This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp

Reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nsolo Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nsolo Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
NJK
Manchester

"Setting the standard"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"Is it my favourite because it was my first?

I managed to miss a flight, thereby arriving late and after dark, and spoiling all the arrangements but the staff took this in their stride. I was particularly touched that they'd realised I'd missed lunch and brought me a snack to eat on the journey from the airport. As I was the only guest in camp that night, the entire camp lined up to greet me on arrival which was an hilarious warm welcome. Hello Gloria, John, Albert, Million, Esther and everyone!

Location, location, location - Nsolo on the banks of the dry Luwi is just beautiful. Utter peace: I did have one morning in camp , enjoying the quiet (by choice) when my fellow guests were all out on drives/walks; even the camp staff were barely a murmur. At night there were the darkest of dark skies with fantastic stars and Mars glowing red. One evening we arrived back from the afternoon game drive to find the dinner table 'missing' - it had been moved onto the river bank so we could eat under the stars by lamplight. So very glamorous in the full sense of the word.

We saw six lion cubs idly playing on my first game drive, which set the tone for the rest of my safari week." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
Sanur, Bali

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2018
"This was my favorite place on the trip, despite only hanging out there for only 6 hours. It had a great vibe/energy and openness. I was completely immersed in the atmosphere and was completely relaxed. I connected with this place and the people here, particularly Gloria the manager. Nsolo really fit the safari stereotype. Its a place i could stay at for months while reading books, writing stories, eating good food and observing nature make its magic. The reason i didn't stay the night is because at that point we were tired of moving constantly, getting settled and going through the minor packing-unpacking situation. So we went directly to our final stop at Chinzombo and added a night there. Besides Nsolo being a favorite for me. We had the best meal of our trip there, prepared at lunch. Love it." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & family
UK

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Too brief visit to really judge." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
S & D
Herefordshire

"Nsolu Bushcamp excellent"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"Again, a wonderful welcome from Charity and all the staff. We particularly liked the way the staff at the Norman Carr camps introduced themselves by name when we arrived which made us feel like one of the family rather than have a "them and us" relationship. A brilliant night game drive with Prince, which was the only activity we did at that camp as we were there for only one night. We would usually have liked an afternoon walk but on this particular day were quite happy to forego it as we'd had the sleepout the previoius night and a couple of longish days." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Lovely Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2016
"This is a return visit (I was here in 2012). It remains a lovely camp, but as with Luwi I felt slightly uncomfortable here.

The other guests were lovely, but as a solo traveler, the hosting was lacklustre. Prince was a great guide, and we had some wonderful sightings. With regret, I feel I must mention the behaviour of the ZAWA scout and guide on the walk from Luwi to Nsolo. The scout was throwing things (clumps of earth I think) at a herd of buffalo to get them to move along." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms D
Ireland

"Warmest welcome at Nsolo Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Warmest welcome ever from Colo and her team, constantly willing to surprise & please you. They all make you feel "at home".

Overall a very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed bushcamp, It feels secluded, which I liked.

Interesting walks with very knowledgeable guides (Friday and Dr. Phil).

Would love to return and arrange a "sleep out" the next time!" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
TunbridgeW

"Nsolo Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2015
"The welcome provide by Colo and her team was wonderful

The guiding was brilliant by Simon and Filomen

The proximity of the lions to the camp and their nighttime roaring only added to our exciting experience" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2015
"After walking from Luwi we were greeted at arrival in NSOLO by Kolo with exuberant enthousiasm.

Julias was our guide as well in Luwi as in Nsolo and we enjoyed very much his company: very attentive , with excellent knowledge of the bush." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Do the sleep out!!!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2015
"We spent 2 nights at Nsolo. Actually, one of them was the sleep out in a dry river bed, which I highly recommend. Falling asleep while looking at the stars & the galaxy & hearing lions, leopards & hyenas in the vicinity was an unparalleled experience. The braai we had during the sleep out was amazing.

On our walking safaris, on one day, we came over a hill & there was a giant herd of buffalo. When we returned to camp & came up another hill, there was a herd of elephants we had to slowly go around. Wow!!!

Nsolo's manager, Kolo, is such a fun person & I thoroughly enjoyed our conversations. Phil is a superb guide & Bottle was an excellent ranger." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Bristol

"Never solo at Nsolo."

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Wonderful location inside the national park located along the dry river bed.
Spacious chalet, comfortable stay, often joined by elephants for afternoon tea. The food was excellent remembering that this is a 'bush camp' avec comfort.
Wild dogs regular at this location always a bonus.
Mild mannered excellent guide in Philemon, diligent Sarah as host and a friendly team throughout.
Thank you to everyone, a wonderful experience shared with some other wonderful guests." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 52
97%
52 reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa