This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr T from Amersham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

22

Excursions taken

0

More people should go to Zimbabwe !

Zimbabwe between 21 Oct 2017 and 1 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"All the logistics worked well but there was a lot of long distance travel between lodges and the roads were often in a very poor state.

Lodges were very nice and staff excellent. I was impressed by the way the camps used all local staff and supported the local village school at Ngoma from Camelthorn.

Guides were all excellent and really ensured we saw as much as possible."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

"the excellent alternative to Vic Falls"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"A superb lodge in a wonderful setting. Lovely staff.

A really good place to start your safari if you have already seen Vic Falls."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

"Full of rustic charm in a wilderness setting"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2017
"lovely thatched cottages set in the heart of Hwange.

A particular delight was the pool literally feet in front of the veranda where literally dozens of Elephant came to drink in a continuous stream.

Elephants everywhere and had some wonderful close encounters."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

"deserves its description as a "flagship lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2017
"A most impressive lodge with individual houses scattered in a camelthorn tree wood.

Super staff and excellent food. Had quite the best cheetah experience I've ever had -- two brother setting off on the hunt and later that day devouring a waterbuck calf.

Also enjoyed a delightful 2 hour walk through beautiful country."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My third trip to Botswana

Botswana between 13 Nov 2016 and 24 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A good mix of camps and locations.

Facilities very good at Muchenje and Savuti , ok at Pom Pom. Staff nearly all excellent. Lots of wildlife.

Organisation went like clockwork"

Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"first stop in botswana this trip"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"a safari lodge with some of the best aspects of a hotel.amazed to find aircon. excellent food and wine.

a very extensive and varied all-day tour -- two game drives and a 3 hour cruise on chobe river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"second lodge in botswana trip"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2016
"my room was more like a one bed apartment ! Lots of elephant noise as a continuous stream passed to the waterhole.

This is in the Savuti channel and overlooked by the dining terrace --magic. The staff were lovely and gave us a terrific song and dance introduction to dinner.

Lots of wildlife including a large pride of lions which despatched a buffalo jn front of us!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

"third and last camp on botswana trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"Nice people but a slightly tired appearance to the camp.

Room facilities good. Good wildlife including a freshly killed large kudu being consumed by a pride of 9 lions.

My guide was rather quiet and had to be asked for information but when it came it was very good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

My Jan 2015 trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 17 Jan 2015 and 30 Jan 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip met or exceeded my expectations. All went smoothly except the pre-booking of aisle seats for me. Apparently it did not appear in Kenya Airways system and I had to do it at checkin.

Also I found it very tedious at the end of a long trip to realise I would have to wait over 5 hours at Dar even though an earlier flight to Nairobi was available. I understand the need to give a safety margin on travel out of the bush, but I thought this was excessive and would have preferred to wait in Nairobi."

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"great camp and great wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2015
"weather hot and humid, typically low 26 C high 35 C , with one or two brief storms but mostly sunny. Camp delightful but furthest tents might be a bit of a trek if one was a bit disabled? Loo gets a bit damp if there is a downpour and wildlife invaded -- a frog fell onto my shoulder, several geckos appeared and fireflies - all inside the tent ! Shower worked well and bed very comfortable. Food very good . Some areas of the bush very rough and you get thrown about quite a bit.

Widlife excellent --breakfast visit from Lagos the elephant, lions mating, clouds of carmine beeeaters, masses of other birds, pack of wild dogs, numerous giraffes and elephants.
Good walking safari and boat trip as well as all-day game drives.

Guiding and driving very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"A little bit of luxury in the bush"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"Same weather as at Lake Manze. A longish walk to #1, my tent, in the heat. Very nicely situated above the river and good facilities. Camp buildings very smart and spacious. Food very good.

However, I was not very happy with the individual seating for dining (although there was a very nice pre-dinner gather round the fire). I raised this with Fausto the manager and he did manage to pair me up with 3 others once and the ranger once which was very nice. ( the chat is part of the dining experience and for a single traveller to be on his own "in the corner" was not so nice).

Widlife and birds excellent, particularly enhanced by excellent knowledge of guide Andrew. Excellent drives, boat trips and walks. Particularly nice to complete a walk and arrive at a laid out breakfast table overlooking the river!

Highlights - 2 leopards, hundreds of carmine beeeaters, unearthly cackles of the bush babies, huge herd of giraffes

Highlights -- 2 leopards, hundreds"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Really back to nature"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2015
"Weather different here - cooler (21) at night but still up to 35 C daytime as less humid. Unfortunately the area has tsetse flies and its almost impossible to avoid getting bitten in some areas (both geographically and physically !!)

Landscape very different with rolling countryside and big hills. Camp is more rustic but still attractive and food is adequate.

Highlights -- leopard with small kudu kill up a tree, mating pair of lions, getting hit by a torrential thunderstorm, massive herd of elephants - about 100, cheetah with impala kill, Jumanne's guiding and Edmond's driving."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Zambia June 2014

Zambia between 13 Jun 2014 and 25 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart from the lengthy air journeys, extremely enjoyable.

I was amazed at the depth of scientific knowledge of the guides and their professionalism, and I was very happy with the food and accommodation and the trouble everyone went to to make sure our needs were met. The countryside was lovely and the flora and fauna excellent.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

get BA to resume direct tlights to lusaka !"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"an excellent beginning to my trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"A lovely setting, with good food and excellent game drives, including a "very serious charge" from a hippo (our guide's words!)

Lots of birds. Only drawback is the longish hack to get to the Park gate."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"rustic luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"My first walk on this trip, which was lovely and a delight to come back to a shower with lashings of hot water ! How do they do it ?

Quality of guiding very good indeed which made the walks even better. A superb setting with an amazing night chorus of lion, hyena ,honey badger, hippo and wild dog !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Another lovely bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"More excellent walks with another very knowledgeable guide and varied terrain. Very good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Lovely position perched above the river."

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"A super game drive with a staring match with a lone bull Ellie and a sighting of an AARDVARK (!) with our guide Aubrey ecstatic !

Excellent food and brilliant guiding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"A superb end to my trip"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"We walked in to Mchenja from Kakuli with lots of very close lion tracks - quite exciting...... Another excellent game drive in the evening - TWO leopards.

The next day we were lucky enough to meet a pride just setting out on the hunt - 4 lionesses and 9 cubs (!) and followed them to witness the kill from 20 metres or so in front of us. Loud snarls and crunches of bones as they all dived in. What an experience ! Food excellent again. A superb end to my trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

An excellent holiday in a wonderful country

Zambia between 17 Jul 2013 and 27 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything worked like clockwork ( except the Lusaka hotel). I was amazed at the high standard of every aspect in the bush and the super staff eveywhere.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Perhaps a different hotel in Lusaka ? I met people who said the Sun Rock was very good. Personally I would prefer an overnight flight both ways."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nkwali

Nkwali

"my first camp in zambia"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"As this was my first camp on the trip I didn't know exactly what to expect, but I was delighted with the friendly staff and super food and accommodation.

The wildlife was wonderful, including a pair of lions mating and a very close daylight encounter with a beautifully photogenic leopard !"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"An idyllic location for Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2013
"A delightful location with super staff and excellent food and the "room" was great. The wildlife was prolific and I was delighted to see carmine beeeaters ahead of their season.

Also experienced a close encounter of the elephant kind when engaged in a loo break behind a tree!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"The ultimate wilderness experience"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Outstanding wildlife and wonderful walks. The camp was super - lovely people, excellent food .

I didn't think it could get better but this was the best -- to stand 50 metres from a curious bull Giraffe was amazing and we also saw elephant close up and a buffalo herd."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"a disappointment after the camps"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"Too large and impersonal. On arrival they had me mixed up with another Turner which took time to sort out and it was late and I was tired so not good.

In the morning they had the bill wrong - charged me for the room - which again had to be sorted out. Although I had breakfast included I had to leave at 06.20 so it was really too early to have it."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

A great visit to Botswana

Botswana between 25 Nov 2011 and 11 Dec 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"I was really lucky as my week in South Africa was great and I had a wonderful time in Botswana, all the arrangements worked really well except the one hiccup with Air Botswana and although it was annoying it wasnt a disaster.

All the moves worked well, except Air Botswana routed us via Kasane from Maun to Joburg adding 2hrs - it was lucky I had a 4hr stopover at Joburg or I would have had a mad panic making the London flight- not your fault but worth knowing!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just keep it going until my next time !"

Image alt

Own Arrangements

"wild dog and leopard magic at Sandibe"

9 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2011
"All the moves worked well, except Air Botswana routed us via Kasane from Maun to Joburg adding 2hrs - it was lucky I had a 4hr stopover at Joburg or I would have had a mad panic making the London flight- not your fault but worth knowing! All three camps were excellent with Sandibe particularly good. Food and drink good. Game drives very extensive and superbly guided. Particularly impressed with Gift at Sandibe who found us Wild Dogs who we followed on the hunt and next day a leopard that we followed for half an hour! Things for note ---- it was the Summer and mostly hot which meant it was very hot in the camps under canvas around midday. Game drives on very rough tracks were quite tiring and might have been a bit much for an older or not so fit person. More difficult to spot things in December as the rains produced a green explosion, but more than compensated for by the plethora of birds -I saw 125 species in 6 days ! I never ceased to be amazed at the expert knowledge of the guides and their fantastic eyesight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Moremi Under Canvas

"review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Dec 2011
"Things for note ---- it was the Summer and mostly hot which meant it was very hot in the camps under canvas around midday.

Game drives on very rough tracks were quite tiring and might have been a bit much for an older or not so fit person. More difficult to spot things in December as the rains produced a green explosion, but more than compensated for by the plethora of birds - I saw 125 species in 6 days !

I never ceased to be amazed at the expert knowledge of the guides and their fantastic eyesight."
Excellent
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2011
"Chef very good. Beautiful countryside - extremely varied. Things got pretty damp when storm hit camp and yet the staff managed to produce an excellent dinner!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2011
"All three camps were excellent with Sandibe particularly good. Food and drink good. Game drives very extensive and superbly guided. Particularly impressed with Gift at Sandibe who found us Wild Dogs who we followed on the hunt and next day a leopard that we followed for half an hour!

More difficult to spot things in December as the rains produced a green explosion, but more than compensated for by the plethora of birds - I saw 125 species in 6 days ! I never ceased to be amazed at the expert knowledge of the guides and their fantastic eyesight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team