This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onsea House
Onsea House
Onsea House

Reviews of Onsea House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onsea House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
R & C
Atlanta

"Very comfortable"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2016
"We were not here long, but Onsea house was a nice place to rest after arriving in Tanzania.

The room was very comfortable with a beautiful view. We were greeted with fresh juice and offered a hot meal even though it was quite late.

We were not able to enjoy many of the amenities as we were only there for one night, but the service was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Ms R
London

"perfect start to the holiday"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"We enjoyed staying here at the beginning of our trip.

The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Amy
Sacramento

"Great stay at Onsea House"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"We had a great two-night stay at Onsea House.

We got into Kilimanjaro Airport late in the evening, and we were met at the airport and taken to Onsea House, which is about a 45-minute drive. On arrival, we were given cool towels and freshly squeezed juice. Our rooms were in the newer Machweo section of the inn, and they were much nicer than we had expected! The decor is inviting and elegant, and the beds are extremely comfortable.

But the best part of our stay was the FOOD. We are foodies and we've eaten at many great restaurants, and the food here is outstanding. We were served an amazing multi-course dinner after our late arrival, and all of our other meals were equally excellent. If you book at Onsea House, I highly recommend doing the all-inclusive full-board option.

They are very generous with the food and wine/beer - you will definitely get your money's worth, and it's nice to not worry about the cost of each item you're ordering." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"Beautiful Room with a Great View"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Upon arrival at Onsea we were greeted by the staff with a delicious drink and we were given a tour of the layout and our room. Our room was stunning! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and we captured a sight of an amazing sunset. The bathroom was spacious, comfortable with a blow dryer, great bath amenities and hot shower.

We arrived in the afternoon and enjoyed a comfortable nap by the pool with several visits from the resident dogs and cats, how fun!

We enjoyed an incredible 6 course dinner inclusive of lovely wine and great service. The server brought us each a glass of bubbles to end our meal which was a great touch.

The next morning we had a delicious breakfast on the restaurant deck and walked the premises before departing. The property was very, very small with little to do but it was perfect for us to relax and catch up on our sleep before heading out to the game drives/camp. I wouldn't recommend staying any more than 1 night as I think people would be bored." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Texas

"Great place to begin rested."

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"The B & B is very clean, spacious and quiet. The staff is very professional and attentive and breakfast is wonderful.

Unfortunately, we arrived very late and left early the next morning but it was perfect to rest up." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"Arusha stop over"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2015
"When we arrived at Onsea House it was very late (11:30) and the welcome staff had very minimal English. They mentioned nothing about dinner but I remembered that you said it would be provided so we asked. There was a bit of confusion but we were finally directed to another building where sure enough, a delicious meal awaited us. Perhaps there should be better communication between staff?

However, our rooms were very comfortable and the food was delicious." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"A day room at Onsea House"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"After flying from the Serengeti to Arusha, we spent a very welcome short afternoon at Onsea House before our evening flight out of Kilimanjaro. The staff were all friendly, and we had an enjoyable lunch on the terrace with a view of Mt Meru." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A
Boca Raton

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"The hotel needs renovation...There were dogs barking VERY LOUD all night." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Florida

"Fine for 1 night stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr A
Madison

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Good place out of town to start or end a safari. Accommodations were pleasant and clean. Good three star hotel." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 32
91%
32 reviews of Onsea House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
9
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees is a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, not far from Arusha. It can be added to either the beginning or end of a safari.


86% (42 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (9 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa