This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge

Reviews of Fumba Beach Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fumba Beach Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
London

"Lovely little oasis"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"We visited Fumba after a week's safari and found it a wonderful place to relax. It's a short 30-minute drive from Stone Town on good roads.

The pool area is a delightful little oasis overlooking the beach. It's very easy to spend a whole day here reading, swimming, and watching the cheeky little blue monkeys who like to try their luck and scamper down to the "watering hole" occasionally. There is the loveliest little dhow bar that opens for sundowners at 5 pm and is the perfect place to while away a few hours watching the surf and the very beautiful sunsets that you get on this side of the island.

Last but not least, the staff go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying your stay. We felt very well looked after.

Fumba Beach Lodge is excellent value and highly recommended. " See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ashkan S
USA

"Beautiful."

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"Beautiful and very accommodating." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Fumba Beach Lodge - butterflies"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"I greatly enjoyed my stay at Fumba Beach Lodge. There is a delightful Butterfly and Wildlife Walk area to watch birds, butterflies, elephant shrews etc. I appeared to be the only person using it as I never met anybody else there and went at least twice a day. I saw various species of butterflies, a pair of crowned hornbills perched on a tree, elephant shrews, sunbirds, lizards, monkeys, a goshawk?, yellow-rumped tinkerbird. The grounds in general are good for watching the wildlife there, such as the resident monkeys, red colobus monkey, bushbaby, squirrels, sunbirds, lizards, and butterflies. There is a particular shrub which lots of beautiful butterflies descended on to feed at.

I was unable to go on Fumba's Dive Centre's snorkelling trip as it was booked up on both days I wanted to go. However, one of the dive centre staff arranged for me to go on a snorkelling trip with Safari Blue and one of the Fumba staff very kindly gave up his day off to accompany me as my guide and chaperon! The snorkelling was excellent and we had a superb lunch at Kwale Island.

The Lodge arranged for me to go on an excursion to the Jozani Forest, which was very enjoyable, but I would have liked to spend a longer time there.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Dalston

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"A good hotel in a beautiful location but the rooms could do with some renovation and the staff with more direction from the managers, who did not appear to spend much time with them or their guests.

Our boat trip/snorkelling excursion and the team who organised it for us were excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
MS R & Mr D
Bristol

"Treated like royalty at Fumba Beach Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2014
"Arriving at Fumba Beach Lodge on my birthday (and as part of our honeymoon) was the start of the fabulous half of our holiday. The manager and staff identified my birthday immediately and congratulated us on our marriage and proceeded to treat us like royalty, arranging special locations for our meals (breakfast as well as evening meal) with sparkling wine laid on at their expense, a birthday cake with candles and the staff singing "Happy Birthday" and all of the waiting staff recognising who we were. We're not particularly demanding customers, tending not to strop out about things, and granted this was perhaps their low season meaning we had the row of lodges virtually to ourselves but following a generally reasonable, but perhaps lukewarm experience in Stone Town our experience in Fumba was magical.

The room/lodge was superb. The massive bed and double doors out on to our own terrace and then roof terrace from which to watch the Blue Monkeys, Red Squirrels and Elephant Shrews, outdoor showers and personal access down to the beach all made for a fabulous experience.

Being right on the beach give us some fresh air, with a large fan keeping the air moving - in high season the lack of air conditioning may be a problem? It was fine for us in March.

The main central area with infinity pool, Dhow bar and restaurant were all beautifully kept. The infinity pool was fabulous. And we were able to watch the evening antics of bush babies in the Baobab tree near the Dhow bar. The on-site diving team are able to provide a range of activities and we had he luxury of a snorkelling picnic trip for just the two of us, which made it extremely special.

Overall we cannot speak highly enough of Fumba Beach Lodge." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B Family
Cheshire

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

8 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Fumba is a very peaceful and beautiful place to relax.

Service was excellent - we particularly enjoyed being able to sit in different locations and almost personal service so that we could get to know the waiters. One of the managers showed the kids how to scuba dive in the pool which was much appreciated.

The food was excellent too.

A small criticism is that the excursions were very expensive. we wanted to do some small trips out of the hotel as 'activities' but found the prices offputting. We also thought the snorkelling, whilst excellent, was expensive at $50 per person (there could have been more flexibility to price for a family trip)." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Crawley

"Fumba Beach Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2012
"Fumba Beach Lodge was great. Our suite was very comfortable with direct access to the beach. The bed was huge.

My husband did 4 dives and was very impressed with the dive school. The staff were great and instruction was good. The equipment was of a good standard. He was even able to dive when he was the only one diving that day.

We went on a snorkelling trip and picnic which was fantastic. Just the two of us and a guide and boat driver. We snorkelled for an hour and were then taken to a beautiful small island where lunch was prepared for us. We then returned under sail which was magical - so peaceful. We were able to visit the local village. The people were all very friendly and we felt quite safe." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The S Family
Herts

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2012
"Fumba Beach was chosen for its location close to Stone Town, rather than its quality and comfort.

That said the hotel is clearly in need of some investment. We had two luxury rooms. Both rooms had holes in their roofs (luckily it didn't rain). The sheets were stained, the towels had holes in and the toilets reeked of moth balls. We were there 3 nights and two of them we had to prepare our rooms at night ourselves - the third night we asked. At breakfast pastries and breads were uncovered and were covered in flies. We stuck to cooked food but still worried about the hygiene in the kitchen.

At sunset we went to the bar to order two (expensive) cocktails. We asked if there were any nuts only to be told we would have to pay for them as it was before 6:30pm (it was 6pm). The hotel is managed by a young couple in their twenties who tried really hard but clearly lack experience. It felt like the owners were running it as cheaply as possible.

On a positive note the setting is lovely and the food at night was very good." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Ms B
Barbican

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"This was a much larger resort than any of the others I stayed at and was not as luxurious, but the food was delicious and the dive shop was brilliant. I am stubbornly independent when I snorkel and, as there were no other snorkellers on the boat, the guide just let me wander and followed to keep me safe during the length of the two tank dive undertaken by the other passenger with the dive master.

The only real frustration was the lack of a good reading light in the room.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Bicester

"Perfect spot for chilling"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2011
"Whilst just a short journey from the airport/Stone Town, Fumba is a small somewhat isolated hotel which provides the perfect opportunity to relax, recharge batteries and enjoy the sun, beach and sea. Day trips can be aranged by the staff to the usual locations (Spice Tour, Forest trip to see the colobus monkeys, dolphin experiences, diving, snorkelling trips etc.).

We stayed in a deluxe suite which was excellent. Huge bedroom with massive bed completely surrounded with a mosquito net, chairs, table, desk, wardrobe, safe and bookcase with books left by previous guests. Enormous bathroom with huge bath tub and shower overhead, twin sinks, flushing toilet, plenty of hot water. Also outside private double shower which we used every night rather than the indoor one. On the roof a lovely terrace with views over the beach and sea. Huge wooden double doors open onto a large decking area with hammock, day bed and table overlooking the beach. It felt very private and the staff were really uninobtrusive. All set in lovely well tended gardens. The resident bush babies were a liitle noisy though especially when playing on our roof at night!

Beach towels provided. Private locally made sun beds available on the beach immediately infront of he room and also around the small pool. Tides and coral reef mean swimming in the sea is somewhat limited.

Meals served alfresco overlooking the beach. Good choice of fresh local produce. We stayed three nights, one evening there was an African themed night with swalhili food and music, another we were surprised to be lead to a small terrace for an intimiate dinner right on the water front. Extensive range of drinks available. Complemetary tea, coffee and cakes served every afternoon.

Whilst we were there in late August, the southern monsoon winds were pretty strong and hence the sea and palms were somewhat nosiy. I found it actually rather theraputic. We did experience an extremely heavy downpour but it didn't last long & cleared the air.

Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break. Three nights was good although we would have been happy to stay longer especially if we had wanted to take a trip or too beyond the local area. There is a dive centre in the hotel grounds.

No local shops so be sure to have more than enough sun screen and insect repellant although few mossies around in August.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 37
87%
37 reviews of Fumba Beach Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

Unguja is a small, stylish lodge in southern Zanzibar standing on a quiet beach, with some of the most spacious rooms we have seen on Zanzibar.


92% (79 reviews)
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

Situated on the tiny Chumbe Island, this lodge is an award-winning example of eco-tourism, with excellent snorkelling.


98% (47 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa