This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge
Puku Ridge

Reviews of Puku Ridge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Puku Ridge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Singapore

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Still captivated from the leopard kill we could observe from the veranda during the tea break. The plain's view creates an enormous bush experience. All meals served with a spectacular view. Tents are spacious, have a fantastic view as well. Camp is intimate, and game drives exciting. Leopards, lions, wild dogs and hyenas are around. Very few cars only. One camp where I truly like to return to. Meals very delicious. South Luangwa is such a great national park for cat lovers like me. Well done Puku Ridge family!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Toronto

"Wonderful, intimate place"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2016
"After staying in a couple of larger places, it was a nice change to come to Puku Ridge, where there are only a few rooms, making the overall experience there much quieter and restful.

The view over the flood plain was a highlight, with so many animals to see just from our dining table or private deck off our room/tent! The food was delicious and so special mention of the chef, William, who always checked in after every meal to see if it had been to our liking and who went out of his way to share a copy of a soup recipe I particularly liked.

We were given two special experiences while here - first, one evening our guide brought us to the top of a ridge where other staff had set up chairs and a bar and were waiting to serve us champagne as the sun went down (we had sundowners with the guide on other evenings but this one was "white tablecloth" level).

Second, on our final night, our guide brought us to a site where other staff had set up a BBQ and fire pit and lanterns. Here we shared a meal of Zambian food with the other guests staying at the camp. The surprise element of both these experiences and the care that went into executing them made them very special. This care and attention to detail characterized everything at Puku Ridge. " See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SarahSW19
London

"Pleasant stay at Puku Ridge"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"On the Expert Africa website the description at the top of the page says Puku Ridge has 6 tents, but then says 7 tents further down ( which is correct). I understand the comments they make on the website about the decor, but improvements have been made - for example there are no chrome bar stools - they are wooden now .There are still 3 chrome side tables they could get rid of though
Furniture is a bit hotch potch but OK , and I can't say it bothered me personally but just thought I'd update the description FYI.
There was a very nice deck around a tree overlooking the floodplain - where we usually took our meals.
Very comfy beds
Robe and slippers
Wake up call 5:30 with Tea in room
Breakfast ( hot or cold) 6am
Game drive 6:30 tea at 9:00 return by 10:00
Lunch 11-12:30
Tea 3:30
Game drive 4 - 7:30 with sundowners en route
Leaves 10:00-16:00 doing nothing though.
Might be better to go out at 6am, have snack breakfast enroute so could stay out longer ?
Transfer time from the airport according to EA is 3 hrs but it only took us 1.5 hrs and we drove through the river instead of taking the pontoon which was fun, but also indicates how much the river had dropped which isn't good for the animals.
Facilities- Mains electricity , hot and cold running water all times , hairdryer in room , floor fan
There is even a little gym box with a yoga mat and some light weights in it !
Unfortunately, I was rather ill for most of my time at Puku Ridge and I only have the notes I made on arrival to refer to.
The food that I saw seemed very good - probably the best of our trip and the staff were absolutely lovely . Personally, we didn't take to the manager during our stay who was called Evidence - but maybe that was just us. I was told by other guests that the other manager ( Levies) was away and they felt it changed the atmosphere of the place.
Our guide was Lamek ? ( apologies if misspelled but I was rather ill) He was very good and really knew his stuff .
Unfortunately, we saw no lions at all at Puku Ridge , but that's the luck of the draw
Prior to our trip I had read many reviews saying how fantastic the game viewing was - so we were just a little unlucky, I suppose.
We did however see a leopard kill from start to finish , which was amazing.
Lamek then played a little trick on us and told us that after he sees a kill, he gets sad and just has to go back to camp immediately.
We said "Okay" - and he drove off - only to take us to a hilltop where a champagne sundowner had been set up for and the other couple staying at Puku Ridge. It was a fantastic end to our visit.
The view of the floodplain from camp was great and if I hadn't visited anywhere else I would think it was the bees knees .
I think if the place you stay has a view of water , it automatically makes it more attractive.
We usually saw puku ( of course), zebra, warthogs, impala, baboons.
However , the subsequent camps we stayed at I found to have better views . The water hole in front of Puku Ridge was reduced to a muddy puddle which was neither attractive or of much use to the animals.
I can thoroughly recommend Puku Ridge , but I have to say it wasn't my favourite place out of the three camps in South Luangwa

" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Boston

"Puku Ridge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"A little harder to get to, Puku is its own oasis in the middle of Luangwa. Absolutely stunning set up, beautiful tents, main lodge and decks overlooking the river plain. In our case, the plain was dry, but the watering hole out front keeps animals around. And they are definitely around.

For our honeymoon, we would choose Puku. Candlelight meals, impeccable food and service, but not much else to do with teenage boys. It was fun for two days, but longer would have been a challenge. Still, Levies and our guide, Alick, were top notch, and the game viewing was simply stunning." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N
San Francisco

"5 star look and feel"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2014
"Beautiful setting against an open plain where puku,impala, elephants, baboons, zebra and giraffes frequently graze and take advantage of the small bit of remaining water. The bar/dining/sitting area is inviting. I particularly loved the wicker swings and circular chaise to curl up and watch animal life. They also have wifi in that main area so it gave me an opportunity to share my experience with friends.

The room is equally nice. I was in buffalo. The room is huge with amazing views of the plain. The outdoor shower is totally open to the wild life. I was able to watch a group of 8 elephants, a number of baboons and puku close up from my shower on one of my two days. It was the best of the 3 showers across my lodges for its feel and view. The room also has a large tub inside with a similar view but protected by screen. I meant to try it but ran out of time. The decor was inviting. The veranda was also fantastic with similar views to the main area and more or less spanned the entire room. The furniture was comfortable too. A nice plus that the others didn't offer was the shower cap and slippers.

The manager, Evidence, Limbi and the rest of the staff were extremely attentive, warm and professional. I appreciated that the primary guest facing people were local Zambians as the other lodges often seem compelled to hire foreign young white people to tend to the guests. I arrived with a cold and the staff were most accommodating including making me some special concoction of ginger and honey to try to soothe my throat. Unfortunately, as a result of being sick, I didn't get to have as much of their delectable cuisine due to lack of appetite. Unlike other lodges, puku ridge gives guests a choice of starter, main and desert as well as custom ordered hot breakfast. Tea break and sundowners are similar to the others. The food was top notch.

My drives at puku were okay. I had Elias one day and evening. He was very good and tried hard to have me see my priority animals. Elijah took care of me for a night drive and a transfer. While nice, he didn't seem to be as good about soliciting input/questions, finding animals not coincidentally next to the car or stopping for extended periods. It required me being a bit more assertive to ensure a good drive.

Reasons to stay: seeking more flexibility, quality time with a significant other or family (rooms are romantic and meals are not eaten as a group) , good game area, top notch food, romantic setting/room, demand high level of service and personal attention, seeking R&R.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Great game viewing from the camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"There were a lot of things to like about Puku Ridge. The location is great and the animal viewing from the camp is the best I've ever seen, we even had 2 honey badgers go past one evening. The rooms were lovely with indoor and outdoor showers and a nice day bed on the veranda for siesta time animal viewing. The food is excellent, and some people will like having a choice of meals (although I'm personally not bothered).

My guide Lameck was very enthusiastic and even took us out straight after lunch one day to follow up a tip off about wild dogs which I was keen to see. No luck, but it was much appreciated that he put in the effort. The managers were also very friendly and professional, especially Claire, and they quite sensitively allocated a very hardcore birding couple their own vehicle.

The main thing I didn't warm to was the lack of communal dining which, as a solo traveller, I really missed. I was sat with another solo lady but it would have been nice to have managers or guides join us for at least some meals. I realise not everyone likes communal dining, but other camps seemed able to accommodate those who requested separate seating.

I also prefer vehicles with no canopies, as at the RPS camps and Tafika, but again that is a personal preference." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
Wimbledon

"Puku Ridge safari"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2013
"Puku Ridge camp was very comfortable, the most spacious and luxurious safari accommodation we have experienced. The staff were extremely welcoming. We were the only guests so we had their very personal and undivided attention, but missed the contact with other guests that is part of the experience. Our guide on the game drives was excellent and very informative on details.

Overall the game did not live up to what we had experienced on previous days staying in the northern part of the South Luangwa Park, which had been exceptional. We saw two pairs of lions (one pair male, the other female), a leopard in a tree towards dusk and on another occasion on the ground at night, and 2 male giraffes fighting, as well as many hippos." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Christchurch

"Great lodge"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2013
"Cannot fault them. A bit strange the absence of women on the staff (at least they were not visible) but this was not a problem.

Loved the lunch in the bush." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G
Christchurch, NZ

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2013
"We enjoyed the fact that this was the only Lodge run entirely by Zambian nationals, and that they were making an excellent job of doing so.

Our Guide was not as personable or as knowledgeable as the others we dealt with, but the room and meal quality andservice was impeccable.

The setting of the Lodge was wonderful, but the overall number and variety of the animals and birds seen was perhaps a little less than our experience of Flatdogs and Lion" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
93%
9 reviews of Puku Ridge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa