This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Airport Planet Lodge
Airport Planet Lodge
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge


3°22’35.2"S 37°2’2.8"E

Reviews of Airport Planet Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Airport Planet Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
MW&JS
UK

"Great place for short stay"

1 night Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"The Planet Lodge is only 10 minutes for Kilimanjaro Airport and thus a great place to spend a few hours before our long night flight.
The air-conditioned room was spacious ,with an excellent large walk-in shower and external balcony looking out over well kept
gardens.
We looked in vain for a hair drier but apart from that we had all we needed.
Lunch in the restaurant was simple and ok
There is a small curio shop but those at the airport offer a much bigger range of choice. " See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr C
Newmarket

"First Stop"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"This is my second time staying at Airport Planet Lodge.

It is a welcome spot to rest from a long flight. Their hospitality is much appreciated as is their willingness to make a light meal late in the evening.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and the surroundings quiet to ensure a good nights sleep." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"A quick stay after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"We were so happy to find the Airport Planet Lodge located so close to the airport after our long flights from the US.

We enjoyed a late dinner and a great sleep before leaving the next morning to begin our safari. The staff was gracious and welcoming, and the pool and fitness room would have been wonderful if we had time to enjoy them.

It was a great place to begin our travels." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr. I
London

"Airport Planet Lodge review"

0 night Arrived 12 Aug 2019
"This was just a few-hour stopover for us between flights but the Airport Planet Lodge did everything right - they were there for the pick-up, the shower facilities were fine, the dinner that we had there was decent and the drop-off seamless. " See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Fine place"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"We used Airport Planet Lodge to get through jet lag. In retrospect we should have gone directly to Rivertrees, a much nicer place with ore to see and do. No knock on Airport Planet. The room was fine, people were great, food was fine. Just nothing really to do there." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Comfortable and close to airport"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2019
"This lodge is very close to the airport and is perfectly comfortable.

The grounds are pretty and the service was very good.

There wasn't anything extraordinary about the place and I wouldn't stay there other than the fact that it's close to the airport — but as a place to stay that is convenient to the Kilimanjaro airport it's great." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
Oregon

"Airport Planet Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2019
"Very close to Kilimanjaro airport. Clean, quiet and good food." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"Airport Planet Lodge review"

0 night Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"I wasn't certain about the need for this 'day stay' - a few hours in a hotel room between flights, but it worked extremely well. It gave me an opportunity to shower and refresh, having come from the very dusty Serengeti, before heading back to Nairobi. By comparison, sitting at the airport would have been a bad option! I had a tasty light lunch, recommended by the waiter, and all was smooth and straight forward. " See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms TG
London

"Luxury at Airport Planet Lounge Kilimanjaro"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2018
"I stayed at the Airport Planet Lodge at Kilimanjaro, and that was absolutely the lap of luxury - I wish I could have spend another couple of days there.

Amazing welcome, fantastic service, great room with air con, scrumptious food in the restaurant .... and the bar does a mean margarita, too!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
96%
9 reviews of Airport Planet Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees is a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, not far from Arusha. It can be added to either the beginning or end of a safari.


86% (42 reviews)
Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa