This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn


3°22’25.3"S 36°51’50.6"E

Reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rivertrees Country Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Puchto
Buffalo

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2024
"It was an extremely nice room and the grounds were beautiful.

There were a variety of monkeys on the property which was terrific." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Ms T.
OC, CA

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2023
"Easy check in, friendly hosts, beautiful room (especially the bath!), excellent buffet breakfast.

Bit far from Arusha airstrip but otherwise a good spot for our first night." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
north London

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2023
"We had a very short stay at the Rivertrees Country Inn and we did not have dinner, so our review is limited.

The room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom well appointed. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice of hot and cold items. Staff were friendly and attentive." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs Schwamb
USA

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2023
"Lovely resort.

Loved the monkeys outside our door in the morning!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
JMKPBJ
USA

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"Our guide from Nomad, Sia, picked us up at the airport for transfer to Rivertrees at night. She was a gentle, kind first impression! Lovely welcome by staff w/ warm cloth and escort to our room.

Accommodations were comfortable and the food was delicious. Staff were plentiful and always available.

The juice was magnificent!

We left the next morning with our guide for a tour of Arusha, visits to the Cultural Art Gallery, coffee plantation, and lunch. These experiences were wonderfully interesting, but took up much of our day. A visit to the Arusha National Park is our only regret as we heard later in our trip of its magnificence and options of canoeing and other activities.

We also did not have time for an authentic open market visit which was on the wish list. We probably could have arrived at the Katambuga House later and fit in another activity." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2023
"We only stayed here for one night before we started our safari. We therefore didn't really feel like we experienced everything on offer.

Our flight arrived early in the morning and our room was not ready (which we were told would be the case). There was no area to wait other than the reception benches or the restaurant or bar area. This made the wait a little uncomfortable as we were too tired to explore the grounds much. If we were to visit again we would ensure to arrive later in the day. That being said, the staff did everything they could to prepare our room as early as possible.

All members of staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable. The food was very good. The grounds are very pretty and we enjoyed exploring (after we had had a little sleep) trying to spot monkeys in the trees." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs K.
Nice

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2023
"Rivertrees was our first and last accommodation in Tanzania. It is a delightful, well maintained inn with great service. They were especially gracious in allowing us to stay in our room until 5 pm when we left for the airport." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs K.
Nice

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"a really wonderful place to begin our Tanzanian adventure. everyone was so nice and helpful. our room was beautiful as were the well maintained grounds. great restaurant with reasonable prices." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr/Mrs F
Texas

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2023
"After a long flight to Africa Rivertrees was a nice place to get things together and recoup a bit before heading out to the bush." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 9n in Tanzania; 4n in South Africa; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr O.
Aberdare

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2023
"A lovely start to our Tanzanian safari experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 1-10 of 62
89%
62 reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
23
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


89% (33 reviews)
Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


92% (18 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (16 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


74% (13 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


83% (6 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa