This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn


3°22’25.3"S 36°51’50.6"E

Reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rivertrees Country Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P
London

"Short but sweet"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2020
"We only had a short evening at Rivertrees before flying out from KIA, but it was the same lovely place we remembered from a few years ago.

Beautiful grounds are a highlight, and we had an extremely pleasant dinner outside." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sisters
London

"Rivertrees Country Inn Overview"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"Good location near to Arusha National Park, with grounds. Service was quite good and the food was tasty and generous. The packed lunches were delicious.

The rooms were clean and spacious and nets over beds. Great bathroom with a huge bath!

The Colobus monkeys were very entertaining to watch in the trees." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Good facilities but poor staff attitude"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Expert Africa had informed all of our lodges/camps that my sister in law had a gluten intolerance, and on arrival at Rivertrees we reminded them of this. Reception promised to speak with the chef. At dinner that night our first course was delivered, and it was clear that no allowance had been made for the gluten intolerance, and no other alternative was offered. We asked the waiter to ensure that for the main course a suitable meal would be provided. It was not, but the waiter attempted to point out which parts of the meal could be eaten. No alternative was offered despite our requests. Ditto third course. At the end of the meal I made it firmly but politely clear that we were not satisfied, at which point the waiter asked us not to forget his gratuity. I thought I might have misheard him so I said "Excuse me?", and he replied, "People often forget my gratuity".

In the morning I got up half an hour before breakfast started, to speak with the kitchen to ensure that a suitable breakfast would be provided, reminding them of what had happened the previous evening. The response was very offhand. When we arrived for breakfast we were told that it was a buffet, and gluten free items were available, but these were not pointed out or explained. I had hoped that after the previous evening an attempt would have been made to rectify the situation, but sadly not." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dip & family
Cardiff

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Superb place for a pit stop before our long sojourn into the northern Tanzania safari circuit." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Great intro to Tanzania"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Rivertrees is a lovely lodge with expansive grounds that attract monkeys. Simply wandering around the grounds to see monkeys was fun. We daytripped into Arusha to see the sights. The Art Museum and crafts cente are fabulous. The rest of Arusha not so much. We also booked a one day grame drive in Arusha National Park that was excellent, quite a good variety of animals and terrain, including a canoe paddle on a lake with some hippos." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dalys
London

"comfortable "

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"We only stayed one night but everything was very pleasant. The dining room is lovely.

We were entertained by the monkeys trying to get into the lodges!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof W
Queensland

"Excellent accommodation"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2019
"Rivertrees Country Inn was an excellent introduction to Tanzania.

The serene setting beside a river, the well-tended gardens, the attentive staff and the beautifully appointed rooms were a treat. While not actually close to any particular points of interest. for travellers arriving at Kilimanjaro Airport en route to the national parks, it is as good a place as any from which to launch your expeditions.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
JS
Vancouver

"Great spot to spend our first night."

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"The location was great - the driver who met us was excellent.
All of the staff were excellent, very helpful
Good breakfast" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr. A
Canada

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 9 Mar 2019
"See earlier comments [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr. A
Canada

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2019
"In hindsight, we would have preferred a hotel that was closer to Arusha.

The setting of Rivertrees was lovely and it was good to walk through the grounds.

We were there for 3 days, and it was a bit isolated and the drive into Arusha seemed long." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 40
86%
40 reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
19
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (9 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa