This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs D x 3 from Newport

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Great holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 17 Sep 2016 and 30 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an excellent holiday, we are lucky enough to have had some lovely holidays and this was one of the best."

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

"Kia Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"We only had a quick drink at the bar on arrival and breakfast prior to departure.

Fantastic location and friendly staff linens in room were a bit worn"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"We were met at the airstrip and taken on a half day safari before going back to camp. There were lions on a kill at the camp entrance and they were quite vocal most nights which was very exciting. We wanted to see cats especially cheetah and saw loads, our expectations were exceeded. We went on two full day safari's during our four night stay, we had the most amazing time.

There was a large party in the camp who did not all seem very interested in the safari experience and played some loud music one night. They had their own vehicle so this worked hugely to our advantage as we had our own vehicle with the head guide and his trainee who were excellent. We had dinner on our own with the head guide on our last night who was fantastic company."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"This was a lovely place to relax and unwind after a safari and recharge.

A lot of thought has gone into the layout so there is plenty of privacy and it is very quiet even if all the rooms were full.

All the staff were very welcoming and we had a really nice stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

My Sept 2012 holiday

Zambia between 21 Sep 2012 and 1 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We did have a great time, but all the little things mentioned before just meant that we had a good time and not a special time which we felt we had when we came back from Tanzania the last time we went on safari (and to be fair I expected for the amount of money we spent). For example in Tanzania the camp manager would sit down with us the evening before and discuss our activities for the next day, the communication was not very good on this holiday, we were not given a choice on drives or told where we were doing except in Nsefu. When we went to go on an alternative route in Tena Tena we had to turn around as the guide said we cannot go that way as they are going there (which was the two French guys).

At Robin's house Helen was given a lot of food she could eat that was especially made, and whilst Polly made an effort at mealtimes, Helen was limited with snacks etc at both Nsefu and Tena Tena, ( I put on weight eating all the cakes etc and she lost weight). But Helen did have sandwiches on the last day from Tena Tena out of rice flour.

The holiday was a 9 or 9.5 out of 10 but so easily could have been a 10 which was the disappointing part for all of us but especially Helen with it being her first safari.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I was very pleased with the service we received from both Maruska and you as a company, I would certainly recommend you and would be keen to book with you again."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Robin's House

Robin's House

"Robin's house review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"On the saturday lunchtime when we arrived, we asked the host James if we could go on a walking safari, we all agreed that we would have a jeep safari on Sunday and would go for the walking safari on Monday morning. When I asked James on Sunday evening if we were walking on Monday he said that he had asked the guide if he could call the ranger, we felt at this point it looked like it had been forgotten. We do not know if this was the case, but on Monday morning we were advised that we would not be going on a walking safari but we could do this at Nsefu and Tena Tena.

We were disappointed by this omission, there could have been a genuine reason but this was not communicated to us. This was a shame because the rest of our experience was excellent and the food produced by the chef Robert and the service from Lafayu was outstanding. We also had all of our laundry on time by kapimi and he was very good in assisting the guide Obi with the light in the evening drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Polly was a very good hostess and introduced guests to each other, got people to the table at mealtimes etc and seemed to ensure everyone had a good time.

Our guide Braston was excellent, he particularly had very good customer care skills and was very considerate when driving around bushes and trees etc. His assistant with the light Kelvin was also extremely good company. All in all we very much enjoyed our time at Nsefu most of all on our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"We were expecting tena tena to be the jewel in the crown and whilst we did have a fantastic time we were disappointed in so much as it could have been 10 out of 10 which is a little frustrating.

When we arrived the host was on her break so James from Robin's house was with us and we mentioned that we would be grateful if we could have a car for just the three of us if at all possible, James said with five tents and three cars it should not be a problem. We did have the first evening drive on our own, but then we were with other people the rest of the time. We seemed to be allocated two Norwegian ladies, they said they were particularly interested in lions. On the second day two French gentlemen arrived and Bertram drove them over to the Nsefu area to see the pride of lions there, at this point we felt that they were having a gold star service and we were having bronze or silver.

There was an issue with a car breaking down on the second day, so we had to get someone out to push us and then we had to leave the car running when we stopped. This meant that there was a car short on the last morning, Helen did not come on this safari but the two Norwegian girls were sat behind Steve and I and talked for most of the time which was a disappointment for us. They went back to pack just after 9 and we stayed out. One questions, if there was a car to collect them, could we have actually gone out on our own to start with. With just five tents I thought five people in one car with the amount we paid for the holiday was disappointing especially when James had told us on arrival that a vehicle to ourselves should not have been a problem. The guide was good at Nsefu but was not careful driving as we were being scratched by branches and having to duck out of the way of them.

It was noticable that there seemed to be no urgency to get people out at six oclock in the morning and on both our walking and driving safari we were waiting for some time for the other guests to go back to their rooms which resulted in us leaving camp at 6.30 or later.

Ali the waiter was very good and was very good on our spot light on the evening safari and exremely well mannered and polite."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Eight reedbuck hotel"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"The size of the room was good for a stop over, the receptionist was very helpful and arranged for us to have some cereal to eat early in the morning as we had an early start.

The only comment really was that for such a new hotel the shower was quite dirty, but the rest of the room and sitting area was very pleasant."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team