This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kia Lodge
Kia Lodge
Kia Lodge
Kia Lodge
Kia Lodge
Kia Lodge

Reviews of Kia Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kia Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Mr L
Surrey

"Stop off between flights"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Dr P
Altrincham

"Ideal pit stop pre flight"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"We spent three hours here prior to flying. The airport terminal was undergoing building work and proved to be humid and pretty torrid when we got there so having booked this proved to be a good choice.

Nice little pool, shop with a few nick nacks and bar with a reasonable snack menu. We got on what was going to be quite along trip pretty fresh, and certainly in better shape than we might otherwise.

Certainly a good idea if your wait at Kili airport is going to be protracted. Good spot Olivia. Thanks" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms P
London

"Convenient"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"With a 4am departure, Kia Lodge, just a five-minute drive to Kili airport and providing free transfers, is the most convenient place to stay.

Rooms were simple and clean, and staff extremely friendly (we especially appreciated the help with our bags in the middle of the night). Food was not the highlight of our stay, but there was some decent wine on offer at very reasonable prices." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr S
Burke

"More than an airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"The primary clientele of Kia Lodge consists of travellers arriving late or waiting for their flight. Which is a pity, because the lodge is set in great surroundings. The grounds are landscaped with a variety of exotic plants.

The rooms have good facilities with hot showers - grealy appreciated after a week out on safari.

Staff is friendly and efficient." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Dr C
Newmarket

"Kia Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"While this is a good place to sleep and start your trip from, the grounds and furnishings could use a bit of a refresh.

However being greeted by this enthusiastic staff will keep me coming back to Kia Lodge when I need a day lodge or an overnight stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A
Haslemere

"Convenient for airport"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"Having noted on our itinerary that this was the "only hotel near the airport" I had sensed that it might not be up to the grade of other accommodation that we would be visiting.

We had adjoining rooms which was great but on arrival there was an immediate problem with a considerable number of large ants entering the room from the base of the toilet. There was an insect spray which we used around the base of the toilet and thankfully this seemed to stop any more entering. The mosquito nets which attached the the adjoining doors were difficult to work with.

We had the added concern that 3 of our 5 bags didn't arrive at Kilimanjaro which meant that our short stay at Kia Lodge was over shadowed by the worries of dealing with that problem." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
Dorset

"Comfortable overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"We stayed at Kia Lodge for one night following our flights from the UK. The Lodge is conveniently located a few minutes drive from Kilimanjaro airport.

The accommodation is in individual huts spread throughout the gardens. The rooms were clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and we had a good nights sleep. There was plenty of hot water for the shower although the water pressure could have been better.

We sat outside the restaurant for a very good breakfast the following morning watched by several Superb Starlings. There was a good selection of food available.

The service throughout our short stay was excellent.

There is a swimming pool and a bar at the lodge but we did not have the time to sample these facilities.

Would recommend for an overnight stopover." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs D x 3
Newport

"Kia Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"We only had a quick drink at the bar on arrival and breakfast prior to departure.

Fantastic location and friendly staff linens in room were a bit worn" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms R & Ms R
London

"Good Location and facilities"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2016
"They were most obliging. Packed breakfast to take with us and reliable service to and from the airport." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs HC
W London

"Stayed as a necessity"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2016
"Perfectly fine for a few hours before our early morning flight home" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 12
75%
12 reviews of Kia Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
4
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees is a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, not far from Arusha. It can be added to either the beginning or end of a safari.


86% (42 reviews)
Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (9 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa