This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn


3°22’25.3"S 36°51’50.6"E

Reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rivertrees Country Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr BT
N London

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"It was a convenient overnight stop but nothing special" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Family W
USA

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"This was a relaxing and delightful place. Beautiful grounds.

I wish we could have spent more time here.

Very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
San Francisco

"Great overnight stay in Arusha"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"We stayed here one night before leaving Tanzania, and it was a great place to recharge after a couple of intense safari days.

The hotel was set in a beautiful botanical garden with all sorts of plants and birds, and our room was very comfortable and private. Although it's half the cost of Arusha Coffee Lodge, we had a much more enjoyable time here.

Would highly recommend it!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Unfortunately we arrived in the dark and the following day was raining heavily before we left for the airport so didn't have much time to explore.

Our room was basic and in need of some repair work. The en-suite bathroom door latch was faulty and the door would not remain closed (not an issue to us but may be to others), however, the hot tap in the shower was a problem as the handle just spun round (old type of design) unless you pressed it in hard. We could not turn the water off at first and the water was dangerously hot.

The grounds are very well laid out and cared for and the two open sided dining rooms are very pleasant to eat in. The staff are very welcoming and attentive." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The P family
Norfolk

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"A great overnight stop. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. A longer stay would be welcome" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs M & Mr R
San Fan

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"Location is convenient between two airports. Furniture in rooms is a bit tired.

Staff was very accommodating. Lots of monkeys to watch.

A relaxing place to stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Laura
Spring, Texas

"Good overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"Rivertrees worked well for us as a convenient overnight stay upon our arrival in Arusha.

It was comfortable and the staff was helpful. Our room was spacious and attractive. The property is a little worn looking in areas, but fit our needs well." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Ideal Accommodation Near Arusha"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2015
"Rivertrees Country Inn was our first accommodation upon arriving in Africa. The beautiful, lush grounds were perfect for settling into "Africa time". We especially enjoyed lounging on the deck overlooking the small Usa River. And we thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet pizza served around the campfire. The cottage style garden rooms were comfortably appointed and private.

The location was ideal. Close, but not too close, to Kilimanjaro Airport. Close to, but far enough from the bustle of Arusha. And very close to the Ngongongare Gate, Arusha National Park.

I highly recommend spending a day in Arusha National Park (separate booking), especially upon arriving in Tanzania. Arusha National Park does not have the reputation of its renowned neighbors, but we were pleasantly impressed. The park offers scenic views of Mt Meru, plentiful game viewing opportunities, an enjoyable walking safari, and a chance to observe the black-and-white Colobus monkey.

We stayed at three different facilities near Arusha (Rivertrees, KIA Lodge, and Mt Meru Hotel), two of which were booked through our Kilimanjaro climb guide company. Rivertrees Country Inn was by far our favorite of the three.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Seattle

"One overnight after safari"

1 night Arrived 17 Feb 2015
"A very nice place with a good pool, decent food. The were very accommodating about checking out late.

They arranged a walk and a coffee tree plantation visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family S
Sheffield

"Pleasantly relaxing start to safari"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"It's a beautiful setting at Rivertrees and the grounds are delightful.

Quirky rooms full of character - and a fantastic night's sleep after the long journey! Pleasant food and helpful staff; no pool currently (not that we were wanting this) but work due to start soon apparently.

We enjoyed visiting Arusha National Park (and the canoe experience was fabulous) and would have been happy to spend more than the one night here." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 40
86%
40 reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
19
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (9 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa