This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

53% success

Leopard

6% success

Wild dog

38% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

89% success

Elephant

89% success

Zebra

89% success

Giraffe

82% success

Spotted Hyena

29% success

Wildebeest

24% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Eland

12% success

Pangolin

6% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S. from
Westport,

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"We were the only people at this camp so had the excellent guide Levi to ourselves!

The walking was pretty easy as it was mainly over flat terrain and the main heat of the day from 11.00 - 15.00 was avoided as we were in the camp during this period having lunch and a rest after our early start.

One thing worth noting is that on a walking safari you tend to see fewer animals than you do on a game drive - though those you do see give you more of an "Adrenalin" moment. We also learnt a lot more about stuff on the ground, the trees & plants, the animal tracks etc - we are now experts on dung beetles!

We really enjoyed this part of our trip walking through the bush but perhaps this wouldn't suit someone on their first safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2022
"We were a bit disappointed with Chikoko Camp. It seemed a bit tired.

From the raised terrace we could see animals approach the waterhole but bush growth prevented us seeing them once they arrived.

The plumbing was not very good despite the staff's attempts to fix it." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

B family
Switzerland

"Chikoko Tree Camp revisited"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2022
"Maybe we were so much impressed last time that this time we were (only very slightly) disappointed by the renovated bungalows and main meeting point.

Although the platform is good for viewing I slightly preferred the slightly more rustic appearance 8 years ago." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Solihull

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2022
"Walking safaris arent for everyone but we really enjoyed the chance to get close to nature and see the smaller details such as tracks and poo! The guiding really came into its own." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2022
"We loved the rustic simplicity of Chikoko, and were very impressed with the beautiful new double storey bar and deck area. The food conjured up by Patson was simply delicious and it was particularly nice this time round to visit the kitchen and witness him at work.

Even though we were only with Amon for a short time while we walked from Tafika to Chikoko we learned a huge amount from him, as we also did from Stephen who we joined at Chikoko and then continued on with to Big Lagoon.

A highlight was a wonderful and prolonged sighting of a honey badger as we made our way between Chikoko and Big Lagoon, which was very special indeed." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A.
United Kingdom

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2022
"A lovely camp with very comfortable lodges set on two levels. The bread and cakes in particular able to be prepared in the bush were superb. The walks gave us an excellent opportunity to get to understand more of the entire ecosystem within the bush." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Really good guiding and hosting. Wonderful room with a great view.

Only negative was the number of bees making breakfast an obstacle course rather than a relaxed delight!

We thoroughly enjoyed Levi's stories and Sasson's fire starting skills were most impressive. We enjoyed our kitchen tour almost as much as the local honey badger!

Padson does an amazing job and gave us a warm welcome!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2021
"This camp belongs to Tafika and is their temporary, seasonal camp, to which one walks, and then does walking tours.

This was our first experience with walking safaris, and we thoroughly enjoyed them, but suggest they may be more for seasoned safari-goers, who have 'seen it all', because the concentration is on the smaller flora and fauna--and birds. One sees fewer 'big things', but more in depth. Thoroughly enjoyed the slow pace and the silence. Camp amenities were wonderful, and make sure to get a tour of the kitchen!

Guiding is different when walking, but it was first rate!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss P
London

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2021
"This was my third visit to Chikoko. The changes here were more evident than at Tafika, but again, just improved comfort without adversely affecting the bush feel. I appreciated the stone floor downstairs in the chalet and the well laid out dressing area, the improved lighting throughout and the new staircases. It would be useful to have a light on or at the top of the stairs - going to the loo at night still needed a torch to light the staircase.

Food was excellent, and as at Tafika I appreciated the new wine selection.

Amon is a great guide and I really enjoyed my 2 days here. It was also lovely to meet the new shareholder, Mark and his friend who were great company. A highlight of our walks was a sighting of a male lion, but I also enjoyed the birding.

In the end, I thought my two days at Chikoko was the highlight of my whole trip. There is something very relaxing about being in an exclusively walking area." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N.
Milan

"My favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2021
"I enjoyed this camp a lot. Partly because I was the only guest there and partly because of the terrace above the dining area with a great view over the bush. Several times we sat there having tea and could see impalas, zebras or elephants.

The hiking team was great, although a bit less so than the one I had in Takwela. The scout was a bit younger and less experienced (but still very much up to the job, this is not a negative comment on him and he managed pretty well a couple of delicate situations) and was also very interested in knowing more about the Western world. And Sussa the tea-porter was more shy than the ones in Takwela.

The hiking was excellent here as well, maybe even a bit better. I have the feeling that we could get a bit closer to the animals as these are slightly more used to visitors compared to North Luagnwa (especially following a covid year with hardly any visitors at all)." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 114
99%
114 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (303 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (222 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (204 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (183 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (88 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (73 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (41 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa