This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge
Fumba Beach Lodge

Reviews of Fumba Beach Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fumba Beach Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-37 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Coucal
Herts

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"We stayed at Fumba after 9 fairly full-on days on safari, and it was the perfect way to adjust back to "civilisation". The rooms are beautiful and very much in the style of a safari camp rather than a beach resort. We stayed in one of the baobab suites which we would highly recommend - swinging in a hammock suspended from your very own huge baobab is a memory we will treasure. The baobab extends right over the beach below the suite, providing welcome shade for your sunlounger, and also one of the favourite spots for "lodge dog" Simba to rest up, which was a nice bonus.

Fumba is in a relatively quiet part of Zanzibar, although there is very good snorkelling/diving right next door, so probably better suited to people looking for a restful and pampered few days rather than a "party" atmosphere. This is meant as a compliment, by the way! Food was good, and we were lucky enough to be treated to a lobster dinner cooked outside our room - we could only conclude that the charming owner Edwin thought we looked like newlyweds!

Because Fumba is so close to Stone Town it would be possible to use it as a base to visit Stone Town itself, but we would recommend you actually stay in town for a couple of days - it's the kind of place you want to immerse yourself into rather than just visit. Use Fumba to unwind in luxury. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
Surrey

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2008
"An ideal place for simply relaxing, yet still with sufficient interest for the curious naturalist to explore. We found the beaches were great: not pristine white sand but a mix of golden sand, fine pebbles and coraline rock. It is strongly tidal so an ever changing scene with lots of activity from local fishermen. There is plenty of wildlife, including an abundance of crabs and a good range of wading birds, including some 200 of the spectacular crab plover.

The rooms are excellent - we had a suite - which included an upstairs terrace, good verandah with hammock and shaded loungers on the beach. Elsewhere the hotel has lots of nooks and crannies which are ideal for sitting around and relaxing.

As we only stayed 3 nights we did not do any activities (although made use of the excellent spa) but would definitely have needed to do more if staying longer.

Meals were good and each evening they laid on something different; 1st night was on the restaurant terrace; second night on the beach; and third night a lovely surprise private dinner on our verandah.

The staff were approachable and friendly and taught us a few words of Swahili.

As with all places we visited there was next to no information on the local geography/ecology and no maps to help orientate ourselves." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Purple Rollers
UK

"Fumba Beach - the holiday!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2007
"We felt we had earned a few days by the sea by this time - proof of how well the whole trip was planned for us.

Fumba Beach was ideal. Very comfortable, friendly people and staff, nicely situated.

We had the extra bonus of an upgrade to a suite." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr Baobab
Wimborne

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"A beautiful and peaceful resort but for my tastes a little bland and isolated. The food, apart from the first night which was a swahili orientated buffet, was international and lacked much in the way of alternatives to meat or sea food.

The service was good but the staff seemed a little robotic and disorganised, there seemed to be several waiters for each table and sometimes there was a little confusion.

What lets the accomodation down badly are the bathrooms, they are poorly designed (wrong materials) and a lack of regular cleaning and ventilation led to them being both dirty and smelly." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Hoopoes
London

"Small, personal service at a beautiful lodge"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2007
"We were lucky enough to have a beautiful suite for most of our stay here. Wonderful room with a hammock, rooftop terrace and its own private sunbeds and beach area at the bottom of the steps. It was a friendly lodge with excellent personal service.

Edwin and Annemarie made a point of being around and chatting with the guests, which definitely added to the experience. I loved the Dhow Bar where everybody congregated before dinner and gave it a 'beach safari' feel. The staff were very friendly and encouraged me to learn a little Swahili.

Lots of little touches which made it special - especially a table laid on the beach for dinner on our last night - a lovely experience! Nothing was too much trouble. The beach is not so white as the east coast, but we were warned about this, but it is still nice and the seclusion of the location more than makes up for it." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Red-eyed Dove
London

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"Very friendly and well trained staff. Excellent etiquette. Plently of staff.

When we arrived we had some other people using our beach beds and when we asked the man in reception to ask them to move (as they could see into our outdoor shower), he was not willing to ask them to move, which was rather disappointing. Especially as he agreed that they shouldnt have been using them.

Vegetarian food was on the whole good. However there were at least two occassions when they forgot we were vegetarian. The availability of an a la carte menu at lunch was great. They catered well for us, though the options were repetitive.

We had a massage here - but I wouldn't recommend it. It was not great.

Bungalows were very cool, though we prefered number 6 over 5, less mosquitoes and cleaner. They both had lots of space.

Cool surprise dinner settings, this was very well thought out and made us feel special on honeymoon. Complimentary bottle of wine also helped us feel like we were on honeymoon." See all these reviews: 13n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr W & Ms B
London

"Fumba Break"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"Fumba was great, lovely food and great service.

The place was picturesque but the 'deluxe' rooms need to have a it of a facelift, the rooms themselves were noting special" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-37 of 37
87%
37 reviews of Fumba Beach Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

Unguja is a small, stylish lodge in southern Zanzibar standing on a quiet beach, with some of the most spacious rooms we have seen on Zanzibar.


92% (79 reviews)
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

Situated on the tiny Chumbe Island, this lodge is an award-winning example of eco-tourism, with excellent snorkelling.


98% (47 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa