This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp
Mchenja Bushcamp

Reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mchenja Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mchenja Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Wildebeest

38% success

Eland

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
G & L
Washington DC

"Wonderful visit"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"Spent two nights here in the latter part of August.

Great setting on the river with all of the hippos. Very comfortable camp in all respects.

Great game drives and hikes....we saw all that we expected. The highlight was a leopard in the tree with his kill.

Wished we could have spent more than 2 nights. Highly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms SF & Mr JMW
London

"Gully of Death!"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"On our way to Mchenja Julius took us to see the dead hippo which had been a source of interest for all of us over the previous few days. It had taken a while for the hyenas and vultures to get wind of the feast that awaited them and it was fascinating to observe the process. Brian, our guide at Mchenja, drove us to the Lion Plain and also to another place he called the "G O D", or "Gully of Death", where a particular leopard liked to hide, waiting for some tasty morsel to be grazing on the land beside it. John wanted to see a kill, but I wasn't so sure.

There had been a warthog caught by lions which we nearly saw and heard about later, but I'm not sure I'd've been happy to have witnessed a warthog squealing for 20 minutes. I grew particularly fond of warthogs, with their business-like ways...

At Mchenja we first met Enock, who was very welcoming, and later Vanessa took over the 'host' role, explaining that she moved about between camps as a temporary host to give the others a break. I loved the bath tub with a view, in our chalet." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Delightful stay at Mchenja Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2015
"Gorgeous setting in an ebony forest overlooking the river. The rooms are particularly well designed & food is excellent.

The hostess Tasha was charming and guide "Uncle John" was especially entertaining.

The sightings were truly spectacular: 2 leopards came down from a tree and "posed" for us right beside the vehicle, we saw a big male lion with his baby hippo kill, elephants crossing the river right in front of the tent, excellent bird life etc etc... The morning I left, lions were sleeping IN the camp! I could have stayed longer!" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Best animal viewing of our trip!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2015
"We chose to do all drives at Mchenja & had an amazing animal viewing experience! In one day, we saw 9 leopards & 11 lions - we even tracked a pride of about 5 lions on foot at one point. Once, when we set out on our afternoon drive, there was a leopard literally right outside the camp!

Mchenja overlooks a watering hole, so there were always animals around - lots of loud hippos, elephants, baboons, crocs & even a leopard. There always seemed to be elephants around camp, including one who popped by our room on several occasions & was lurking around at dinner!

Manager Amy is a sweetheart & John was the perfect guide - I seriously don't know how he could spot animals like he did & he has an awesome personality as well. Mchenja surprised us with a private champagne dinner set up outside our room. They got all the small details & touches just right." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr T
Amersham

"A superb end to my trip"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"We walked in to Mchenja from Kakuli with lots of very close lion tracks - quite exciting...... Another excellent game drive in the evening - TWO leopards.

The next day we were lucky enough to meet a pride just setting out on the hunt - 4 lionesses and 9 cubs (!) and followed them to witness the kill from 20 metres or so in front of us. Loud snarls and crunches of bones as they all dived in. What an experience ! Food excellent again. A superb end to my trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss CH
E London

"A beautiful location overlooking the river"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"Probably my favourite camp for location - right by the river with wildlife all around." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss M
Maidstone

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"Mchenja was possibly our favourite of the 3 places we stayed with NCS. It combined considerable comfort with a brilliant combination of walking and driving safaris which we did with Julius and Batwell the scout.

Ian hosted us on our first night here - and he was superb at filling us in with everything and sorting out any queries we had. Nikita was with us for the second 2 nights and she was also a delight, great company and very efficient with it. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed the big bath in the room each night - a real treat in the bush. We also liked the fact that we didn't have to have mosquito nets here which makes it much easier if you have to get up in the night!

We especially enjoyed the location with the hippos chorusing all night and the lions roaring across the river. We had a few extra visitors in the room - a wallspider (harmless), huge caterpillar, geckos and lizards which were all ok as they were no threat! The food here was again fantastic and no effort spared to sort me out as usual.

One of the highlights for us was on our last morning when we came upon the Mwamba lion pride - 17 adults and three cubs- fantastic, Julius and Batwell always knew where to find great things! 3 nights here was ideal." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Devon

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"There is no doubt that the presence of water enhances any camp, and this was the case at Mchenja. The sight of the river as we approached lifted the spirits just that extra bit and added another dimension to our experience and enjoyment.

It was in this camp that we first found animals so close that they came through the camp in their daily feeding routine. I was able to just touch an elephant as it glided past our tent in the middle of the night, so the staff mean it when they say you must not walk about at night by yourself !.

Again, wonderful close-quarter meetings with many species." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"great"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Dr B
Warwick

"Mchenja Bushcamp - a great stay"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Had a great walk from Kakuli to Mchenja with Julius (yet more lions).

Mchenja is a lovely camp. Niketa runs a great team and made everyone feel comfortable. Situated on the river (not quite as dramatic a view as Kakuli but room lovely). Great having antelope around room eating flowers from sausage trees. Great watching animals coming down to drink at river - highlight was a leopard walking along the bank while we ate lunch - never be without your binoculars. We had Room 5 which is the most secluded and set back quite a bit from the river so not such a good view from the deck and not very shady until later in the day.

Simon was our guide - while more distant than Innocent or Aubry - he was once again very good. Following a herd of elephant on foot from grazing to the river was such fun. Again here we saw so much including a close up leopard sighting and topped off by two two month old lion cubs." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 63
98%
63 reviews of Mchenja Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa