This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp
Three Rivers Camp

Reviews of Three Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Three Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Three Rivers Camp.
Lion

57% success

Leopard

67% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

71% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Eland

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H
Worcs

"Three Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"This was probably our favourite camp. The star beds were magical, a truly unforgettable experience.

The camp truly in the wild and was full of elephants and hippos, there were lions very close by and a leopard was under our friend's tent one morning. We often had to be transported to and from the tent and bar area Our guide Jabes was excellent.

The comments about Kafunta and sharing vehicles applies to this camp too ie it would have been a good idea to ask about interests and put guests with similar interests together. This did happen but after we told the staff that there were differences about whether some guests were happy sharing with bird watchers.

The only real downside was the number of tsetse flies in the area. We were all badly bitten despite using copious amounts of insect repellant. Nothing seemed to work though the burning of elephant dung at the back of the vehicle did seem to help a bit. " See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Globetrotters
Belgium

"Beautiful setting and very remote"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"The camp is beautiful and very remote. The only thing that slightly spoiled our stay were the bothersome tse tse flies. They are very painful and abundant in this area. And there is not way to keep them from biting. Otherwise the camp is very pretty and the elephants come daily to drink at the camp waterhole. The hippos are close and at night wander through camp. The star beds are a real experience. The quality of the food and service is a notch lower than Robin Pope. Some of the drinks that were standard at Robin Pope were on the supplement list with Kafunta. The food was good, but not at all as good as Robin Pope.
The guides and staff are probably also pretty new at their jobs and are doing their best and learning. I think if they can handle the fly problem this camp will become much better in the future. " See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs S
W Midlands

"Three Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"This was the camp that I enjoyed the best. The camp is very open and so wildlife, especially elephants wander through all the time. We were in the tent the furthest from the main buildings and often had to be picked up and dropped off by vehicle because of the elephants.

However the best part was the star beds, this was just magical and so well thought out and designed. Jabes our guide was outstanding, with an excellent knowledge of birds and animals. It was great that he took us back to Kafunta lodge and then remained as our guide there. It would have been good if TJ had asked about the interests of different groups, so that birding people were not put with those that had no interest in them.

The matter was resolved by a quiet word with him, but one guest was rude to us at dinner, which could have been avoided" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Putney

"Three Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"It was fun having elephants roaming the camp.

Seeing African Skimmers in front of the camp was a special sighting.

Arrangements, meals and accommodation of a high standard." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Cape Town

"Three Rivers amongst the Elephants"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Three Rivers was absolutely wonderful. The fact that it only accommodates 10 people and that the 9 of us filled the camp was very special.

The close proximity to the Elephant coming to the watering hole was an incredible experience.

The food was SUPERB.

The rooms were beautiful and the highlight was sleeping on the sky bed, under the stars. It was wonderful hearing the sounds of animals grazing on the other side of the canvas tent.

TJ was a wonderful and enthusiastic host, who took the safety of his guests very seriously, much appreciated.

The staff were all extremely friendly.

The walking safari was also a wonderful experience.


" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Maryland

"Three Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"The walk from Island Bush Camp to Three Rivers Camp was outstanding. We were very fortunate to see a leopard and 2 hyenas on the walk, as well as elephants and other game. We attempted to track a lion but never found it. Our guide Andrew, who we had at Island Bush Camp, Three Rivers Camp, and on our return to Kafunta, was excellent, informative, and good company.

Three Rivers Camp was our favorite of the camps at South Luangwa and we loved the star bed. There were lots of elephants in the camp and hippos grazing at night. The area immediately around the camp is very open, making for good driving safari, but further away it is all dense woodland. However, one night we had good sightings of 2 different leopards by spotlight.

The manager TJ was very welcoming, attentive to all details including giving rides from bungalows to the dining area when elephants were in the camp, and a great host. On our last morning we wanted to walk but Andrew told us no scout was available. TJ asked what we had planned and when we reported that no scout was available he found one for us so we had a good walk before driving back to Kafunta." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Three Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2018
"Rooms, camp and camp staff (particularly TJ) were excellent but game viewing in the area was disappointing because of the dense Mopane woodland. We did not do any walking and this camp tends to specialise in this.

We had the same guide as at Kafunta who tended to drive off without checking that the passengers had finished viewing the game." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Miss P
London

"Lovely camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"Three Rivers was a much more positive experience than Kafunta in terms of the camp and atmosphere. The manager TJ was engaging, enthusiastic and a great host, and the communal meals were much more enjoyable for a solo traveller.

The rooms at Three Rivers are lovely and the game/bird viewing from the camp was excellent.

I was aware in advance that game viewing in this area would be a bit challenging, as the bush is thick and the game skittish. So I had planned to mainly walk, but I did have to be quite insistent about this as my guide seemed reluctant to do afternoon walks. Despite me having made it very clear that I wanted to walk on every activity, nonetheless on the second afternoon it was announced we were driving, at the last minute. The newly arrived guests (who I had already met at Kafunta) said during the drive (which was uneventful and conducted in near silence by the guide) that they had been expecting to walk, so on our return I queried why we had gone on a drive and the guide tried to say it was because of the other guests, but in fact he hadn't even asked them what they wanted to do. They were just as disappointed as me to drive as they were only staying one night at Three Rivers. I insisted on walks for the remainder of my stay. On one morning we also had to drive over to join walkers from Island Bush Camp due to lack of available game scouts - but at least I got to walk, at one stage I thought I might not be able to (thanks to TJ for "making a plan").

On the walks, I very much enjoyed the birding, but game sightings were few.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mimi
Miami

"Great Safari at Three Rivers Camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2018
"See prior comments on Kafunta review.

[Ed: These comments were: "Our favorite was Three Rivers and the sleeping platform under the stars. T.J. (?) the manager there was a great host and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our guide for most of the time was David and he was SUPERB!!"]" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
93%
9 reviews of Three Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa