This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Ms G from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Zambia July 2018

Zambia between 20 Jul 2018 and 31 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Once the problem of our missed connection was dealt with most efficiently and good naturedly on a Saturday morning by Richard, Freddie and Chris, everything went smoothly.

No changes of plan and no further hiccoughs meant that we had a wonderful holiday in south Luangwa. This was our 2nd trip and we enjoyed it even more than the first.

Our 3 camps were in a similar area, being on either side of the river, but as each game drive is different and covers different areas around each camp, the similar location didn’t matter at all. In fact we were thrilled to finally see a wild dog pack whilst at our 3rd camp, although the dogs were very close to our 1st camp but we hadn’t managed to find them there. As always on safari, expect the unexpected!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"Wonderful tented chalet after 24 hours travelling and to have our own deck over the river was special.

The camp was run very efficiently and we much enjoyed the pre dinner drinks in the main area with the other guests.

We had a surprise brunch one day on the river bank with a full ‘African ‘ breakfast. A very nice treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena revisited"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"The camp has relocated since our last visit but was still delightful. Bertram had been our guide last time and is now camp manager so it was good to see old photos of 8 years previously.

Our guide Julias also remembered us from before and he was a great guy, excellent guide and lots of laughs on safari.

Service was good though we thought the food wasn’t quite as good as it might have been."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"The accommodation including a free standing bath was excellent. The food was superb, the best on our trip.

Our guide John was knowledgeable, great sense of humour and a delight to be with.

The only point we have to raise is the lack of animal and bird check lists. This is particularly relevant as you have asked us to detail sightings. But the staff were very helpful and accommodating in every other aspect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Apr 2015 trip

Tanzania between 17 Apr 2015 and 28 Apr 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great apart from Kenyan airlines"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2015
"Although we were the only guests in the lodge, everyone put themselves out to make our stay memorable, including putting rose petals around our dining table and putting on a show just for us.

Although most guests stay just two nights here, we would have preferred to stay for three nights and perhaps go on a walking safari and have some time to relax.

A splendid location which sadly we were not able to appreciate fully, even though we did manage three trips into the crater itself."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2015
"Lots of cheetah and lions in the Serengeti but one guide not up to standard expected and staff generally poor on speaking English although both they and the manager were helpful."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Kleins Camp

Kleins Camp

"Kleins Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2015
"A superb experience all round at this camp, the best of our trip. The food was also the best we had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia and Malawi trip August 2010

Zambia and 1 other country between 5 Aug 2010 and 15 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"we were very pleased with how smoothly the entire trip went, especially as this was Africa and we were prepared for the unexpected.


We were surprised at the quality of the service with SA airlines and the only small criticism was that we were not met very efficiently at Lilongwe airport on our arrival from Mfui. I went chasing around the airport asking for Robin Popes representatives to be told by actual driver that someone should have told us where he was. But after this hiccough, he was very amenable and indeed drove us perfectly to Pumulani. So, perhaps, this was just a misunderstanding at the airport.

Overall, we had a wonderful time, thank you"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Although the rooms were compact, we quickly learnt to enjoy them. The only problem was finding things in the dark after the generator was switched off and early in the mornings.

Also, breakfast by the waterside was indeed magical, but it was totally spoilt by the wasps around the jam pots etc and so had to be eaten at speed whilst fending off the wasps. Maybe another system could be found to eliminate this problem."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"Superb guiding, enthusiasm and attention to detail by Bertram in Simon's absence made the whole experience here, informative, enjoyable but above all fun.

Everyone in this camp seemed to work as a team and made us, the guests, feel part of that team"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"Sadly the unseasonal bad weather did not allow us to enjoy this camp to the full, but the welcome from all the staff and above all from Luke and Bettina helped to make up for what we were missing.

The village visit was a memorable experience, being a real village, not one set up for tourists and the dhow trip was lovely, even with extreme winds!

The accommodation in the spacious and well equipped bungalows was outstanding"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team