This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Zambia / Zanzibar

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 16 Sep 2019 and 2 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent, truly memorable trip. Amanda stepped in later in the planning process after another team member left and her advice and organisation were invaluable."

Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Unique safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Mwaleshi's walking safaris offer a truly unique and magical safari experience. The camp is just the right side of rustic - authentic and comfortable bush living in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Mwaleshi river. An afternoon dip in the river with a glass of wine is an absolute must!

The guides and camp staff are exceptional - some of the most friendly and knowledgeable we've met anywhere on our travels. It's obvious how much they truly care about their guests. Chef James turns out delicious lunches and dinners (fresh salads, grilled meats, chicken satays), exactly the kind of thing you fancy after several hours of bush walks. We moved on to another camp afterwards and wished we could have had Chef James with us!

If you're up for an adventure on foot and interested in experiencing a totally different kind of safari, we highly recommend Mwaleshi. You'll get closer to the animals than you think -- and that's a pretty incredible feeling!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Kaingo is well situated on the Luangwa River - benefiting from beautiful views and some amazing sitings from the comfort of your very own private deck (every room has one!). Their staff are one of their greatest assets. Everyone we met was so welcoming and friendly, really making you feel at home. A special shout out to Joseph and Stephen who must have the biggest smiles on the planet and are always ready with a cool towel and a glass of wine just when you need it!

The game viewing is exceptional in the South Luangwa - lions, leopards, hippos, elephants, giraffes, civet, genet, porcupines, and some of the most stunning zebra you'll find anywhere. There were a few occasions where the park felt a little too busy, especially on the evening drives when the headlights of competing vehicles are a distraction, but it's a stunning safari location and caters to photographers especially well.

We found the food a little too fussy for our tastes, but we're probably in the minority, and the chef here does a great job of catering to different dietary requirements."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

"Lovely little oasis"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"We visited Fumba after a week's safari and found it a wonderful place to relax. It's a short 30-minute drive from Stone Town on good roads.

The pool area is a delightful little oasis overlooking the beach. It's very easy to spend a whole day here reading, swimming, and watching the cheeky little blue monkeys who like to try their luck and scamper down to the "watering hole" occasionally. There is the loveliest little dhow bar that opens for sundowners at 5 pm and is the perfect place to while away a few hours watching the surf and the very beautiful sunsets that you get on this side of the island.

Last but not least, the staff go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying your stay. We felt very well looked after.

Fumba Beach Lodge is excellent value and highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Perched on the beach cliffs on the eastern side of the island, you won't get closer to the sea than Matemwe.

The lodge is perfectly located for snorkelling at Mnemba Island which is the best we've ever experienced and an absolute must! They also offer reef walks and a visit to the local fish market, which is so much fun to see especially if you've watched all the fisherman motoring back with their daily catch.

Other benefits: great food, friendly and helpful staff, two different pools, and a nice bar area where the bush babies will come to visit for their breakfast at sundown every evening.

One thing to consider: because of the lodge's proximity to the ocean and the strength of the tidal surf, there is the feeling that everything in your room is just a little damp all the time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Rwanda, June 2016

Rwanda between 25 Jun 2016 and 2 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful life changing experience to see the gorillas in Volcanoes National Park, Rwanda.

I was impressed with how smoothly everything was organised from the moment we arrived at the airport. Our stay at Sabyinyo Lodge was a true highlight.

We organised a private guide for these travellers, who commented:

Our guide Patrick - Overall experience: Excellent

Patrick was a wonderful guide for our trip in Rwanda. Smart, funny, he kept us constantly entertained with stories about Rwanda and its people.

We threw a few challenges his way (such as an injury during gorilla trekking) and he managed everything beautifully. We knew we were always in good hands.

He also recommended a fantastic restaurant for dinner and made sure the chef came out to greet us personally."

Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Very convenient location. Good rooms and a beautiful outside pool area. Staff very friendly.

Food of a good quality without being exceptional, but the wine list and selection was excellent. Very pleased with this hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"An exceptional lodge. The rooms and common areas are lovely, but it's the staff that really make the place special. They do everything possible to look after you and make sure you enjoy your stay -- from fitting your gaiters in the morning, to greeting you with a chilled drink when you return in the afternoon.

Lunches were delicious and we were very impressed with the selection of wines on offer and the bar service. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we were made to feel completely at home.

I would not hesitate to recommend Sabyinyo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

"Lake Kivu Serena Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"A excellently located hotel that could do with a bit of a refurbishment and better staff training. As with everywhere in Rwanda, the staff were friendly, however, they were not as well trained for their roles as you would hope. As an example, one of the bellhops loaded our luggage onto a different vehicle without checking first and the bags were nearly lost when the vehicle drove off.

The pool and beachfront area are lovely and an easy place to spend a couple of days. Good location in walking distance from a local restaurant and bar.

Despite full board, we choose to eat out on the second night because the food in the restaurant was of a poor standard and very disappointing.

One larger concern -- we went to the wrong hotel room by accident and found that our key was able to open the door. Not sure if this is a larger security issue across multiple rooms but it was a little worrying."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team