This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp
Kleins Camp

Reviews of Klein's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Klein's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Klein's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Kleins Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"The reason we rate this as good and not excellent is because of the game viewing in the concession. The Maasai have been grazing large herds of cattle within the concession which has become an issue. When we were there large herds were still present and this appears to be affecting the wildlife numbers. The &Beyond staff were apologetic right from the start of our stay which made us suspicious. I would not stay at this camp again for this reason alone.

However, the camp is in a wonderful position and the staff are very welcoming. The lodges are excellent and food delicious. Thankfully we opted to drive across the Serengeti National Park on our second day to see the wildebeest crossing the Mara river. The wildlife we saw on this trip and the action at the crossing made up for our disappointment in the concession." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr B
California

"Safari elegant!"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2016
"The staff, our guide and the grounds!!!! Heaven! Long lasting memories!

Note: We made a decision to leave from Nomads camp early in the morning towards Kleins, after a talk with Raben our guide....however, not knowing the jeep was not enclosed. We didn't get that detailed information during the talk, the night before. It was cold. Hot water bottles would have been very helpful.

Ellie was a wonderful help and a super personality! We just adored all of the staff. Raben found so many wonderful things for us to see!

Didn't like the fire situation. We understand the need...but it got a little close on the night drive home. Flames were licking the jeep (open jeep) at one point...we had to drive through the sparks. We made it." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms G
London

"Kleins Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2015
"A superb experience all round at this camp, the best of our trip. The food was also the best we had." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Australia

"Kleins Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Fantastic. Our guide Seleous(?) went out of his way to make sure we didn't miss any of the action. The ability to go off road in this private concession was a good change from the national parks.

We would definitely visit again." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Abu Dhabi

"big cats"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"The trip to Kleins began so well, with the sighting of a family of cheetah (mother and 5 youngsters)) who were sunning themselves on a rock not too far from the track we were driving along. We were accompanied by two men from the &Beyond foundation, who gave us a lot of interesting information about the good work done with the locals.

Wonderful views from our new room, over the 'concession' lands - in some ways it looks similar to Scotland but with giraffe and zebra visible !!

Erasta, our guide is an enthusiastic photographer and was able to help us set our new camera for night photography when we found a leopard with its kill up a tree. We sat under that tree for ages - an experience we had never dreamed of having! Also found a pair of lionesses with a kill from the previous night, just lying next to a partly consumed carcass, waiting til they felt hungry ! This was the only place we also had a spotter sitting in the jump seat on the bonnet of the truck - his sharp eyes ensured we didn't miss a thing.

Lawrence left his ebook at Manyara - it had already been found and a call made to Kleins before he had even missed it. It arrived with the next plane the following day.

After spotting a lioness strolling across the plain nearby, Erasta found we had a flat tyre and no tools to replace it - thank heaven for the radio. While we waited for reinforcements, it was an interesting experience to have seats set up with a prime view and a breakfast feast cooked for us when there were obviously big cats nearby. Help arrived by motorbike, which then had to be pushed to help it start so the rescuer could go back !! It all added to the wonderful experience that was &Beyond." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Klein's Camp safari"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"Because the Klein's airstrip was temporarily closed, we began our stay by landing at the Lobo airstrip and driving through the national park to reach Klein's Gate. While landing at Klein's would have saved time, we nevertheless had an enjoyable drive through large herds of zebra to reach the camp. We were welcomed by the entire staff and escorted to their beautiful bar with a panoramic view of the Klein's Concession.

The view was just as spectacular from the porch and windows of our large room. We appreciated the ample storage space, comfortable chairs and reading light, luxurious bed and pillows, and bathroom amenities. If we had any artistic talent, we would have made use of the art supplies that are available in the room.

Askari escort you in the early morning and the evening as you walk to and from your room, but the times for your guard to arrive must be set up in advance as there is no telephone or walkie-talkie to call them. Of course, there is a whistle and even an air horn if an emergency exists. You are assigned a butler who makes those arrangements, serves you in the dining room, and takes care of any needs you have. Our butler Robert was gracious and easy to talk with.

The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. Second helpings were always offered, even though we rarely had room to eat more. On two occasions we went on early morning game drives, leaving camp at 6:30 a.m.. Our guide Alex and tracker Leboo prepared delicious meals in the bush, setting up two grills and preparing beverages, toast, bacon, sausage, and eggs to order. What a feast! In the evening, our game drives also included a stop to prepare cocktails and watch the sunset before switching on the lights for a night drive back to camp.

One evening we were surprised by an unannounced dinner in the bush -- we were told that the dining room was closed and that we had to get in the car. We arrived at a torch-lit site with a blazing fire in the center, rimmed by dining tables and barbecue grills. We had a delicious meal beautifully served in a romantic setting.

On our last day, we had requested a visit to a Maasai village. We began with a game drive, and then journeyed across the river to a local village to visit one boma. While Klein's has an arrangement with the Maasai that they may bring guests for tours, they do not make specific arrangements for each visit. Therefore, you will see village life as it is really happening rather than a staged performance. In our case, all of the men we out tending the cattle, leaving only a few women and the children behind. We entered one dung hut with our guide Alex who described life there for us. Our tracker Leboo spoke the Maa language, so his help was invaluable to us when we came out of the hut and found that the women had arranged blankets full of jewelry and other goods for us to buy. We were asked to pay $50 in cash directly to the Maasai girl who allowed us in to her hut, and then used more cash to make a few purchases.

While we missed seeing the Maasai ceremonial performances in the village, as some camps arrange, we had had the opportunity to see the Maasai "jumping dance" the previous night during some surprise entertainment at dinner in the camp. So we felt like we got the best of both aspects -- seeing the ceremony and traditional costumes, but also seeing the real daily life in the village. We had booked 4 nights at Klein's Camp so that we would have time for the Maasai visit, but since the village is so close and the visit there is integrated into the morning game drive, we could have easily done it in a 3-night stay.

We had the same guide and tracker for each of our game drives. Guide Alex was interesting and informative and helped us understand the animal behavior and environment. We usually shared the open Land Cruiser with one or two other couples. The variety of game was good, with large herds of cape buffalo and zebra, and we had our first sightings of leopards there. One fun sighting was of a hartebeest being stalked by a leopard, who was in turn chased up a tree by a lioness. Our guide and tracker were delighted by it, saying that it was something you rarely see happen.

Klein's Camp is a wonderful place to stay -- great staff, great accommodations, and great game viewing. We highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Excellent"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2010
"Pretty much perfect.

Great setting very engaging and friendly team, very personable - good mangement. Nothing too much trouble. Very child friendly (we had a 10 and 12 year old). Bush breakfasts with our guides were great.

Great tracker (Leboo) and guide/driver (Alex) and we saw pretty much everything we needed to see in 4 days. Highlights were 2 lion kills and a trio of Leapord playing in a tree for 30 minutes! Would happily have stayed longer but to be honest the size of the concession meant that we had pretty much covered all of it.

Emanual the chef is a genius - easily the best most interesting and tasty food we have ever had on safari - consistently brilliant" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms L
London

"Kleins Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2010
"For those who want to experience safari in the true sense of the word this camp is a great choice. Off roading, walking, night drives and only one or two other vehicles out in the expansive private concession hence you really get to feel close to the wildlife and not on the tourist trail.

Hosts were the warmest and friendliest we met and so were the staff. People clearly enjoyed working there and it permeated to the guests. The lodge is extremely low key and comfortable - not glam like the crater lodge but the staff, the views and the food ensure it is at the top of its game. (Rangers were the best we came across)

Bush bar with bonfire and lanterns was the best we saw of the entire trip. They really went the extra mile

Only comment - portions of meat/fish felt very small especially at lunch and often had to ask for a bit more chicken etc as one drumstick for a main meal for example would be served." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
E Susx

"Kleins Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2009
"Our stay at Kleins Camp was the highlight of the holiday. It was good that we went there third otherwise we would have found the other locations less exciting given the game viewing at Kleins was exceptional. Our stay here was perfect.

Our guides (Malley and Gwando) were exceptional and knew exactly what they were doing. They were very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and had a great sense of humour. We really enjoyed the way they tracked the animals and led us to an amazing number of exciting experiences, from the tracking of a beautiful leopard and her cubs to a few yards to getting us to the right place to watch a pride of lions catch and kill a buffalo. The ability to track off-road at Kleins gives it such an advantage over the other lodges. The early mornings with breakfast in the bush and night drives are another great aspect of Kleins and we would have seen much less without that flexibility.

The accommodation was excellent and very comfortable - we particularly liked the hot water bottles we found in the bed on the colder nights. The views from our room were very good, but from the bar & restaurant are totally stunning.

The service at Kleins was as good as anywhere and felt very personal. This extended to every member of the team that we met, from the Masai camp security up to the lodge manager. Our butler was very friendly and somehow always there before we realised we needed them ourselves.

The food at Kleins was also the best we had. What set it apart from the other safari lodges was that the food was not as heavy as others could be and always very tasty." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
W family
Pennsylvania

"Best night drives at Kleins Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"& Beyond went over the top Beyond in location, accomodation, service and expertise.

I smile just thinking about their plaid table cloths laiden with treats from greeting us at the airstrip to sundowners!

The guides went out of their way to locate a pair of cheetah brothers. Rabin our guide and "Mr Cute Masai" our tracker Hats Off to Both. I will never forget the thrill of riding in an open vehicle looking face to face with a noble huge regal male lion. Rabin told me to relax and enjoy he would keep me safe. He did and to say I enjoyed would be an extreme understatement!

The night drives were exciting. Gave us a whole different perspective of the bush! Thank you Rabin for the quote"Never shake hands with a bush baby"!

Expensive and worth every cent! Perfect in every way." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
98%
10 reviews of Klein's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa