This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Cumbria

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Tanzanian Safari October 2016

Tanzania and 1 other country between 29 Sep 2016 and 12 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was a wonderful experience and we were so pleased to have chosen &Beyond lodges for all of our camps. The transfers between each accommodation linked together very smoothly except for one issue.

You have not provided a link for feedback on the taxi services between main airports and our hotels in Nairobi and Arusha i.e. Southern Cross and Asillia.

Southern Cross collected us on arrival at the airport at the start and end of the holiday. Collection and delivery to the hotel went smoothly on both occasions. However, pick up and return to the airport was a different matter.

After arriving in Nairobi at the start of the trip my first question to Benson of SC was what time we were to be collected for our flight to Lobo. His answer was what time is your flight and where are you going. I showed him the ticket for Precision and stressed the 7am flight time and the 6am meeting at terminal 2. Because it was an international flight he was suggesting arriving at the airport 3 hrs before departure. To cut a long storey short we were collected at 4.30am, taken first to terminal 1C then 1B then finally the driver took us to terminal 2. It was now 5.15 am and of course there was nobody there to meet us. Eventually someone from Tradewinds collected us and took us through to check-in and then the aircraft.

Similarly, on our final return to the airport for our return home we arranged with Benson to be collected at the hotel at 14.30pm. The driver arrived at 10.00am. He hadn't been in contact with Benson but had been given instructions from the main office. He came back at the requested time.

OK this wasn't life threatening and it is Africa but we could have missed a flight. SC don't appear to follow instructions, either from the client at the time or from whatever Expert Africa arranged with them."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni - great start to a safari"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"The photographs of this hotel are misleading in that the open green space shown on the city side of the hotel is now a new busy bypass road, so it is advisable to book a park view room.

We stayed here for two nights before our safari and a single night on our return. We found the rooms, service and food to be excellent and on our return stay we were upgraded to a suite. Without doubt would stay here again.

We arranged a morning game drive in the park through the hotel desk. This was a very rewarding trip as we had better views of rhino's here than in our main safari camps. Would definitely recommend a game drive in the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kleins Camp

Kleins Camp

"Kleins Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"The reason we rate this as good and not excellent is because of the game viewing in the concession. The Maasai have been grazing large herds of cattle within the concession which has become an issue. When we were there large herds were still present and this appears to be affecting the wildlife numbers. The &Beyond staff were apologetic right from the start of our stay which made us suspicious. I would not stay at this camp again for this reason alone.

However, the camp is in a wonderful position and the staff are very welcoming. The lodges are excellent and food delicious. Thankfully we opted to drive across the Serengeti National Park on our second day to see the wildebeest crossing the Mara river. The wildlife we saw on this trip and the action at the crossing made up for our disappointment in the concession."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"It's hard to find words to describe this lodge, The various cottages set amongst the trees was reminiscent of Africa's version of Hobiton in the Shire. However, once inside your cottage/suite and the main lodge, then it's pure luxury, albeit somewhat odd. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

On arrival we had a late afternoon game drive and the following day we decided to make it a full day. Lunch was taken at one of the regular picnic spots close to a lake. Whilst Peter, our guide, was setting out the food we saw some nearby zebra suddenly make a dash for higher ground. It turned out that there was a female lion about 150 mtrs away, amongst some rocky ground, that had been stalking the zebras.. There was a large number of vehicles and people in the area for a picnic and nobody was bothered at all, most trying to get better photographs. Amazing. The biggest problem was a black kite trying to snatch your food.

Highlight of the day was a pack of lions taking a buffalo. Our vehicle was one of the first to witness the whole event from start to finish. By the end there were over sixty 4x4's lined up along the crater track!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

"Lake Manyara Tree Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"We planned our stay here especially for the birds and it didn't disappoint us. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable on his birds and very obliging and patient with our constant requests to stop.

The camp is in a great location and the individual tree lodges are well furnished and maintained. The open mesh windows in the lodges make nighttime very atmospheric. Staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. Dining around the boma in the evening under a starlit sky is a fantastic experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Unfortunately we arrived in the dark and the following day was raining heavily before we left for the airport so didn't have much time to explore.

Our room was basic and in need of some repair work. The en-suite bathroom door latch was faulty and the door would not remain closed (not an issue to us but may be to others), however, the hot tap in the shower was a problem as the handle just spun round (old type of design) unless you pressed it in hard. We could not turn the water off at first and the water was dangerously hot.

The grounds are very well laid out and cared for and the two open sided dining rooms are very pleasant to eat in. The staff are very welcoming and attentive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Already left feedback. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team