp is more basic than Tafika, but when you think that everything (up to the ice cubes) has to be flown in, it is a logistical tour de force, and if you want to stay at a place with air con and swimming pool,....well it's not for you." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Amazing place"

5 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2015
"It was my second year at Mwaleshi, and it cemented itself as one of my favourite camps in Africa. It's not for everyone, given its remoteness and walking-only activities (and supposed less animal density in the south), but I love it for both.

I was incredibly fortunate with my sightings, including what Special (the long-time spotter with very special eyes) said was his best walk ever: a morning with leopards, lions and wild dogs, all at very close quarters. Brent is a superb guide, and wonderful company besides.

The camp itself is simple but perfect, with delicious food and the luxury of hot showers in the evening.

Sadly, the riverbed was completely dry already, so there was no afternoon swimming in the Luangwa this time! In short, I can't recommend it enough." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"Truly a remote camp and a unique experience! Very well organised and managed, the staff produced outstanding service.

The walking and guiding was exceptional. Brent has unrivalled knowledge and passion of the flora and fauna and of the local environment particularly, taking our understanding to another level. Safety was paramount demonstrated by Special's instinctive move to place himself between us and a threatening elephant.

Wildlife encounters were great and leaving after 4 special days was quite emotional" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 48
98%
48 reviews of Mwaleshi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp is a new property currently under construction in Zambia's North Luangwa National Park.


100% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa