This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge

Reviews of Puku Ridge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Puku Ridge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2021, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Puku Ridge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

91% success

Wild dog

75% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Eland

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B.
Bishop's Stortf

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2023
"Amazing situated on a water hole in the central part of the park.

Staff, rooms, food in fact everything was 10/10. Air conditioning over the bed was a welcome reprieve from the heat.

Guiding was very good and the knowledge and effort out in to find certain animals beyond belief.

The game viewing was good but not exceptional in this area but this was a great place to settle in to the daily routine.

Lovely little surprises for sundowners and lunches with pop ups In beautiful locations." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Liz C
Sussex

"Puku Ridge review"

5 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2023
"this place has the potential to be so amazing - location is incredible but... hated the plastic walls !!!! felt like Disney land - come on guys 5 stars?? we need authentic.
also the atmosphere in the lodge felt a bit off. our guide was very likeable but we both did not feel he was that engaged in it and he did not work that hard for us (my son had visited south lwanga before ) .
I am just not sure that this is 5 star yet. I was happy to leave tbh although my son did enjoy it - great wifi :)" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Paul
Doha

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2023
"My second visit to Puku Ridge by direct flight from Jeki airstrip in the Lower Zambezi.

Arrived in camp late morning Room 8. This has to be the most Luxurious of the camps visited.

The rooms are fabulous with amazing views from your room. Food is gourmet. Hosted by Clint and Sarah. Innocent was my guide. Some great Lion pride sightings near camp after dark and Leopards.

Drove some distance from camp near to the main gate to view a wild dog kill. Seems like most of the park was there !" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Dr T
Suffolk

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2023
"An amazing camp - I hesitate to call it a camp! Superb room with luxurious facilities.

Only problem was being kept awake by the aircom(!) as I could not find the control to turn it off the first night.

Wonderful location and particularly enjoyed the expansive terrace - a great location for the excellent meals, beautifully served. Delightful staff, nothing too much trouble.

Just a little worried that it was not my idea of a traditional camp !!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr S
Munich

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2022
"Puku Ridge was very flexible with eating times.

We could have breakfast, lunch or dinner when it suited us best. Compared to the lodges with fixed times, this was a big plus." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Bedford

"Puku Ridge review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"We were driven in a safari vehicle for approx. an hour from Lion Camp and were met by a guide from Puku Ridge at a halfway point. Another hours drive through the bush we arrived at the lodge.

We had a enthusiastic greeting by the management and staff who welcomed us with singing as we arrived. After a brief chat about the lodge layout and daily schedule from Grant, lodge manager, we were taken to our room by a lovely lady called Beauty who showed us around, including the star bed upstairs.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and well appointed with fans and aircon, if needed. There was a seating area, mini-bar (replenished daily, if required), tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite bathroom with indoor and outdoor showers. The outside deck and plunge pool overlooked a wide open plain where we spotted animals, such as, elephants, buffalos, puku, baboons, giraffes, and on one occasion, lions roaming through. The lodge and our room was literally on a ridge so we were looking down on a vast open plain with great views. The gravel path from the main deck to our room had several steps, up and down hill. Just a warning, particularly for elderly travellers - we found it a bit tiring at times.

The main lodge and large deck area was beautiful with lots of seating, a library area, dining areas, open fire (boma type) area, all looking over a waterhole and the grassy plains beyond. A stunning location.

The management team, Grant and Annemie and staff were efficient, polite and also great fun. The food was delicious and there was a choice on both the lunch and dinner menus.

Our guide, Abel found a number of good sightings hence there was lots to see on game drives including elephants, giraffes, herds of buffalo, leopards, prides of lion, hyenas, puku, baboons, hippos, ground hornbills, African fish eagles and white-backed vultures. We stopped one day for a surprise bush lunch which was amazing. Unusually, we had a wonderful stir fry cooked in front of us by Grant, the lodge manager.

We would definitely recommend this lodge for its location, game drives, food and such friendly and efficient staff." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr Paul
Doha

"Puku Ridge review June 2022"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"Arrived a Puku ridge from Jeki airstrip via Lusaka into Mafue. I was met at the airport by Andrew my guide for the next 3 days. One hour drive to camp with singing from the staff by Grant and Amilee the camp managers. I stayed in room 5 next to the main camp area. Rooms here are fabulous with great views over the plains and waterhole from the deck which has a plunge pool.

The food was excellent. One day on a morning drive we turned a corner on the track and found a dining table had been set up in the bush by Grant and his team and were welcomed to a stir fry cooked on gas. That was a nice touch. Andrew my guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and a keen photographer so would give me tips. We managed a full day game drive to the north where we managed to watch two separate lion prides.

We managed to watch Wild dogs hunting again and they caught an Puku. It could not be viewed as in thicket.

Special thanks to Grant, Amilee, Andrew, Mabel trainee guide, Moses and Masaki." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr N.
London

"Puku Ridge review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2022
"I can’t fault this camp or the service.

Everything is highest quality from rooms (stunning - some of the best I have seen) to the vehicles (bucket seats, usb and power points, large storage boxes for cameras etc) right down to the water bottles (double walled and insulated). Very minor points but indicative of their total attention to detail.

Food is next level." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Z
Z

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2021
"The most fancy camp. A welcome respite in extreme heat as it has AC (or a system similar to it). This property is very similar in layout to Sanctuary Chief's Camp in Botswana. It's almost uncanny. I think they must have used the same design firm before Sanctuary sold off this property.

Starbed is pretty fun. Plunge pool was amazing and I think they have a circulation system because the water is constantly maintained at a cool temperature.

The wide plains/waterhole in front of the camp is not as game-rich as I expected. It is quite a distance for the animals to walk to it from the tree-line. There is a hide looking out to the waterhole too where you are more on the eye level with the animal.

They also organized a cook out for 4 of us in the bush one day which was a pleasant surprise. It is Asian stir fry and tastes amazing. One of the camp managers (Grant), who used to be a chef at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, made the lunch for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Singapore

"Puku Ridge review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2021
"This was my second visit after 2017. Puku Ridge underwent a recent upgrade so I was very keen to experience the place once again.

The additions to the camp are amazing:

A secret hide to watch over the waterhole in front of the lodge is exciting for observing elephants, giraffes, warthogs, buffalos, pukus, impalas, zebras, kudos, baboons, birds including owls who regularly flock by.

A small pool is added on the veranda of each room. This came in very handy as the October heat exceeded 40 degrees Celsius in the Luangwa. Rooms are also equipped with A/C which makes the heat much more bearable. Of coz you can chose to switch it off and enjoy the breeze but that probably works in other months better.

The bungalows are now two-story. The upper floor not only gives you an elevated, even more amazing view of the plains, but it also features a bed so you can sleep under stars. Of coz it comes with a mosquito net so you don't need to worry about insects at night.

The most outstanding additions are the bush surprises...thanks Puku Team for these experiences. Very cool!!!

Meals are very tasty and of high variety. It was often difficult to chose from the options. They were all great.

Management and all staff are impeccable. There is really nothing that I feel could have been done better.

I highly recommend this camp. And spend a morning or evening in camp, and just enjoy the action that takes place around the veranda of your bungalow. It's Bush TV all the time.

Also, if your time permits, do a bush walk, the team is very experienced and does not take any risks. When we saw elephants, we detoured to give them ample space, same with hippos. Seeing hundreds of hippos from the riverbanks of the Luangwa River on foot is just cool.

Would always come back if opportunity arises." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
96%
21 reviews of Puku Ridge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (318 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (238 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (191 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (73 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


99% (68 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently undergoing renovations, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2022.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa