This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Baobab from Wimborne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My trip to Africa

Zambia and 1 other country between 12 Oct 2007 and 30 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"An absolutely brilliant trip, everything and more than I could have hoped for.

Expert Africa's Anna Devereux Baker was exceptionally helpful when flight times changed, the Post Office went on strike and I needed a flight upgrade arranged due to back problems."

Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"We had a wonderful 2 nights at Tafika, the rooms, the food and the staff were excellent. We had some great game drives and a interesting bush walk to the neraby Chikoko tree camp during which we had a close encounter with a couple of lions, safely managed by our local Scout.

Tafika, Chikoko and Crocodile camps are run by the same company and have breakfast (at 5.30 am) before going out on the morning drive or walk. Frankly my stomach doesn't wake up until much later than I do and after experiencing the after drive breakfasts at Mwamba and Kaingo camps I have to say I prefer the latter, with a light lunch early afternoon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"As per my comments on Tafika Camp the rooms, food and service were excellent at Chikoko. We spend two days walking around the area of the camp and saw a great deal of wildlife, a lot of it from our balcony.

The Guide who escorted us was extremely competent and very knowledgeable. We especially appreciated the Tea Porter who accompanied us, after a couple of hours walking in the hot and dry bush a cup of tea and a piece of cake takes on a totally different meaning.

On one of the nights at Chikoko and for both of the nights at Crocodile we were the only guests and the poor Guide had sole responsibility for amusing us during meal times. It may have been a cultural thing but he seemed loath to ask us questions so the conversation was somewhat one sided and it must have seemed like we were grilling him. Could I suggest at times like these a professional host might be put to good use."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2007
"Another excellent two days and nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"A very comfortable and interesting two days and nights at a camp which is perfectly located for game viewing, even when you are sitting outside your hut or having lunch. I liked the after-drive breakfasts very much.

Although the viewing was very much centred around the lions in the area we saw a great deal of the other wildlife with a wonderful walk to Kaingo Camp through the Fairy Tale Ebony Forest to finish off."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"A great way to finish our safari. We had a house with an outside tub which when filled with cold water - it felt extermely extravagant considering it was the end of the dry season - helped me to cool off on a very hot day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"A beautiful and peaceful resort but for my tastes a little bland and isolated. The food, apart from the first night which was a swahili orientated buffet, was international and lacked much in the way of alternatives to meat or sea food.

The service was good but the staff seemed a little robotic and disorganised, there seemed to be several waiters for each table and sometimes there was a little confusion.

What lets the accomodation down badly are the bathrooms, they are poorly designed (wrong materials) and a lack of regular cleaning and ventilation led to them being both dirty and smelly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"An amazingly beatiful and peaceful island run by local people in a sustainable fashion. The food, service and accomodation were excellent. With only 6 guest houses it feels very exclusive but also very cosy.

I would recommend this to anyone. If it wasn't for the distance I would make it a regular visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"We only stayed one night at Beyt al Chai and had to leave early to get a flight so missed breafast, so can't comment on the food.

The management gave us a room in spite of it not being "booking in" time, which we obviously appreciated but wondered why we had been booked into this B&B if it was going to be a problem arriving early. We were picked up and driven directly to the B&B from our previous accomodation at Chumbe so didn't have a lot of choice of arrival time.

Although this B&B is rated "Exclusive" in the guide book I would rate it further down the scale, obviously this rating may be relative. It is close to the main attractions of Stone Town (if you can call them attractions). Due to the continual harrassment from street vendors we decided to eat in the restaurant attached to the hotel, which turned out to be a good choice."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team