This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp

Reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

70 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mchenja Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mchenja Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

36% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

57% success

Eland

20% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 70
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2024
"Mchenja bushcamp is in a spectacular location right on the Luangwa river so guaranteed sightings and sounds of hippos. At night they would graze next to our room and the first night one of them left a welcome present at our doorstep…

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, during the day the canvas parts are rolled up for full views and exposure, we had a very windy day whereby dust and leaves blew into the room. This camp has a bit more frills than Luwi and Nsolo, the bathtub is a nice ornament but who uses it, certainly none of our fellow camp mates.

Somehow Mchenja was missing the vibe we felt in the other camps. Maybe because of the slightly different guest profile that stays here, looking for a bit more frills, maybe because of the more formal service and the way things were managed? With 2 other couples we decided to have our meals at a big table allowing for a more convivial atmosphere, a guide joined us on two dinners leading to very insightful talks.

On our first night after the hot walk from Nsolo in the morning we were “surprised” to a dinner in front of our room instead of in the main area. While this was very well intended the execution lead to a very late meal, finishing at 9.30 pm, well beyond what we wished for. Unfortunately a case of great idea, bad timing, leading to a slightly akward start of our 4 night stay. A talk with the manager the next day did clear the air though.

Due to the extreme dryness wildlife viewing was hard work for our guide, the first 2 days we had good leopard sightings, apart from the abundant elephants and hippos. Adam did his very best and what we saw was up close and personal, he is a master in predicting animal behavior and movement and always positioned the vehicle in an optimal position.

A weather change on day 3 from unseasonably hot to much cooler came with clouds and gusty winds, it appeared as if the animals were sheltering as viewings became quite light thereafter.

The bushwalk the next morning was very productive though, with a dead hippo attracting hyenas that normally stay far away from humans. Being upwind also allowed for a close approach to an elephant family." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms Andrea L
USA

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2024
"Our guides Moses and Adam were amazing! Service and food were top-notch and exceeded expectations. The staff even went out of their way to stock non-alcoholic beer for me! The accommodations were very nice. I would highly recommend this camp!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr C
EBMATINGEN

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2023
"Mchenja makes you feel relaxed from the moment you get off the jeep to be greeted by the staff. A little smaller and more intimate than some camps, you instantly feel like you are getting special treatment.

Each and every member of staff is cheerful and efficient and more than happy to help and interact.

I am amazed at the variety and quality of food given their remote location.

Game drives are full on and there appears to be no end of animals and birds to see, including those that seem to like to visit the camp and add a little spice to the day! The guides are excellent and amaze with their knowledge of the area and the animals they seem to magically spot and instantly recognise.

Mchenja is without a doubt a wonderful place to visit for a safari holiday." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

T&N
Ohio

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2023
"We never wanted to leave Mchenga. The rooms were spacious, cleverly designed, beautiful, and well situated. Everything was so private. The staff were absolutely incredible. We were in awe of our guide Charles, he knows so much about the park, the history, and the wildlife. We also had the pleasure of being joined by one of the photographers, Luke, on our drives. He added to the fun. It’s clear that the staff have a great amount of respect for each other. Even though we were in rural Zambia, the luxury at Mchenga was something I’ve never experienced.

The food was excellent and beyond plentiful. My only bit of criticism was that it was possibly too much food! We really enjoyed our first stop on our trip, near the main gates of the park, but the sightings further north near Mchenga were more numerous and spectacular. Going out on drives from Mchenga, it wasn’t unusual to see only 1-2 other vehicles the entire time. Also, the Time and Tide trucks were significantly more comfortable than the others.

We want to return to Zambia and are planning to only stay at Time & Tide camps. We just don’t know if it will be to experience the rainy season in South Luangwa or if we will explore other parks!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr G.
Devizes

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"This was nights 5,6 & 7 in this area and our 3rd Time and Tide camp so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.

Again, different chalet features were nice. The open plan bath tub was a nice touch but no time to enjoy it.

The room was affected by a significant fall of leaves but the staff tried their hardest to keep it clear. It was not a problem for us even when we noted that some of the leaves in the bathroom had eyes and were particularly frog shaped, mainly because they were frogs.

The game sightings were spectacular, particularly the leopard family of 3 whom we followed through the bush of a significant time." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr C
EBMATINGEN

"Majestic Mchenja "

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"Our return to Mchenja was everything we hoped it would be and more. Fantastic location and a beautiful layout to the camp makes this a perfect spot to spend time in the bush.

Our tent was excellent, and the bed especially comfortable. No faulting any of the amenities. We love the communal area, the dining set up ( although communal dining could be an option if asked?) and the facilities it all has to offer. Given the location, the quality and delivery of food is outstanding.

Game viewing was excellent and our guides were extremely knowledgable and sensitive to what we wanted to see. Walking safari was brilliant.

In general, the staff at the camp seem a really happy team, and this shows through in their ability to provide a first class service with a laugh and a smile. Special mention to John who took care of us on the game drives as well as running a great team.

A small note of negative. When we last visited Mchenja we loved the breakfast bar canoe, the chairs under the natural shade, the old photos on the wall of the hall and the well used guide and bird books. Sadly, these have all disappeared and I personally don't see the addition of large ultra modern umbrellas and fancy lamps and lampshades, amongst other modern equipment, as being an enhancement to the aesthetics of the camp. Please don't turn this beautiful place into a 5 star hotel in the bush." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K.
Bottmingen

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"we had a lot of fun with John and Gloria.

poor house-keeping after a heavy thunderstorm, when the rooms and the main building completely got wet.

excellent food and again very friendly staff" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Mr RVM
Sintra

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"The highest points of our stay in Mchenja Bushcamp:

1- The people - Emmanuel (manager), Nation (ranger), Jon (our guide) and all the staff. During an amazing dinner, Emmanuel shared is knowledge about Zambian culture with us, told us about the multiple origins of the Zambian people, their languages ​​and dialects (73), their habits and traditions, and about the impact of the Western culture on these traditions.

2- The food - always delicious! On the second night at the camp the Chef cooked for us one of the most traditional dishes of Zambian gastronomy - Nshima. Unforgettable experience.

3- The Bushcamp itself - location, accommodations, service, facilities.

4- The activities and the wildlife - impressive number of leopard and hyena sightings, thanks to Jon.

An aspect to improve: the lack of communications, including the internet, although it is great to keep you focused in your job (walk and drive safaris) can be a serious limitation if you are in need to hear from your family very far away..." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"A long-awaited return to Mchenja"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"The camp has changed a bit since our last visit in 2013 due to the erosion of the river bank - but the chalets are improved and very comfortable with a great view over the river. The outdoor showers always delight.

Whilst there we had several close encounters with the local wildlife: lions in the camp by the swimming pool on our last day (they munched through the cleaning pipe and scattered it around the area); a small herd of elephants when we arrived for a surprise sundowner which had to be diverted by our capable guides and scouts; two elephants in the camp on the day we arrived, one of which was enjoying the taste of a chalet's doormat and knocked our bathroom's light fitting away. The elephants both kept us in the sitenje for 20 minutes or so after lunch. Life wasn't dull and it was huge fun." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The B family
Swindon

"Amazing location at Mchenja Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2019
"The remote location and small number of chalets at Mchenja Bushcamp is excellent and gives a luxurious air to the camp.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. John, the Camp Manager was an excellent guide and Nation was a super scout to spend time with. They had a super sense of humour.Alice was a great deputy camp manager/host.
The food was amazing and plentiful.
The chalets are well designed, loved the outdoor bathroom and super views of the river. You feel secluded form other guests which is lovely.
The wildlife experience was excellent with plenty of great sightings of most species and birds.The camp species tick let booklet was an excellent idea.
They provided a special anniversary dining experience which was very special and thoughtful.
It would be lovely to have spot light in the chalet to shine across the river at night." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 70
98%
70 reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
64
6
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (319 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (240 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (213 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (192 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (154 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (152 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


98% (119 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (93 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge is now the main office base for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (74 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (74 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (55 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Luangwa National Park.


96% (45 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (39 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (29 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


95% (26 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (24 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (20 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (18 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (16 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge sits at the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (13 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (13 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, in an area with a range of habitats to explore on foot and by 4WD.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Luangwa

Opened in June 2021, Shawa Luangwa Camp is a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (2 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Currently in the final stages of an extensive rebuild, Chichele Presidential Lodge stands high within the park, with superb views, and is due to reopen in late 2024.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a more traditional property in the South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa