This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

106 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

73% success

Leopard

10% success

Wild dog

30% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

83% success

Elephant

83% success

Zebra

83% success

Giraffe

70% success

Spotted Hyena

27% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Wildebeest

18% success

Eland

10% success

Pangolin

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 106
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2021
"This was my third visit to Chikoko. The changes here were more evident than at Tafika, but again, just improved comfort without adversely affecting the bush feel. I appreciated the stone floor downstairs in the chalet and the well laid out dressing area, the improved lighting throughout and the new staircases. It would be useful to have a light on or at the top of the stairs - going to the loo at night still needed a torch to light the staircase.

Food was excellent, and as at Tafika I appreciated the new wine selection.

Amon is a great guide and I really enjoyed my 2 days here. It was also lovely to meet the new shareholder, Mark and his friend who were great company. A highlight of our walks was a sighting of a male lion, but I also enjoyed the birding.

In the end, I thought my two days at Chikoko was the highlight of my whole trip. There is something very relaxing about being in an exclusively walking area." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr N.
Milan

"My favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2021
"I enjoyed this camp a lot. Partly because I was the only guest there and partly because of the terrace above the dining area with a great view over the bush. Several times we sat there having tea and could see impalas, zebras or elephants.

The hiking team was great, although a bit less so than the one I had in Takwela. The scout was a bit younger and less experienced (but still very much up to the job, this is not a negative comment on him and he managed pretty well a couple of delicate situations) and was also very interested in knowing more about the Western world. And Sussa the tea-porter was more shy than the ones in Takwela.

The hiking was excellent here as well, maybe even a bit better. I have the feeling that we could get a bit closer to the animals as these are slightly more used to visitors compared to North Luagnwa (especially following a covid year with hardly any visitors at all)." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr R.
Cowbridge

"Walking safari from Chikoko Camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Having just flown to Zambia the previous day and then the short flight to Mfuwe, we were all pretty tired when we were picked up at Mfuwe airport and driven the couple of hours to the banks of the Luangwa. Quite a cultural shock suddenly being paddled across the river and a short walk to Chikoko!

The weather was very hot so to be greeted by friendly faces with a cold towel and a cold beer was most welcoming.

The camp was beautifully laid out to of a very high standard of comfort in every respect. All the staff were delightful, friendly and helpful and the meals were exceptional, especially considering they were all cooked over charcoal and using bread ovens dug into the ground.

The walks we carried out in the mornings and evenings were both exciting and very interesting. We were very impressed with the knowledge of our guide, assistant guide and ranger and each of them were excellent company" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B & A
UK

"Chokoko Walkng Camp"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"Excellent for a camp really in the bush.

Chalet roof had leaked during previous day's rain. Staff a ready for this with plastic sheets to cover essential parts of chalet." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs S.
Zürich

"Luxury in the middle of the bush"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"Accompanied by Stephen, our guide, Ze, the scout and Justin, the tea bearer we felt safe and were much impressed by how they spotted animals from afar. One evening we saw a big pride of lionesses and could watch them without them being disturbed by us. It felt really special." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

The A team
London

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Moffat and Amon were a great team. The bread was amazing! Great owl experience due to African Scops owl resident. Pels fishing owl /Pearl spotted owlet and Great African Eagle Owl." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Two Travellers
UK

"Chikoko review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"We thought everything about Chikoko was absolutely great, from the cleverly designed two storey chalets, to the delicious food and the sense of immersion in the bush.

The walking was hugely enjoyable - informative and sensibly paced - and although we were unsuccessful in our attempts to see lion, we were thrilled to be compensated by a sighting of a Pel's Fishing Owl, something which has long been on our wishlist." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & S
NZ

"Enticing walking camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"We enjoyed the walks from Chikoko in the same way as we had from Crocodile, with guides Moffat and then Amon. It was fun avoiding being right in the path of elephants; we enjoyed the combination of the detailed appreciation of the environment and the necessary awareness of larger issues. Amongst the normal sightings of baboons, birds, warthogs and bushbuck we had the rarer pleasures of a Pel's fishing owl and a bushpig.

The accommodation at Chikoko particularly appealed to us with its upstairs bedroom: we had closeup observation of a bushbuck and more distant views of elephant and impala and warthogs from our room.

A lioness whose tracks had been evident around the camp slept outside our door one night - we heard her moving away when going down to the toilet, and could clearly see where she'd been lying in the dust. A hippo was also around at night.

On our walk out to the river on our last morning we saw a wild dog by itself - very exciting." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mrs F.
Dallas

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"We could not have asked for more convivial camps! We stayed at Tafika, Chikkoko, Crocodile and Mawleshi camps, and all camps were very comfortable with a friendly, welcoming, and efficient staff.
Our guide, Mofta, was awesome!
Truly an experience to be repeated!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Portsmouth

"Chkoko"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"A delightful place to stay with a lovely view of a small riverbed from the upstairs bedroom and the animals that wandered down to it, including baboons and a large group of giraffe. You would never know unless they told you that everything is set up at the start of the season and pulled down at the end, it is all very solid with wooden furniture that has to be carried in and out.

We had an excellent guide in Moffit for whom nothing was too much trouble and Amon was superb scout who shared his tracking skills on our search for lion.

The kitchen visit is not to be missed and the food was excellent; the vegetables come across from the main camp. We were left to imagine how the fridge is carried in and out every season - no easy task!

Smaller animals were also worth seeing - elephant shrew and a delightful small Scops owl which visited every evening while we were having dinner." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 106
99%
106 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
102
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (280 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (204 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (169 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (129 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


92% (12 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


95% (8 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa